City of Seattle Manager Reviews | Glassdoor

City of Seattle Manager Reviews

Updated Jun 24, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.1
54%
Recommend to a Friend
City of Seattle Mayor Jenny Durkan (no image)
Jenny Durkan
0 Rating
  1. "A good place to work for."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Case Manager in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at City of Seattle full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Benefits and wages are great!

    Cons

    Just the parking will be hard and expensive.

    Advice to Management

    Do apply!

    City of Seattle2013-04-25
  2. "Temporary Project Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Project Manager in Seattle, WA

    I worked at City of Seattle for more than a year

    Pros

    Remote work and flextime are occasionally possible. Good work-life balance, so long as you let it go mentally when you go home.

    Cons

    Progress can be slow.

    Advice to Management

    Improve transparency.

    City of Seattle2019-05-31
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Toxic Workplace at Seattle City Light"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing Manager in Seattle, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at City of Seattle full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Benefits, easy to get to (for me) by bus

    Cons

    Most toxic workplace I've ever worked at. Management is not held accountable for deplorable behavior. People are managers who shouldn't be and they can't be touched either because of unions or the process to get someone out is too long and ridiculous people don't bother. No team environment; When I asked for help I was told "that's not in my job description" more than once. HR wants to have a good culture and working environment but impossible when most people there just warm their seat for a paycheck. So much is swept under the rug. Forget growth, people are too petty to help each other grow and management didn't care, it was all about themselves.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Replace mid and top-level management and hire experienced people-managers so they can weed out the bad seeds and hire people that actually want to be there, will be professional and team orientated.

    City of Seattle2019-06-25
  4. "Use your leadership tools"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Manager 

    I have been working at City of Seattle full-time

    Pros

    Great Benefits, vision, and mission

    Cons

    HR is terrible and wasteful.

    City of Seattle2019-01-06
  5. Helpful (4)

    "Terrible place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Project Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at City of Seattle full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Benefits, although the benefits were far more expensive than needed. Other places pay much less for the same benefits....

    Cons

    I left an executive position behind because I was mislead about the position. I later found out they lied and every project was on fire beyond rescue, when they told me they were great. Was told a promotion would happen right away. Turns out all the other new hires were told the same thing and none of it was true... The management in IT was junior at best. The IT consolidation was a disaster. I found a lot of the managers were hired with no previous experience for their roles by friends and family. They key to moving up here is to outlast everyone. In 20 years, you can be a Director. Mind you the people with talent will make executive for far more pay in far less time and will actually earn it on merit. HR is mediocre. Protects lazy and bad behavior such as peers yelling and practically challenging each other to fight, etc. No accountability whatsoever. Long time employees can do whatever they want without any repercussions, they are Royalty protected by HR. Waste of tax payer dollars.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    None, they are too inept to listen anyways.

    City of Seattle2018-06-01
  6. "Program Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Program Manager in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at City of Seattle full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Autonomy, ability to build a strong team, nice benefits package for term-limited temporary employees (1-3 year appointments) and regular (permanent) staff.

    Cons

    Some of the stereotypical 'government' employee mindset - i.e. some employees appear to put in the bare minimum and/or are lacking in basic skills.

    City of Seattle2018-03-24
  7. "IT Position"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Project Manager in Seattle, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at City of Seattle for more than a year

    Pros

    Some great people to work with (usually the individual contributors) and it's interesting to see how a city operates.

    Cons

    Old-school culture where it's hard to get anything done. Some people are more concerned about their own power and advancement rather than doing what's right for the city - to the detriment of their team as well. Protocol is more important than progress among leadership.

    Advice to Management

    Get rid of the office politics - which means getting rid of toxic ladder climbers.

    City of Seattle2018-01-27
  8. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager in Seattle, WA
    Recommends

    I have been working at City of Seattle full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great Health Insurance and Executive Leave Working on important issues

    Cons

    Dealing with political aspects of working at the city

    City of Seattle2017-09-11
  9. Helpful (5)

    "Leadership is lacking"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Program Manager in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at City of Seattle

    Pros

    Flexibility in scheduling, great benefits, many peers with public interest goals, decent pay. Great entry-level employer. Great city and great location

    Cons

    IT consolidation has been a nightmare. In general, upper management seems only to care about their politics rather than the well being of the staff

    City of Seattle2017-08-02
  10. "manager 3"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at City of Seattle full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Benefits and very vibrant community

    Cons

    Struggling with the unlimited growth, traffic, and strong city council

    Advice to Management

    Take care of the people that work for you.

    City of Seattle2017-04-26
Found 14 reviews