Clarus Group Reviews | Glassdoor

Clarus Group Reviews

Updated Sep 10, 2019

To filter reviews, or .
3.0
61%
Recommend to a Friend
73%
Approve of CEO
Clarus Group President Sean Crews (no image)
Sean Crews
5 Ratings
  1. Helpful (4)

    "Freedom! (And a stocked beer/wine fridge!)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Clarus Group full-time

    Pros

    I have been shocked by the latitude that I've been given to bring ideas to not only my boss, but also the CEO. It's been a very supportive and laid back environment, and the folks that work here all want to do a great job. The fridge is now stocked with beer and wine, which is a great way to take a break or socialize with the team!

    Cons

    There's definitely opportunity to nail down processes more as the company grows and expands and focuses on consulting, but that's also an opportunity to have a say in what that process looks like.

    Continue reading
    Clarus Group2018-02-07

    Clarus Group Response

    February 7, 2018Director of HR

    Thank you for taking the time to review Clarus Group!

    Continue reading
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Great Client - Terrible Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Washington, DC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Clarus Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I was given a lot of autonomy with a great client doing an immensely satisfying and interesting job. Clarus Group doesn't burden their employees with a lot of administrative overhead.

    Cons

    Clarus Group provides few incentives and even fewer benefits. Read your employee manual very carefully, because they won't compensate you a dime more than they absolutely have to. Also, don't expect to get a promotion or a raise.

    Continue reading
    Clarus Group2019-09-11
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Please Avoid This Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Internal Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Clarus Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    There really aren’t very many.

    Cons

    This company only looks good at face value. Your title 100% matters and you are treated based on your title. The CEO regularly screams at and belittles people, and he will never admit when he is wrong, will always blame others for his mistakes, and never apologizes for his behavior. There is no sense of loyalty to employees. The c suite is greedy and their number one concern is making money for themselves.

    Continue reading
    Clarus Group2019-07-18
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Software Developer 

    I have been working at Clarus Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Sensible hours - Great community - Helpful HR

    Cons

    - More of a starter position for those looking to get in

    Clarus Group2019-05-13
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Okay starting point, not a long term option"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Clarus Group full-time

    Pros

    - Easy on-boarding process - Good HR

    Cons

    - Don't understand the nature of their own contracts - If the contract location has off on a day that Clarus doesn't recognize, you must use PTO - No ladder to climb - Mediocre pay at best for the area

    Continue reading
    Clarus Group2018-03-19

    Clarus Group Response

    March 26, 2018Director of HR

    Thank you for your review! I wanted to address the holiday/PTO issue you mentioned. In 2016, we revised our PTO policy. At that time, salaried employees received less PTO (12 days) and received an additional 2 floating holidays to help when clients had more holidays than what we recognize. We decided to add those additional holiday days into the PTO plan, making one bucket, and add an additional day on top of it. So, someone that just starts for us is now receiving 3 weeks PTO and our original 6 holidays. After a year, the employee receives additional PTO as their tenure increases and after 5 years they would receive a total of 23 days. In terms of pay, Clarus Group does our best to pay our employees as much as we can. However, many times the Client will not increase their rate so we can pass down the increase to the employee.

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (2)

    "I like this company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Mobile Developer in Silver Spring, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Clarus Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I like this company

    Cons

    I didnt find any cons so far

    Clarus Group2018-01-01

    Clarus Group Response

    March 26, 2018Director of HR

    Thank you for your review!!

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Senior QA analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Senior QA Analyst in Overland Park, KS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Clarus Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good Salary, Bonus, helpful HR

    Cons

    Bad PTO policy, No extra training or team building activities.

    Clarus Group2017-09-25

    Clarus Group Response

    February 7, 2018Director of HR

    Thank you for your review. I wanted to confirm that we offer 15 days of PTO for all of our Salaried Employees for the first year. After the 1st year of employment, we offer 2 additional days and another 2 additional days after 3 years. At 5 years, you receive a total of 23 days of PTO. PTO is in addition to the 6 paid holidays we offer. As far as Team Building activities, I personally coordinate quarterly Happy Hours for all of our employees at various locations around the Kansas City area and have done so since May 2016. As far as extra training, I have seen this as a request before and we are looking at ways to improve that area.

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (6)

    "Great Place for Contractors"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Project Manager in Lees Summit, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Clarus Group for more than a year

    Pros

    Placed me with a very good client with a great culture. Pay and benefits were very good. My leader at Clarus was engaged and provided outstanding support.

    Cons

    I did not identify any cons.

    Continue reading
    Clarus Group2016-11-03

    Clarus Group Response

    February 7, 2018Director of HR

    Thank you for taking the time to review Clarus Group!

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (4)

    "Client Delivery Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Overland Park, KS
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Clarus Group full-time

    Pros

    They have a descent commission plan and they try to build a good culture by doing company events/team building activities.

    Cons

    The management isn't great and there are very few processes in place. Everyone seems to be scared of the CEO whom lashes out on his employees. This isn't a place to go if you want to grow in your career or if you want to work in a great culture. The culture is lacking when it comes to trusting your co-workers. LOTS of internal turnover.

    Continue reading
    Clarus Group2016-12-06

    Clarus Group Response

    February 7, 2018Director of HR

    Thank you for your review. I have been the Director of HR since May of 2016 and have not witnessed or had any reports of anyone lashing out at employees and would encourage anyone to report such activity immediately. We have also put many new policies and procedures in place, knowing this area will be constantly evolving as our company grows. Since May of 2016, I have been a part of promoting several employees to new roles and feel there is tremendous growth opportunities at Clarus Group as we grow and develop. I have also seen us develop a great culture and have seen our team grow together creating a great bond. I am happy to report that within the last year, our turnover has dramatically decreased to only 15% with only 4 people leaving the company either voluntarily or involuntarily.

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Great Work/Life Balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Recruiter 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Clarus Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Excellent training that gets you up to speed quickly. - After you become comfortable, there is very little micro-managing, they allow you to be creative with how you perform your duties without feeling like you are under a microscope. - Heavy growth, a lot of opportunity to bring in large commissions - Friendly work environment

    Cons

    - It is a small firm administratively and the majority of the staff are split between offices in Kansas City and DC so there can be issues with communication

    Continue reading
    Clarus Group2016-02-11

    Clarus Group Response

    February 7, 2018Director of HR

    Thank you for your review of Clarus Group! We are constantly looking at ways we can be competitive with our benefits package and do our best to provide a comprehensive and affordable health care plan. As of August, 2016 our PTO Policy changed, we offer 15 days of PTO for all of our Salaried Employees for the first year. After the 1st year of employment, we offer 2 additional days and another 2 additional days after 3 years. At 5 years, you receive a total of 23 days of PTO. PTO is in addition to the 6 paid holidays we offer.

    Continue reading
Found 12 reviews