Claremont Graduate University Reviews | Glassdoor

Claremont Graduate University Reviews

Updated Sep 10, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
62%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
Claremont Graduate University President Len Jessup
Len Jessup
5 Ratings
Pros
  • "I enjoy my job and the people that I work with here at CGU(in 5 reviews)

  • "learned a lot, especially for a graudant student who wants to find an acdamic job(in 4 reviews)

Cons
  • "I have not had any negative experiences here at CGU(in 4 reviews)

  • "(in 2 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Research Fellow 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Claremont Graduate University full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Small community, friendly colleague, and great environment.

    Cons

    Lack of library sources and lack of access to datasets.

    Claremont Graduate University2019-08-15
  2. "Needs better leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Vice President Operations 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Claremont Graduate University full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Friendly environment and staff, but moral is low

    Cons

    Poor leadership trending to low moral

    Claremont Graduate University2019-09-03
  3. "Just fine"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Work Study Student 

    I have been working at Claremont Graduate University part-time

    Pros

    Convenient enough for the most part

    Cons

    You have to be assertive to get your money...

    Claremont Graduate University2019-06-27
  4. "Student Assistant Jobs at Claremont Grad Univ"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Student Assistant in Claremont, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Claremont Graduate University part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    the people I worked with were considerate

    Cons

    some buildings, equipment, and services were outdated

    Claremont Graduate University2019-05-29
  5. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Adjunct Professor 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Claremont Graduate University part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The students that I have been working with for the last few semesters have been great. They seem genuinely interested in learning and work hard. Once in a while there will be someone who doesn't come to class prepared as well as they should be, but that is generally not the case. The faculty members and the administrative staff are great as well. Never have I not received the support that I needed and they work with you to make sure that you are able to do your best work in the classroom. A really nice place to work at.

    Cons

    I have not had any negative experiences here at CGU.

    Claremont Graduate University2019-05-01
  6. "Good benefits and retirement match (10%) but low morale."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Program Director 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Claremont Graduate University full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Benefits are good, time off is generous, and the mission and work are very meaningful.

    Cons

    Terribly managed by a revolving door of presidents. Declining student enrollment is a constant problem and employee morale is low.

    Claremont Graduate University2019-05-29
  7. "Not bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Support Specialist in Claremont, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Claremont Graduate University full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great benefits: health insurance, retirement account, paid days off

    Cons

    High turnover: layoffs happen every summer

    Claremont Graduate University2019-04-15
  8. "Intense Budget Cuts Hamper Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Student Worker in Claremont, CA

    I have been working at Claremont Graduate University part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    -Super supportive environment for graduate students to work while also studying full time; plenty of flexibility -Absolutely wonderful and friendly people; my close colleagues feel like family -Gorgeous campus and location

    Cons

    CGU has been undergoing some immense changes over the past few years. Being jostled from interim president to interim president has been chaotic and political. The biggest shift has been going to a centralized structure which has robbed many of the schools within the university of their culture and autonomy. This also has also created a lot of resentment from the staff within the schools who are being stripped of their rights (ex. departments were nearly barred from spending money and hosting commencement celebrations for their graduating students). Also, everyone is feeling the squeeze of budget cuts and it is hurting morale....from staff all the way down to students. However, I am hopeful that the new president, Len Jessup, will help to mitigate these issues with his new vision for the institution.

    Continue reading
    Claremont Graduate University2019-03-31
  9. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Claremont Graduate University full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Very nice people, supportive management.

    Cons

    It is a small private university so room for advancement is limited.

    Claremont Graduate University2019-02-04
  10. "good learning experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Claremont Graduate University

    Pros

    it was good, learned a lot

    Cons

    needs a little more structure but can't really complain

    Claremont Graduate University2019-01-30
Found 70 reviews