City of Seattle Intern Reviews | Glassdoor

City of Seattle Intern Reviews

Updated Nov 29, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
67%
Recommend to a Friend
City of Seattle Mayor Jenny Durkan (no image)
Jenny Durkan
0 Rating
  1. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Intern in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at City of Seattle full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great people who are motivated to help you learn and grow as a professional

    Cons

    Work pace can be a bit slow sometimes.

    City of Seattle2017-06-10
  2. "good experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Engineering Intern in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at City of Seattle for less than a year

    Pros

    no stress, nice people to work with

    Cons

    slow tempo and old fashion

    City of Seattle2019-11-29
  3. "Positive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Intern - Intern - Hourly in Seattle, WA

    I have been working at City of Seattle for less than a year

    Pros

    good pay, work / life balance

    Cons

    i don't have any negative as an intern

    City of Seattle2018-03-03
  4. "Good Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Engineering Intern in Seattle, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at City of Seattle for more than a year

    Pros

    Very easy-going environment. You can always learn what other people are doing. Work is so divided up that it doesn't really require that much thinking.

    Cons

    Not very exhilarating after a few months. Top heavy management.

    Advice to Management

    Don't promote the bullies to the top.

    City of Seattle2017-05-01
  5. "Technology Innovation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Intern - Engineering Intern in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at City of Seattle for less than a year

    Pros

    friendly and professional community when working at Seattle City Light

    Cons

    Nothing happens to me during this intern!

    City of Seattle2017-02-28
  6. "Engineering Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Engineering Intern in Seattle, WA
    Recommends

    I worked at City of Seattle for more than a year

    Pros

    Paid pretty well. Great place to meet new places and to start a career when you are in college.

    Cons

    There is no continue job opportunity once you are out of school

    City of Seattle2017-01-26
  7. "Great internships for students"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Graduate Intern in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at City of Seattle for less than a year

    Pros

    - The City provides extensive training and engagement options for its undergraduate and graduate interns. - Great coworkers. - Diverse, unique work and learning opportunities. - Strong, supportive environment.

    Cons

    - Processes are slow. - Growing age gap in workforce without accessible positions to fill those roles. - Hierarchical structure means decisions on key documents/actions can be delayed, which delays work. At its worst, it means previously important positions can be quickly eliminated.

    Advice to Management

    Make sure executive sponsors aren't spread so thin. Some can barely do their jobs, leaving huge gaps between program needs and executives' comprehension of those needs.

    City of Seattle2016-12-06
  8. "Intern - Power Production"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Intern in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at City of Seattle for less than a year

    Pros

    Good work life balance, good work environment, challenging work. Seniors are very helpful. Had the opportunity to visit power plants and have a detailed look at everything. Good compensations for extra hours worked

    Cons

    Nothing much. Sometimes had no work and it was a bit frustrating. Does not sponsor work visa for International students.

    Advice to Management

    Please sponsor International work visas so that International students can get full time employment opportunities.

    City of Seattle2016-09-21
  9. "Seattle Public Utilities- Engineer Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineering Intern in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at City of Seattle part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Challenging work, excellent supervisor, exposure to many aspects of engineering, lots of field work, beautiful office. My supervisor made all the difference, helping me grow my experience as an engineer and enjoy the work.

    Cons

    some apathy (it is a government office) but mostly very good. Sometimes communication was a little slow from some departments.

    City of Seattle2016-04-19
  10. "Great People and Opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Intern in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at City of Seattle for less than a year

    Pros

    Naturally, lots of exposure to all kinds of professions due to a dense work environment. Everybody wants to help and is so nice, a great community.

    Cons

    As intern I was the youngest person which is fine but not as fun (older office culture).

    City of Seattle2015-10-07
Found 19 reviews