Claremont Graduate University Reviews | Glassdoor

Claremont Graduate University Reviews

Updated Sep 10, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
62%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
Claremont Graduate University President Len Jessup
Len Jessup
5 Ratings
  1. "Work anywhere but here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Staff in Pasadena, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Claremont Graduate University full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Let me know when you find some. (I'm just writing words because there are no pros but Glassdoor has a 20 word minimum)

    Cons

    Highest turnover I've ever seen. I know one person quit on her first day, before lunch! Nepotism, promoting low qualified people to management, extremely low morale. Admissions standards are lowered often so they can just take people's money. Major financial problems. Can't say enough to warn people to GET OUT and stay away! You're better off working for United Airlines or going to school at Trump U!

    Continue reading
    Claremont Graduate University2017-04-13
  2. Helpful (1)

    "CGU is a Mess!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administration 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Claremont Graduate University full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Faculty research is cutting edge & high caliber students.

    Cons

    CGU has major financial issues & instability. No room for growth, promotion, or advancement. Leadership is terrible and management is poor. Employee morale is down across all programs. Salaries are very low. Faculty are pre-Madonna's.

    Continue reading
    Claremont Graduate University2017-04-04
  3. "Research Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Claremont Graduate University part-time

    Pros

    Good chance to do research

    Cons

    The compensation is a bit low.

    Claremont Graduate University2017-02-12
  4. "Graduate Research Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Claremont Graduate University part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great 1:1 faculty interaction in the Psychology department. Faculty have lots of students to advise, though.

    Cons

    Compared to most other research universities, graduate doctoral students do not get tuition waived (partial, at least), do not get a living stipend, and do not receive health benefits.

    Continue reading
    Claremont Graduate University2017-02-07
  5. "CGU need an administrative/budget overhaul"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Claremont, CA
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Claremont Graduate University

    Pros

    Flexible work hours. Some staff/faculty are great to work with.

    Cons

    Poor pay as a student worker--because of a poor endowment and bad fundraising. Also there's administrative bloat. Cut the staff (there is no need to have a big student affairs office at a grad only school) and put that money to better use elsewhere, either in funding the students or hiring new faculty.

    Claremont Graduate University2016-09-16
  6. "Teaching Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Claremont Graduate University part-time

    Pros

    Great way to learn about the ins and outs of teaching.

    Cons

    You need to track your pay. For some reason, one of my pay checks was not issued. When I followed up, they corrected the problem. It takes a few months to get the report of student feedback. This can be a problem if you need the evaluations for job interviews.

    Claremont Graduate University2016-08-18
  7. "Great for students"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Claremont Graduate University part-time

    Pros

    Flexible hours Positive work environment Diversity of tasks to work on Very interesting work A great way to get experience before you graduate

    Cons

    The pay is okay and mainly determined by what is budgeted for in the grant. Also, depending on which grants are funded, there may be many projects you can work on or none at all.

    Continue reading
    Claremont Graduate University2016-07-08
  8. "TA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Claremont Graduate University

    Pros

    Amazing professors who are doing high quality work, care deeply about student learning and experience, and are genuinely nice people.

    Cons

    A lot of administrative and grading work, but it is worth it to help other students learn and get good feedback.

    Claremont Graduate University2016-06-29
  9. "Great Place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I have been working at Claremont Graduate University

    Pros

    The best things about working at CGU was the independence that being a TA offers. In addition, there is great flexibility in the hours worked.

    Cons

    The only down side would be the few hours offered but I suppose that this is in the best interest of the student so as not to conflict with the school work.

    Claremont Graduate University2016-06-18
  10. "Graduate Admissions"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Upland, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Claremont Graduate University for more than a year

    Pros

    The culture is open and appreciative of our work. I often feel welcomed in all areas of the campus which are not often in other higher educational institutions. Most of the faculty are awesome to staff and students.

    Cons

    The fact that the pay is so low many of left the institution for better wages, rather than the culture. I often wonder that a new hire is harder to start and pay, why train again!

    Continue reading
    Claremont Graduate University2016-05-07

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 70 reviews