Claremont Graduate University Reviews | Glassdoor

Claremont Graduate University Reviews

Updated Sep 10, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
62%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
Claremont Graduate University President Len Jessup
Len Jessup
5 Ratings
  1. "Slow Moving"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Director in Claremont, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Claremont Graduate University full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    There are a lot of great staff and faculty members here. The students are fun to work with. The location can't be beat.

    Cons

    Things move slow here. Innovation is not supported like it should and hr/payroll can be difficult to navigate.

    Claremont Graduate University2019-01-14
  2. "My review for Claremont"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Claremont Graduate University part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Beautiful part of the country

    Cons

    I found Claremont to be mediocre

    Claremont Graduate University2019-01-15
  3. "Good experience / terrible payroll department"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graduate Research Assistant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Claremont Graduate University part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great applied experience in my field Flexible work hours Very collegial workplace

    Cons

    Pay is low for what amounts to a full-on research and development job The payroll department is the worst I've ever experienced at any job. I still have yet to receive a paycheck that isn't wrong or missed entirely.

    Continue reading
    Claremont Graduate University2018-12-28
  4. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Claremont Graduate University part-time

    Pros

    Many good things about working here

    Cons

    None that I can think of

    Claremont Graduate University2018-10-17
  5. "OK"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Claremont Graduate University part-time

    Pros

    nice campus. tranquil. parking is readily available

    Cons

    not a lot of opportunities. funding. close knit

    Claremont Graduate University2018-10-16
  6. "Graduate Teaching Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Claremont Graduate University part-time

    Pros

    It was a good experience to work as a TA where you get to know people from across departments and industries.

    Cons

    The time allocation for the virtual sessions need to be done carefully.

    Claremont Graduate University2018-09-28
  7. "A rewarding experience for students who desire to work in higher education administration."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Student Services Assistant-(Federal Work Study) in Claremont, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Claremont Graduate University part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    You get the opportunity to learn a lot about how higher education administration works. The experience gained here functions as great preparation for careers in higher education.

    Cons

    Like many institutions, federal work study programs are the lay of the land, so students looking for upward mobility must seek full time opportunities elsewhere.

    Continue reading
    Claremont Graduate University2018-05-16
  8. "Awesome"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Claremont Graduate University part-time

    Pros

    Plenty of time for you to focus on your projects and your studies.

    Cons

    Pay could be a bit higher since you are after all a post graduate or post graduate student.

    Claremont Graduate University2018-05-16
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Graduate student worker - RA and TA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Graduate Research Assistant in Claremont, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Claremont Graduate University part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Hey, we're here any ways! Good way to make contacts and build relationships for research and future job opportunities.

    Cons

    Depending on the job, the pay is poor. Many TA positions pay very little considering the amount of work that is required outside of the classroom and that in order to support oneself, being a TA isn't a drop in the bucket. RA positions may pay better but the limitation on hours that can be paid worked during pay periods means that there have been times I am not paid for parts of the projects I should be. That limitation also means it is difficult to ONLY be an RA as a means to get income.

    Continue reading
    Claremont Graduate University2018-04-05
  10. "Peaceful campus"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     

    I have been working at Claremont Graduate University

    Pros

    Relaxed environment with friendly colleagues

    Cons

    The projects shall cover more fields.

    Claremont Graduate University2018-02-24

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 70 reviews