Clay County School District Reviews | Glassdoor

Clay County School District Reviews

Updated Aug 21, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 42 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
68%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Clay County School District CEO Addison Davis
Addison Davis
1 Ratings
  1. "teacher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Teacher in Jacksonville, FL

    I worked at Clay County School District part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    awesome job all the time

    Cons

    no cons to talk about

    Advice to Management

    be a good teacher

    Clay County School District2015-06-15
  2. "positive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Green Cove Springs, FL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Clay County School District

    Pros

    Good people, good benefits, good location, good hours, good pay

    Cons

    Current budget cuts are creating stability concerns

    Advice to Management

    Stop the administration shuffle. Stop creating upper administration jobs that cause several support personnel to lose their jobs.

    Clay County School District2015-05-30
  3. "Positive Working Community"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Clay County School District full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    County in general seems to care about their teachers, I personally have had a much better teaching experience than I have had in other counties.

    Cons

    As always, with the nature of teaching, testing chips away at the actual teaching you feel you can do. The state is always adding "stuff" to be completed.

    Clay County School District2015-02-04
  4. "Clowns"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Painter in Green Cove Springs, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Clay County School District full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good benefits and a ton of time off.

    Cons

    Without a doubt, the most unprofessional group of people I have not only worked with, but heard of. The employees expel more energy trying to do nothing and not be caught, than what it would require to do the petty task at hand.

    Advice to Management

    Micro-management is a morale destroyer. The terrible pay is not enough to keep a decent employee from looking for another job.

    Clay County School District2014-12-17
  5. "Engage and Innovate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Teacher in Orange Park, FL
    Recommends

    I have been working at Clay County School District full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    CCSD is a growing district that is leading the faculty in innovative and engaging professional development. The students are a wonderful clientele that is eager to learn with active and engaged parental involvement.

    Cons

    The political infighting within the county is making the district unstructured. There is a great deal of aligning with the "right" people and punishment if not aligned correctly.

    Advice to Management

    Focus on job performance and not political affiliation.

    Clay County School District2014-10-09
  6. "Great, caring"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - High School Teacher in Green Cove Springs, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Clay County School District full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Administration cares about their teachers

    Cons

    Pay and benefits are horrible!

    Advice to Management

    None

    Clay County School District2014-06-17
  7. "Teaching Science in Clay County"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Teacher in Green Cove Springs, FL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Clay County School District full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Clay County is one of the highest rated school districts in Florida. It is an enjoyable place to work.

    Cons

    Teachers can no longer earn tenure. The state keeps implementing new programs, so there is training every year on a variety of programs that only hinder teachers' creativity.

    Clay County School District2013-10-16
  8. "A once growing district that has lost focus of students and teachers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Elementary Teacher in Middleburg, FL
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Clay County School District full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Small towns and communities, newer schools, small to large schools, rich history, veteran teachers to mentor new teachers

    Cons

    Politics, power hungry administration, poor money/budget management, lack of salary increase, poor health benefits

    Advice to Management

    Bring the focus back to the student

    Clay County School District2013-08-10
  9. "Friendly coworkers and students, administration needs improvement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Teacher in Celina, TN
    Recommends

    I worked at Clay County School District full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I taught at Celina K-8 Elementary School. Coworkers were friendly and helpful. The students for the most part are well behaved.

    Cons

    Administration has their own ideas as to how subjects should be taught even though the may have little or no experience teaching the subject.

    Clay County School District2013-03-05
  10. "All good reviews, no contract renewal."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Teacher in Middleburg, FL
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Clay County School District

    Pros

    I'm sure that it all depends on which school you are working in with which principal. There were some good opportunities for professional development.

    Cons

    I worked in RideOut Elementary School as a brand new, straight out of college teacher. I was teaching a self-contained special education class, given no curriculum, not materials, no guidance. Assistant principal came in about a month into school and asked why I wasn't using a particular reading program and why hadn't I told her that I had not been trained in the program, because they would have sent me in August... (then end of September). They made it my fault that I wasn't using the curriculum that I was never provided. Throughout the year I was given good reviews, but was then told that I would not be offered a contract for the following school year. The principal told me this 15 minutes before the buses arrived on a Wednesday morning, which seemed inconsiderate to me and irresponsible as I was slightly shaken throughout the school day that I spent with students, and I hadn't planned on coming back the following year anyway!

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Support new teachers. In the interview the principal talked about balancing work and life in order to not burn out... I think if school leaders offered guidance and support to their teachers they would be less likely to burn out!

    Clay County School District2010-07-26
Found 42 reviews