Clay County School District Reviews | Glassdoor

Clay County School District Reviews

Updated Aug 21, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 42 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
68%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Clay County School District CEO Addison Davis
Addison Davis
1 Ratings
  1. "RN Staff Nurse"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    RN Staff Nurse in Green Cove Springs, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Clay County School District

    Pros

    Summers off, same schedule as kids.

    Cons

    Terrible pay and professional isolation.

    Advice to Management

    Increase pay to be competitive with other nursing specialties.

    Clay County School District2016-06-25
  2. "Not bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends

    I have been working at Clay County School District

    Pros

    Supportive administration. Great teammates. The parents and students love their teachers!

    Cons

    Pay freeze lasted 3 years. I was being paid for 6 years of experience after 10 years.

    Advice to Management

    Support your teachers!

    Clay County School District2016-01-23
  3. "Substitute Teacher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Substitute Teacher in Orange Park, FL

    I worked at Clay County School District part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    . I worked with great staff from front office to custodians. I understand the process to be a sub has changed since I first started but at the time it was easy to get started Most of the time I knew ahead of time when I was going to sub. I

    Cons

    Occasionally I did not havel esson plans if a teacher had an emergency, but I figured it out.

    Clay County School District2015-12-31
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Heading downhill."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Teacher 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Clay County School District full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Highly rated district with no failing or turnaround schools. Salary slightly better than Duval.

    Cons

    Job expectations and requirements cannot be met during paid hours. Overtime (unpaid) expected. Certain professional development is required but not relevant to many positions. Standards and evaluation benchmarks are constantly changing. Pay is stagnant with insurance costs increasing. Current Superintendent is a politition with NO education background; current Board and Superintendent are hostile to teachers'... association. Morale of teachers continues to decrease. Class sizes are growing as administration tries to get around class size requirements rather than comply with them. Current trend us to dictate the smallest details rather than allow teachers to use their professional judgement to do their jobss. It's even worse for support employees who are given no respect by the district and treated as expensive.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Listen to the teachers; don't treat us as the enemy. Stop providing the least you can (salaries, facilities, supplies, etc.) and work to give your employees a great environment where they feel valued and are compensated generously. Stop allowing politics to dictate school policy.

    Clay County School District2015-10-18
  5. "HORRIBLE county"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Green Cove Springs, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Clay County School District for more than 8 years

    Pros

    If you kiss the right person's butt, you will have endless opportunity

    Cons

    Everything else! Administration bullies teachers and everyone is part of a nasty clique. County reps do not help, they are purely judging you so DON'T ask for help to improve yourself. it will be seen as weakness. My administrator actually cussed me out and has people spy on me. I have never been as miserable as when I worked for their county.

    Advice to Management

    BACK OFF! The teachers are doing the best they can and your unsupportive nastiness is immature and you should be ashamed of yourself!

    Clay County School District2015-11-05
  6. "Love the students and most coworkers. Hate the (corrupt) powers that be."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - ESE Behavioral Health Assistant in Green Cove Springs, FL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Clay County School District full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The students learning and growing, most benefits, working hours and time off.

    Cons

    The pay is ridiculously low for the amount of time spent working and the responsibility one has for influencing little lives.

    Advice to Management

    Train what you mean and mean what you train. Also, lose the nepotism and Southern Christian hypocrisy.

    Clay County School District2015-09-24
  7. "Good job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I have been working at Clay County School District

    Pros

    Good benefits and wonderful school

    Cons

    Pay is kind of low

    Clay County School District2015-09-05
  8. "Working for Clay Schools"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Clay County School District full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    One of the top school systems in the state.

    Cons

    Teacher compensation is below the National Average. Nepotism is prevalent in hiring practices.

    Advice to Management

    Please hire based on experience and educational qualifications.

    Clay County School District2015-09-11
  9. "Teacher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Teacher, Elementary School in Orange Park, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Clay County School District full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Steady income, health care, pension, vacation time.

    Cons

    Inconsistent policies and practices.

    Clay County School District2015-08-05
  10. "Clay County School District"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Paraprofessional in Jacksonville, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Clay County School District for more than a year

    Pros

    This is a great place to work!

    Cons

    Paraprofessionals might have to work in other areas other than their original classroom.

    Clay County School District2015-07-06
Found 42 reviews