City of Tempe Kid Zone Reviews | Glassdoor

City of Tempe Kid Zone Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 12 reviews

4.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
77%
Recommend to a Friend
  1. "activity leader"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at City of Tempe Kid Zone part-time

    Pros

    working with kids teaching making a difference

    Cons

    no benefits not flexible hours

    City of Tempe Kid Zone2018-11-08
  2. "Kid Zone is my Passion"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Recreation Coordinator in Tempe, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at City of Tempe Kid Zone full-time for more than 19 years

    Pros

    I have been a part of this program since I was a Kinder Kid at Wood Elementary and it has had such an impact on me as a man. I can honestly say that I would not be the person I am today if it wasn't for the amazing people I have met through KZ as a Child and Adult. This is truly a Family and I will fight for this Program, Our Kids and Community for as long as I can. I started as an AAL and I have worked my way up to my...

    Show More

    Cons

    :) :) :) :) :)

    Advice to Management

    Continue to inspire and push us to be the best most innovative program we can be!

    City of Tempe Kid Zone2018-09-06
  3. "BEST YEARS OF MY LIFE"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Program Manager in Tempe, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at City of Tempe Kid Zone part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The staff and motivation that everyone gives you. I was never without a positive role model. The training are fresh and always new and never the same. Learned how to talk to parents in a positive and respectful way. Learned time management. Learned how to be productive with minimum materials. Always busy and fun 💕

    Cons

    School hours Going over hours Short staffed

    Advice to Management

    Keep changing, you can always learn something new and do things a new way and get a better benefit.

    City of Tempe Kid Zone2018-03-13

    City of Tempe Kid Zone Response

    April 10, 2018Community Services Supervisor

    Love your advice! So true. So glad you had a positive experience hear. What great Pros you listed! It is tough that most of our positions are part time but we love to promote from within and currently have 30 full time positions. Those that stick with us can make it a career!

  4. "State licensed program with HIGHEST quality!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Rec Coordinator in Tempe, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at City of Tempe Kid Zone for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Flexible schedules for staff who are in school! Always positive relationships between staff and children. Always opportunities to move up and promote! Your job is a constant reminder that you can change a child's life! The best motivation.

    Cons

    No problems with this program

    City of Tempe Kid Zone2018-03-13

    City of Tempe Kid Zone Response

    April 10, 2018Community Services Supervisor

    We have the most amazing and dedicated staff. They are the heart beat of our program and the number one reason I can say that we have the highest quality program in the state of Arizona. Thanks for your review and all you do for the kids!

  5. "Nutrition Program Coordinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at City of Tempe Kid Zone full-time

    Pros

    Good people to work with, lots of creative site coordinators and program managers on site who are really great with kids. Passionate about what they do. Pay is decent for this job for not having an RD credential.

    Cons

    Management is stuck in their ways, not a lot of room for innovation or improvement.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your employees rather than saying "this is what we've always done". Also, micromanage less and make your employees feel valued and heard.

    City of Tempe Kid Zone2018-01-22

    City of Tempe Kid Zone Response

    March 13, 2018Community Services Supervisor

    Anyone who told you "this is what we've always done" was flat out wrong. This program is the most innovative program in the State and is even recognized nationally by the Afterschool Alliance as a model for other Out-of-School time programs. With that said, innovation and improvement ...

    Show More
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Activity Leader"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Actvity Leader in Tempe, AZ
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at City of Tempe Kid Zone part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Children are amazing, locations are at schools which is nice, can move up in rank fairly quickly is that is your goal.

    Cons

    Some staff are not as friendly as others. Different behavior management styles. Younger employees generally with little experience with lazy behaviors.

    Advice to Management

    Provide more support to staff who do a good job and have cool ideas. Do not just promote louder staff but staff that are gentle with kids, kind to fellow employees, and actually go above and beyond.

    City of Tempe Kid Zone2017-10-12
  7. "Assistant Activity Leader"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Activity Leader in Tempe, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at City of Tempe Kid Zone part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Easy hours, fun children, easy overall job.

    Cons

    You will either love or hate your program managers, no holiday pay, will not allow anyone to work over 30+ hours a week, no room for advancement (unless you want to spend 10+ years to get a supervisor position, no incentives or motivation to happily do the job (although the children are amazing, the overall program is depressing).

    Advice to Management

    Reward staff more often! Motivate them to be the best they could be, what is the point of high expectations and no incentives to stay?

    City of Tempe Kid Zone2017-05-23

    City of Tempe Kid Zone Response

    March 13, 2018Community Services Supervisor

    Assistant Activity Leader is a very special position in our organization. It is basically a paid training position for any licensed program in the country. Given the high standards for youth workers no one with less than 6 months working with kids can work alone with children in ...

    Show More
  8. "College job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at City of Tempe Kid Zone

    Pros

    Excellent staff, excellent opportunities for promotions, wonderful field trips and activities

    Cons

    N/A. It's a great place to work

    Advice to Management

    N/A

    City of Tempe Kid Zone2016-05-29

    City of Tempe Kid Zone Response

    March 13, 2018Community Services Supervisor

    Thanks for your response! Our employees at Kid Zone are amazing. We value the hard work it takes to work at Kid Zone and hope to provide a fun place to work. In addition we are committed to professional development that will help you progress in a career with Kid Zone or wherever ...

    Show More
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Super fun and laid back environment."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Activity Leader in Tempe, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at City of Tempe Kid Zone part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    You get to have fun all day, playing with kids and watching them to make sure they don't get into too much trouble. The kids are always really entertaining. The hours are great and perfect for a student.

    Cons

    Only able to get 30 hours a week maximum. Can be draining sometimes. Kids will be kids, they like to push the limits and sometimes it sucks taking away their privileges. Other than that it's great!

    City of Tempe Kid Zone2016-02-15

    City of Tempe Kid Zone Response

    January 29, 2018Community Services Supervisor

    Working with kids can be tough some times. I does sounds like it has been a rewarding experience for you! We love that you have fun at your job while keeping kids safe!

  10. "Great people to work with."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Program Manager in Tempe, AZ
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at City of Tempe Kid Zone part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Fun with kids and staff, different every day, you get to know families and coworkers well. Opportunity to do and learn different things. Active, not a desk job.

    Cons

    Split shift, maximum 30 hours a week, people call off a lot and mess up ratios. No benefits. Bad turnover due to the hours available and number of high school kids who start work and quit.

    Advice to Management

    Reevaluate staff placement.

    City of Tempe Kid Zone2016-02-05

    City of Tempe Kid Zone Response

    January 29, 2018Community Services Supervisor

    Thanks for your feedback. Kid Zone really is an amazing job to get to know the kids and families and make a lasting impact on youth. Kid Zone would love to offer more than 30 hours to our part time employees and keep employees longer. With that said we do offer the most flexible ...

    Show More
Found 12 reviews