City of Sacramento Reviews | Glassdoor

City of Sacramento Reviews

Updated Apr 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 42 reviews

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
81%
Recommend to a Friend
60%
Approve of CEO
John Shirey
20 Ratings
  1. "Account Technician"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Technician in Vancouver, WA
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at City of Sacramento full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great place to work! I was very happy working there.

    Cons

    I do not have any cons. Everything was good about my tenure.

    City of Sacramento2015-11-13
  2. "Great place and great people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Staff Assistant in Sacramento, CA
    Recommends

    I worked at City of Sacramento

    Pros

    There was always something new to learn and the employee there were great to work with. Projects were not on a strict schedule, but you should challenge yourself to finish it sooner.

    Cons

    Not that many job available

    City of Sacramento2015-10-05
  3. "Good Time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Manager in Sacramento, CA

    I worked at City of Sacramento

    Pros

    Challenging experience working at aquatic facilities, where safety is the number one priority.

    Cons

    Sometimes there are responsibility gaps that you must fulfill.

    City of Sacramento2015-10-02
  4. "Department of Utilities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Superintendent in Elk Grove, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at City of Sacramento full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great pay and benefits, good vacation package and steady work.

    Cons

    Lack of promotions, totally controlled by City Managers office, don't work outside the box, they don't like that!

    Advice to Management

    Don't be threatened by motivated staff, they don't want your job

    City of Sacramento2015-10-01
  5. Helpful (2)

    "A private IT company setting in a government organization"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sacramento, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at City of Sacramento for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Ability to work on cutting edge tools and technologies Work on world class ERP Learn about the multiple business processes Pension plan and benefits(401k, Pension, Health) Better than state/county salaries

    Cons

    IT salaries could be better than what they are (less than the industry comps) Less chances to advance in your career No bonuses / raises are very low

    Advice to Management

    Create more opportunities for promotions to set a career graph to keep the employees interested in achieving those goals.

    City of Sacramento2015-08-19
  6. "Summer Camp work for the City of Sacramento"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - First Cook in Twin Bridges, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at City of Sacramento full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    -Meet many new people -Working for a government agency -Improve social skills -great environment/atmosphere

    Cons

    -Long days -Lots of time spent on feet -Weather conditions can be rough (Heat/Snow) -Not many days off

    Advice to Management

    Find a way to offer better incentives for returning staff. Experienced staff is always in short supply, but they can make the job so much easier for everyone

    City of Sacramento2015-07-21
  7. "Benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative Technician in Sacramento, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at City of Sacramento

    Pros

    Working for the City was a great experience; however as the economy went spiraling downward, so did our benefits.

    Cons

    If you get laid off they do not help you with transferring to another department. You get absolutely NO preference when reapplying.

    City of Sacramento2015-07-27
  8. "Human Services Program Coordinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Site Coordinator in Sacramento, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at City of Sacramento for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good benefits. Good way to build knowledge in several different fields.

    Cons

    Not a lot of room for advancement. Structure and management not organized.

    City of Sacramento2015-07-26
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Customer Service"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous in Sacramento, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at City of Sacramento full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I enjoy coming in to work and I feel I didn't waste away the day when 5pm rolls around Training and professional development is encouraged by management Coworkers are dedicated, funny, enthusiastic Medium to high employee morale in my department I feel valued, even as an entry level non-specialist Smaller can be better. I interned with multiple State agencies in college and I'd rather work for the City...

    Show More

    Cons

    Slight short staffing issues Not sure how they classify "Specialists" vs. Analysts. The titles vary even though it seems that the job duties overlap quite a bit. Like any public agency, it is easy to get stuck 'collecting the paycheck' so don't burn out and fade away. Step up, work hard, innovate. Remind yourself as much as you can that politics aside, " I work for the people of this city." You may or may not feel...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    A bit more employee appreciation wouldn't hurt :)

    City of Sacramento2015-04-21
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Operations manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations Manager in California City, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at City of Sacramento

    Pros

    Pay, benifits, co-employees, hours, overtime.

    Cons

    Surviving the politics, upper management only care about themselves, council is stupid and unknowledable.

    Advice to Management

    Get a clue, quit being a puppet.

    City of Sacramento2015-02-26
Found 42 reviews