Claire's Accessories UK "50 discount" Reviews | Glassdoor

Claire's Accessories UK Employee Reviews about "50 discount"

Updated Oct 3, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.5
22%
Recommend to a Friend
26%
Approve of CEO
Claire's Accessories UK CEO James D. Fielding
James D. Fielding
35 Ratings
Pros
  • "You also get 50% discount on everything in store including getting your ears pierced(in 23 reviews)

  • "apart from 50% staff discount nothing(in 15 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "50 discount"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Claire's"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Claire's Accessories UK full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Team spirit, good discount 50% off

    Cons

    Poor pay, poor company support,

    Claire's Accessories UK2019-10-03
  2. "Stay away !"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Claire's Accessories UK full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    50% discount no other pros.

    Cons

    Long hours, Poor support from higher up, unrealistic expectations, poor salary, childish gossip within all levels of employees, limited holiday periods, high turnover of staff, complete disregard for manager efforts, no praise, no follow through on promises made, no social life, aweful working conditions, communication difficult to offices or customer services, no support to improve management skills only pushing managers till they leave.

    Continue reading
    Claire's Accessories UK2019-09-20
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. "Not worth the time or stress"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Assistant in Wirral, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Claire's Accessories UK part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    •50% Staff Discount in store

    Cons

    With my experience the cons for me are: •Hourly wage is poor and much lower than my peers •Management I have interacted with are very passive aggressive and straight out mean •Made generally uncomfortable throughout all my shift •Called out on outfit choices •Rarely appreciated •Unpaid breaks •Ordered around and shouted at whilst on the shop floor •Lack of proper training (tills and ear piercing) •Not shown safety procedures •Not told about shift changes •Constantly pressured to hit targets

    Claire's Accessories UK2018-10-28
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Say goodbye to your sanity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Claire's Accessories UK full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fun environment to work in, diverse range of products, customer loyalty. 50% discount.

    Cons

    Expected to work extreme over time with no payment as you’re paid for “a minimum of 40 hours pw”, no support with difficult staff, ridiculous staff turnover, want everything done in the next 5 minutes whilst trying to meet unattainable targets, having to document every time you sell a customer a transaction that has 1, 2 ,3 or 6 items ... this is just the tip of the iceberg. Expect to be worked like a dog for no extra pay or gratitude. You’re just one tiny fish at the bottom of the pond.

    Continue reading
    Claire's Accessories UK2018-08-07
  6. "Don't get yourself into this mess"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Temporary Store Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Claire's Accessories UK full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    + Travel expenses paid for when travelling to cover other stores + 50% staff discount + Pay isn't too bad, but could be increased given the amount of stress the job causes

    Cons

    + Lone Trading in store all day on your own + Higher Management not supportive + Far too many tasks to carry out in one day with limited hour allocations per week and staff hours/contracts + Far too much paperwork that could be easily eradicated by updating computer systems and reporting there instead (Also not great for the environment due to paper waste) + No appreciation ever received

    Continue reading
    Claire's Accessories UK2018-06-08
  7. "Underpayed, understaffed, and hard work not appreciated"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Supervisor in Chatham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Claire's Accessories UK part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    50% discount on overpriced stock, most of the staff friendly and nice to work with, most shops are understaffed so definitely overtime and do a lot more than contracted hours

    Cons

    Having to do ear piercing with little training, doing baby ear piercing from 4 months of age. Very understaffed stores with shops having to cover different shops most days as each store does not have enough staff. Head office doesn’t give the shop enough hours to hire more staff. And loan trading is a definite, most likely running the store alone until the second member of staff starts their shift. If a member of staff calls in sick, you will be lone trading all day and will have to close the shop for your break.

    Continue reading
    Claire's Accessories UK2018-05-09
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Never Again"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Supervisor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Claire's Accessories UK full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    50% discount work here for more than 6 months and any retail work you do in the future will seem like a breeze by comparison sales assistants are always lovely as are most store managers - all seem to be doing the very best they can at terrible company that doesn't respect them, has utterly ridiculous organisational systems and patronising and controlling district/regional management

    Cons

    Flexi 4hr contracts even for supervisors - this means constantly trying to battle for responsible hours. I had 60 hour weeks sometimes and other with 8 or something silly. Cover - my district took absolute liberties and called me and others in, sometimes less than 24 hours notice. Regularly made to work up to 4 stores, miles from each other, because the whole district was chronically unstaffed. Terrible pay - convinced myself and others were cheated out of hours and didn't actually make minimum wage when you took in unpaid hours Lone-trading - regularly lone traded til 3pm, unable to leave the shop floor (my store was busy and very rarely able to shut shop to go to the loo etc), felt unsafe in a busy store alone were anything to happen like falling from a ladder or something Obsessed with targets - I felt stressed constantly, had people on my back about unrealistic targets and made to feel I had to pressure those under me/assign blame No progression - no pay rise when I became a supervisor, no guarantee of hours. Dangerous ear piercing practices - systemic poor hygiene procedures with regard to piercing, completely inadequate training, feeling pressured to never turn down a piercing Horrible upselling - however hard you try to be nice and professional, the expectation of incredibly hard selling means you actively lose customers who find it frustrating and in your face If you begin to succeed in this job, they will push you and push you. My only advice? If you're going to be overworked, covering stores all over the place with no free time outside work, do it somewhere with a better hourly rate.

    Continue reading
    Claire's Accessories UK2018-03-20
  9. "Supervisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Supervisor in Gloucester, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Claire's Accessories UK part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    50% discount. Other than that, nothing. This establishment was a complete joke to work for.

    Cons

    -Long hours -Minimum wage -Management are rude -Treat staff just like a number -30 minute unpaid break no matter how many hours worked. -Expect you to be available at the drop of a hat -Unpaid hours (you arrive at the store at 8:30 to open up and don't leave until 6:30, but are only paid 9-5) -Inadequate training for ear piercing -Generally unprofessional

    Continue reading
    Claire's Accessories UK2018-01-19
  10. "crap"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Freelancer - Anonymous Freelancer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Claire's Accessories UK for less than a year

    Pros

    apart from 50% staff discount nothing.

    Cons

    there is a lot i can say but to some it up in one one - BORING. My manager at the time would ALWAYS expect me to come in whenever she wanted me to, even on my days off she'd still contact me despite the rota being done. the wage was a joke. £5.90? hilarious. personally, it's a decent place to start off for experience but i couldn't see myself working there for the next 5 years or so etc. I saw no future.

    Continue reading
    Claire's Accessories UK2017-09-20
  11. Helpful (1)

    "Aged 17 doing A Levels & made to work 20+ hours a week one day after the other"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Assistant in Sheffield, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Claire's Accessories UK part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    50% discount and ear piercing training.

    Cons

    Rubbish rate of pay. Give too many hours as explained in title hours are great don't get me wrong but when you're 17 have college to complete a life to live doing 12:00-9:30 at night isn't ideal everyday of the week even on weekends!!!!

    Continue reading
    Claire's Accessories UK2017-07-09

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 23 reviews