Claire's Accessories UK "ear piercing" Reviews | Glassdoor

Claire's Accessories UK Employee Reviews about "ear piercing"

Updated Feb 9, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

2.5
22%
Recommend to a Friend
26%
Approve of CEO
Claire's Accessories UK CEO James D. Fielding
James D. Fielding
35 Ratings
Pros
  • "You also get 50% discount on everything in store including getting your ears pierced(in 23 reviews)

  • "apart from 50% staff discount nothing(in 15 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "ear piercing"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Key Holder"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Cashier in Fresno, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Claire's Accessories UK for more than a year

    Pros

    Great employee discount. Great team. Able to give little girls first ear piercings.

    Cons

    Hours are never promised. Sometimes scheduled for a shift that is only 2 hours

    Claire's Accessories UK2016-09-24
  2. "It was ok!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Key Holder in Tracy, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Claire's Accessories UK

    Pros

    It was a fun job, and I really liked the jewelry we sold there. Ear piercings were fun.

    Cons

    The hours were not very good and sometimes especially at closing, we would not have sufficient time to do everything that was asked of us.

    Continue reading
    Claire's Accessories UK2016-05-09
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. "Good Experience Low Pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Retail Key Holder/Manager in Dorchester, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Claire's Accessories UK for more than a year

    Pros

    -I met interesting caring people -Discount rewards -I loved ear piercing (babies to the elderly) -Atmosphere: I loved the wide demographic of customers -Great experience in operation training and learning upper management duties

    Cons

    -Not willing to disseminate

    Claire's Accessories UK2016-04-08
  5. "Sales Assistant application for Claire's Accessories"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Haywards Heath, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Claire's Accessories UK part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The Ear Piercing training is available for sales assistant

    Cons

    There are Long shifts and short breaks

    Claire's Accessories UK2020-02-09
  6. "Unorganised"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant in Keighley, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Claire's Accessories UK part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The part time hours are good for anyone needing to work around other commitments. Its a very easy job and doesn't take much getting used to.

    Cons

    In the short time I worked there they seemed very unorganised. Rotas would change with no real warning or thought for staff who have planned around shifts already given. Everything is done via a whatsapp group chat which is highly unprofessional but members of staff are not actually allowed to put how they feel into this group chat and are spoken to like rubbish and told to delete messages etc even though it's hardly a legally binding document. Managers would say things like 'oh well we will get XYZ in today' not actually ask if they are available just expecting staff to be at their beck and call not really thinking about people having lives outside of work. Ear piercing is available for children aged from FOUR MONTHS OLD which personally I think is totally unacceptable and most stores don't even have a hand wash sink (until now as they are starting nose piercing). The EP training is about 12 questions on a sheet and a practise on a cardboard ear with foam and then allowed to go onto piercing people. The amount of single use plastic that is used to package deliveries is really environmently unfriendly and not needed.

    Continue reading
    Claire's Accessories UK2019-09-02
  7. "Not worth the time or stress"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Assistant in Wirral, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Claire's Accessories UK part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    •50% Staff Discount in store

    Cons

    With my experience the cons for me are: •Hourly wage is poor and much lower than my peers •Management I have interacted with are very passive aggressive and straight out mean •Made generally uncomfortable throughout all my shift •Called out on outfit choices •Rarely appreciated •Unpaid breaks •Ordered around and shouted at whilst on the shop floor •Lack of proper training (tills and ear piercing) •Not shown safety procedures •Not told about shift changes •Constantly pressured to hit targets

    Claire's Accessories UK2018-10-28
  8. "short review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant in Scunthorpe, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Claire's Accessories UK part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    brilliant customer service, great product for any occassion.

    Cons

    fast paced and head office. Prices are too expensive ear piercing

    Claire's Accessories UK2018-06-04
  9. "Not what i expected."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Assistant in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Claire's Accessories UK part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - More hours than contract - Staff usually of similar age

    Cons

    - Minimum wage -Only paid for hours on the rota, any over time isn't counted for -Unless you are willing to find out your shift the day before this job isn't for you. -30 minutes unpaid break even on shifts over 8/9 hours. -Not enough training on ear piercing, sometimes piercing babies as young as 4 months with very minimal training.

    Continue reading
    Claire's Accessories UK2018-04-23
  10. "Underpayed, understaffed, and hard work not appreciated"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Supervisor in Chatham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Claire's Accessories UK part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    50% discount on overpriced stock, most of the staff friendly and nice to work with, most shops are understaffed so definitely overtime and do a lot more than contracted hours

    Cons

    Having to do ear piercing with little training, doing baby ear piercing from 4 months of age. Very understaffed stores with shops having to cover different shops most days as each store does not have enough staff. Head office doesn’t give the shop enough hours to hire more staff. And loan trading is a definite, most likely running the store alone until the second member of staff starts their shift. If a member of staff calls in sick, you will be lone trading all day and will have to close the shop for your break.

    Continue reading
    Claire's Accessories UK2018-05-09
  11. Helpful (2)

    "Never Again"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Supervisor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Claire's Accessories UK full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    50% discount work here for more than 6 months and any retail work you do in the future will seem like a breeze by comparison sales assistants are always lovely as are most store managers - all seem to be doing the very best they can at terrible company that doesn't respect them, has utterly ridiculous organisational systems and patronising and controlling district/regional management

    Cons

    Flexi 4hr contracts even for supervisors - this means constantly trying to battle for responsible hours. I had 60 hour weeks sometimes and other with 8 or something silly. Cover - my district took absolute liberties and called me and others in, sometimes less than 24 hours notice. Regularly made to work up to 4 stores, miles from each other, because the whole district was chronically unstaffed. Terrible pay - convinced myself and others were cheated out of hours and didn't actually make minimum wage when you took in unpaid hours Lone-trading - regularly lone traded til 3pm, unable to leave the shop floor (my store was busy and very rarely able to shut shop to go to the loo etc), felt unsafe in a busy store alone were anything to happen like falling from a ladder or something Obsessed with targets - I felt stressed constantly, had people on my back about unrealistic targets and made to feel I had to pressure those under me/assign blame No progression - no pay rise when I became a supervisor, no guarantee of hours. Dangerous ear piercing practices - systemic poor hygiene procedures with regard to piercing, completely inadequate training, feeling pressured to never turn down a piercing Horrible upselling - however hard you try to be nice and professional, the expectation of incredibly hard selling means you actively lose customers who find it frustrating and in your face If you begin to succeed in this job, they will push you and push you. My only advice? If you're going to be overworked, covering stores all over the place with no free time outside work, do it somewhere with a better hourly rate.

    Continue reading
    Claire's Accessories UK2018-03-20

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 30 reviews