City of San Diego, CA Reviews

Updated May 9, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
4.0
78%
Recommend to a Friend
71%
Approve of CEO
City of San Diego, CA Mayor  Kevin L. Faulconer
Kevin L. Faulconer
30 Ratings
Pros
  • "Flexible hours during the school year and full time during breaks(in 10 reviews)

  • "very flexible schedules allowed all the time(in 9 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Problems moving up, too much red tape(in 6 reviews)

  • "No Pension, very costly health benefits (for families)(in 5 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      great employer

      Apr 26, 2021 - Lifeguard in San Diego, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I like working for them

      Cons

      There is not mch flexibility in schedule

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 3.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Ok

      May 6, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Security of the job is good.

      Cons

      Bureaucracy is not so good.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 1.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Starter

      May 9, 2021 - Gold 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good benefits and nice coworkers

      Cons

      Lost of work not enough time

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Great entry

      May 8, 2021 - Police Officer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Large city with many areas to move around to.

      Cons

      Due to large size, easy to be disconnected from higher-up employees.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Great Learning Experiene

      Apr 7, 2021 - Management Intern in San Diego, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Built the position about what I did

      Cons

      Things moved a little slow

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Great place to work

      Apr 1, 2021 - Community Representative 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      a lot of time off

      Cons

      building is not fun to work in

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      I Love Working for the City of San Diego

      Dec 4, 2020 - Biologist III 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -Stability during economic downturns due in part to necessity of jobs and protection by unions -Flexible schedules, including 9/80 -Work/Life balance -Upward mobility -Large quantity and variety of jobs that you can pursue if you lose interest or want to steer your career in a different direction -Reasonable wages and transparency/predictability in pay -Great benefits that are covered by the employer for single individuals and for the most part covered for those with dependents -9.2% retirement match -Unique challenges that differ from the public sector -Fulfillment in serving the public and improving San Diego -Genuinely nice colleagues and good company culture -Diverse workforce

      Cons

      -Great place to start out but the earning potential is lower than the private sector and a lot of other municipalities -Bureaucracy can be frustrating if you aren’t a problem solver/self starter/persistent

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Depends on the Department you work for

      Feb 22, 2021 - Junior Engineer in San Diego, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -Health, dental, and vision insurance -Depending on the job/management, flexible work hour -Helpful IT department -Did not need any work experience because the training you

      Cons

      -No chance for moving up unless you go to another department that has an opening

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 3.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great Benefits but Out of Touch Management

      Mar 11, 2021 - Office Administration in San Diego, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      It is rewarding to assist my fellow San Diegans. I enjoy being proficient at my position. My work load is self managed. The benefits are fantastic and thanks to the workers Union I have excellent job security.

      Cons

      Upper management is out of touch with their employees. Completion rates are sometimes impossible. A serious feeling of not being valued.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      My current department and manager are great...

      Dec 31, 2020 - Information Systems Analyst II in San Diego, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      My current manager is great. My current department is great. I like what I do each day. Enough variety to stay interesting.

      Cons

      Some departments are not as good as mine. Some managers are not as good as mine. Some duties within this job class are not as fun as mine.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 184 Reviews

    Popular Careers with City of San Diego, CA Job Seekers

    Deputy City Attorney
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Assistant Engineer - Public Works
    Learn About the Job

    Work at City of San Diego, CA? Share Your Experiences

    City of San Diego, CA logo
    or