City of Seattle Administrative Specialist Reviews | Glassdoor

City of Seattle Administrative Specialist Reviews

Updated Jul 26, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

1.9
0%
Recommend to a Friend
0%
Approve of CEO
City of Seattle Mayor Jenny Durkan (no image)
Jenny Durkan
1 Rating
  1. "Great Employer - Wonderful People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Administrative Specialist in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at City of Seattle for more than a year

    Pros

    Great Pay, lots of opportunities. Friendly helpful co-workers.

    Cons

    Like all of government - subject to economic flux.

    Advice to Management

    keep up the good work!

    City of Seattle2013-01-17
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Horrible office politics"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative Specialist in Seattle, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at City of Seattle full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Worked as an administrative specialist at the Seattle City Attorney's Office. I have few pros other than somewhat competitive pay and predictable hours. There are all sorts of good programs that the city offers for their employees, but you have to take the initiative and ask to be part of them.

    Cons

    Absolutely horrific office politics - mean girls and boys galore. The attorneys for the most part are helpful and enjoyable to be around, but many of the other admins and paralegals are terrible to be around. Upper level management listens to concerns about the toxic work environment, but don't do anything to implement change. Way too many indentured government workers who should have been fired 10 years ago. Very minimal training, almost no room for any creativity or sharing of new ideas. Technology used is extremely outdated, including a massive file room with thousands hard copy files that has to be organized daily. Almost nothing stored electronically.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your employees when they come to you about toxic people and behaviors in the workplace. Rampant gossip and bullying should not be tolerated by management.

    City of Seattle2019-07-26
  3. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative Specialist I 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at City of Seattle full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good salary, medical benefits, and above average time off. Great coworkers.

    Cons

    I can't think of anything.

    City of Seattle2017-04-19
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Finance and administrative services - WORST"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative Specialist in Seattle, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at City of Seattle full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    None. I honestly can't think of one within the FAS regulatory dept. Worst job experience ever. Nothing in the interview was true.

    Cons

    Favoritism and fake people. Tried to hold positions over my head to get me to stay. Entire FAS regulatory dept is horrendous with unskilled and unknowledgeable people. You can only advance if you've been there 20-30 years. They also advance people just because they have big mouths because they don't want to discipline them.

    Advice to Management

    Replace entire regulatory dept.

    City of Seattle2016-09-21
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Great place for diversity and a secure future"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative Specialist II in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at City of Seattle full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Working for the City of Seattle can provide you with a very good salary and a good retirement if you can manage to bypass the frequent budget cuts. I found that there is a great mix of people from so many backgrounds and often, very friendly office environments. And if you have the right manager, you will be able to work on projects outside your title and class and may be moved along for promotions.

    Cons

    You really need a manager you are in sync with to move upward in the City. If you don't have this, it can be difficult to move ahead or out of a specific title.

    Advice to Management

    Think outside of the box and cross train employees so that they have more opportunities to move ahead.

    City of Seattle2014-04-15
  6. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Administrative Specialist II in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at City of Seattle

    Pros

    Stablility on the job and benefits

    Cons

    Making advancements in your career takes a while.

    Advice to Management

    Communication is the key for everything

    City of Seattle2012-02-14
  7. Helpful (1)

    "A place to hang your hat"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Administrative Specialist in Seattle, WA
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at City of Seattle

    Pros

    Excellent pay and benefits; conveniently located in Downtown Seattle, and in a high rise building with great view of lakes and mountains.

    Cons

    Stagnation and lack of promotions; no job prospects; lack of camraderie between coworkers, one-upmanship. Top level doesn't mix with bottom level, cliquish and lazy workforce.

    Advice to Management

    Get off your pedestal and treat subordinates like peers not like servants to your needs. Under new Mayor, McGinn?? Will see, but cannot say "you haven't seen nothing yet" in a positive way.

    City of Seattle2010-08-22
  8. Helpful (1)

    "I got lucky, but will you?"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Administrative Specialist II in Seattle, WA
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at City of Seattle

    Pros

    I got lucky because I have a couple of great managers in my corner and I got the opportunity to work on a project that is beyond the scope of work I was hired to do and it has given me a lot of chances to grow and learn professionally. My manager touts a work life balance and is really easy to get along with, is a straighttalker and down to earth. You can always come to the mgr with issues, problems, etc and mgr will help, even if it means get her own hands a little dirty with hard work. Other: benefits are great, business casual dress to the point of super-casual, once you're hired and pass your year probation you are pretty much in for good (excepting layoffs).

    Show More

    Cons

    The executives I've met are mostly condescending and rude. There are a lot of people out to scratch eachothers backs, ladder climb, etc...and on the flip side there are the long timers who just don't care anymore. They've seen so much leadership come and go that they are just numb to ambition and they just want their part to be as effortless as possible.

    Advice to Management

    Huge disconnect between what is the workload and what management thinks can happen with a stringbean staff and not enough training.

    City of Seattle2009-12-06
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Its a snake pit"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Administrative Specialist in Seattle, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at City of Seattle

    Pros

    nice health benefits and a few perks. lots of job security ( even for the ones who need to go) transit passes are deeply discounted

    Cons

    horrible place to work and anytime the pay increases, my union dues also increase. Can never get ahead due to management never hiring from within.

    Advice to Management

    I think thay my advice to management would be to stop trying to run city government like a private business.

    City of Seattle2009-09-08
Found 9 reviews