City of Seattle "great benefits" Reviews | Glassdoor

City of Seattle Employee Reviews about "great benefits"

Updated Nov 25, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
60%
Recommend to a Friend
36%
Approve of CEO
City of Seattle CEO Jenny Durkan (no image)
Jenny Durkan
19 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Pay would be better in private sector (duh(in 7 reviews)

  • "Bureaucracy & unions, negative employees(in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "great benefits"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Legislative Aide 

    I have been working at City of Seattle full-time

    Pros

    The City is a great place to work. They have great benefits and support employees.

    Cons

    Working as a legislative aide is very dependent on who your boss. I've loved my boss, but the role changes a lot based on who you work for.

    City of Seattle2019-11-26
  2. "City Cop"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Police Officer 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at City of Seattle full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Flexible Schedule (sometimes) and great benefits/retirement. Will be out of here at 53 with about 120k a year in pension

    Cons

    Over-management of political appointees, short staffed, long hours of overtime to make over 150k a year.

    City of Seattle2019-11-21
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. "Sr. Grants and Contracts Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Seattle, WA
    Recommends

    I worked at City of Seattle full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits, great co-workers. Great work and life balance. People who worked in my department were public servants and wanted to do good work.

    Cons

    Very political place. Hard to get things done when you have to work within the confinement of politics and sometimes you felt the positive impact was minimal. The growth opportunities felt out of reach.

    City of Seattle2019-10-28
  5. "I am more of an Sr. SDET, however the drop down does not have that Job Title :)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Senior Software Engineer in Seattle, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at City of Seattle for less than a year

    Pros

    Multicultural atmosphere, great benefits if you are an employee...

    Cons

    Too much politics involved + union stuff... rigid practices

    City of Seattle2019-08-28
  6. "Good, but slow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Seattle, WA
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at City of Seattle full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Great Benefits and retirement plan. - Great people throughout organization

    Cons

    - Change is slow. - Challenges with upward mobility.

    Advice to Management

    More training for employees.

    City of Seattle2019-05-21
  7. "Customer Service"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Customer Service Representative 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at City of Seattle for less than a year

    Pros

    Benefits are great for individuals

    Cons

    Being a temp is difficult

    City of Seattle2019-05-02
  8. "Accounting tect 111"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Accounting Tect 111 in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at City of Seattle full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great benefits good way to build a successful career

    Cons

    Want to work closer to home

    Advice to Management

    Always listen to your employees

    City of Seattle2019-04-30
  9. "Use your leadership tools"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Manager 

    I have been working at City of Seattle full-time

    Pros

    Great Benefits, vision, and mission

    Cons

    HR is terrible and wasteful.

    City of Seattle2019-01-06
  10. "Great benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at City of Seattle

    Pros

    great benefits and time off

    Cons

    stronger leadership and support for staff

    City of Seattle2018-08-18
  11. "GIS Analyst (Electrical Engineering Specialist)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Seattle, WA

    I have been working at City of Seattle full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great salary, great benefits, has a pension.

    Cons

    Office politics might not be a great fit for everyone. If you are not management, making that leap is difficult as they select management positions often from the outside.

    City of Seattle2018-08-10
Found 40 reviews