Claire's Accessories UK "lone trading" Reviews | Glassdoor

Claire's Accessories UK Employee Reviews about "lone trading"

Updated Jun 8, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

2.5
22%
Recommend to a Friend
26%
Approve of CEO
Claire's Accessories UK CEO James D. Fielding
James D. Fielding
35 Ratings
Pros
  • "You also get 50% discount on everything in store including getting your ears pierced(in 23 reviews)

  • "apart from 50% staff discount nothing(in 15 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "lone trading"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Don't get yourself into this mess"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Temporary Store Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Claire's Accessories UK full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    + Travel expenses paid for when travelling to cover other stores + 50% staff discount + Pay isn't too bad, but could be increased given the amount of stress the job causes

    Cons

    + Lone Trading in store all day on your own + Higher Management not supportive + Far too many tasks to carry out in one day with limited hour allocations per week and staff hours/contracts + Far too much paperwork that could be easily eradicated by updating computer systems and reporting there instead (Also not great for the environment due to paper waste) + No appreciation ever received

    Continue reading
    Claire's Accessories UK2018-06-08
  2. "Underpayed, understaffed, and hard work not appreciated"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Supervisor in Chatham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Claire's Accessories UK part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    50% discount on overpriced stock, most of the staff friendly and nice to work with, most shops are understaffed so definitely overtime and do a lot more than contracted hours

    Cons

    Having to do ear piercing with little training, doing baby ear piercing from 4 months of age. Very understaffed stores with shops having to cover different shops most days as each store does not have enough staff. Head office doesn’t give the shop enough hours to hire more staff. And loan trading is a definite, most likely running the store alone until the second member of staff starts their shift. If a member of staff calls in sick, you will be lone trading all day and will have to close the shop for your break.

    Continue reading
    Claire's Accessories UK2018-05-09
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Never Again"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Supervisor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Claire's Accessories UK full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    50% discount work here for more than 6 months and any retail work you do in the future will seem like a breeze by comparison sales assistants are always lovely as are most store managers - all seem to be doing the very best they can at terrible company that doesn't respect them, has utterly ridiculous organisational systems and patronising and controlling district/regional management

    Cons

    Flexi 4hr contracts even for supervisors - this means constantly trying to battle for responsible hours. I had 60 hour weeks sometimes and other with 8 or something silly. Cover - my district took absolute liberties and called me and others in, sometimes less than 24 hours notice. Regularly made to work up to 4 stores, miles from each other, because the whole district was chronically unstaffed. Terrible pay - convinced myself and others were cheated out of hours and didn't actually make minimum wage when you took in unpaid hours Lone-trading - regularly lone traded til 3pm, unable to leave the shop floor (my store was busy and very rarely able to shut shop to go to the loo etc), felt unsafe in a busy store alone were anything to happen like falling from a ladder or something Obsessed with targets - I felt stressed constantly, had people on my back about unrealistic targets and made to feel I had to pressure those under me/assign blame No progression - no pay rise when I became a supervisor, no guarantee of hours. Dangerous ear piercing practices - systemic poor hygiene procedures with regard to piercing, completely inadequate training, feeling pressured to never turn down a piercing Horrible upselling - however hard you try to be nice and professional, the expectation of incredibly hard selling means you actively lose customers who find it frustrating and in your face If you begin to succeed in this job, they will push you and push you. My only advice? If you're going to be overworked, covering stores all over the place with no free time outside work, do it somewhere with a better hourly rate.

    Continue reading
    Claire's Accessories UK2018-03-20
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Avoid like the plague"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Supervisor in Belfast, Northern Ireland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Claire's Accessories UK full-time

    Pros

    50% off products, which works out well as a lot of stock is overpriced. The other staff you meet (other than management )

    Cons

    Horribly mismanagement with no care or concern for staff, with a ridiculously high staff turn over. Targets set my head office are not at all reasonable, and you end up in so much trouble if you don't hit target, even if customer counts are down. There is so much lone trading as I have been left to run the store before alone for over 6 hours! Having to wait until the store was clear of customers to lock up to even use the bathroom. Banking in most stores at End of Day is done by two employees. Not a Claire's it's done by only one person, so enjoy spending nearly 30mins extra doing banking and paper work unpaid. They care very little about staff and always are demanding more. They have started doing Kids Birthday Parties, organised by Staff, which you will not get paid any extra for at all. Culture of bullying is created my management and area managers. They will try and demand you stay extra hours unpaid, to change the store for sales and other events, with staff sometimes staying in store hours past closing, all unpaid.

    Continue reading
    Claire's Accessories UK2018-01-30
  5. "Suited to my Student Life"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Supervisor in Hatfield, East of England, England

    I worked at Claire's Accessories UK part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible hours to fit around my student life Fun working environment staff discount is reasonable

    Cons

    Lone trading - can be dangerous Pay not fantastic Very little ear piercing training

    Continue reading
    Claire's Accessories UK2017-08-11
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Not worth your time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Supervisor/Keyholder in Maidenhead, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Claire's Accessories UK

    Pros

    Friendly colleagues who make work easier. 50 discount is one of the only perks I had found. Good music

    Cons

    Low contract hours, started as a sales assistant on a 4hr contract and worked upto supervisor. As a supervisor there were no positives. I was still on a 4 hr contract and was given an extra £4 per month as 'key holder money'. Opening shop in the morning you are lone trading untill 1pm. Left with delivery, customers, ear pericing and tasks alone. You are not given enough hours a week to do everything they demand to be done in the time they give you. Pay was sometimes incorrect and not consistent. One month you would get enough to get by another you would get allot less because of the 4hr contract you couldn't guarantee you would get the hours. Very little communication from your district manager or head office. Unless it was negative. Often called out for not doing well. Naming and shaming stores who at not have done so well that day or week. Just a terrible company over all who do not give a dam about their workers. Constant changing staff.

    Continue reading
    Claire's Accessories UK2017-06-13
  7. "Assistant manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Claire's Accessories UK

    Pros

    Generous staff discount of 50%

    Cons

    Lone trading a lot of the time.

    Claire's Accessories UK2016-04-05
  8. Helpful (1)

    "I tried to give it no stars, but it wouldn't let me."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Claire's Accessories UK full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    If you're a masochist then it's the perfect place to work. I can't think of a good. Any good memory I had was jaded by the terrible experiences I did have. Two of the staff members I worked with made it bearable at best. But they were very short part time so rarely saw them. Ooh, I did bargain with them my salary to take into account the amount I would have to travel to get to them and they did up it.

    Cons

    -A lot of lone trading in a store where theft is rife. Especially the area I was in. Was given a disciplinary when a clearly drugged up woman came into store and stole things and yelled at me before she left when I was lone trading and they had recently taken away our personal panic alarms. The only way to get through to someone was to ring the centre management and ask for security and they'd put out on hold for them. No emergency buttons. (I'm sure this probably isn't the case anymore and not the case in every store, but my stomach was in knots every time I lone traded) - the store was expected to be Pristine daily, which is fine, but once forgot to dust the top of a tower at the end of the day and immediately had a written warning. - very poor quality stuff. The "bump-it's" we sold for 10-15 pounds were available upstairs in the pound shop. Exactly the same packaging. - piercing very poorly trained and I recently saw they've introduced nose piercing?! Terrible idea! - the stress they put on your store. Was a culture of blame and disciplinarians not training. - the management I had would watch back the cctv and tell you off based on things they saw on there. Felt constantly on watch and terrified about it. Even if it was small critical things. - the AMOUNT they expect you to do for the AMOUNT paid is terrible. Regular sales assistants trusted to pierce babies, constantly change promotions, work with a clientele of young teens/children on close to, if not minimum - desperately below the living wage and be expected to grin throughout. -it's not even about the money. I moved to a less paying job, same job role just to move away and I've never been more grateful.

    Continue reading
    Claire's Accessories UK2015-09-19
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Stay Away from this company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Claire's Accessories UK full-time

    Pros

    Staff discount is good, thats it.. but only so many bobbles you can buy!!

    Cons

    Lone Trading 6 hours a day, whilst still expecting to perform all tasks, service, mid day change of promos, 7 sales, plannopgramming a shop in the 3 extra hours that have been given. Staff turnover is ridiculous due to the way they are treated, rotas changed even as late as the day before. Bitching and judgmental comments among senior management like the DSMs & Regional managers, commenting on peoples looks is personal not professional. Maybe this should be pointed out at their next meeting. working whilst sick is expected, no matter what the illness, as cover is as rare as the recognition and thanks you'll receive for any support you give. Favoritism is apparent and this means that people are aware of things before they happen.. eg/ store closures Treat staff with little respect and dignity. HR have no back bone, so will never challenge any query, making you in store look incompetent. Complaints are never taken seriously and this has caused employees to leave as they feel they have no support to tackle work place bullying. Pay is shocking, managers salaries are the same as supervisors salaries in other companies.

    Continue reading
    Claire's Accessories UK2014-03-28
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Avoid if you can!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Supervisor 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Claire's Accessories UK part-time

    Pros

    The work itself is easy The staff are usually friendly Varied customers Good discount

    Cons

    Third keyholders are the equivalent of assistant managers in smaller stores, but with none of the pay. Lack of loyalty to staff Very high expectations of staff Lone trading for very long periods of time, during which you're expected to serve customers, do deliveries, pierce ears, and run the store Very few opportunities to grow 30 minute breaks

    Continue reading
    Claire's Accessories UK2013-05-07

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 10 reviews