Clay County School District Teacher Reviews | Glassdoor

Clay County School District Teacher Reviews

Updated May 7, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 19 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
89%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Clay County School District CEO Addison Davis
Addison Davis
1 Ratings
  1. "Substitute Teacher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Substitute Teacher in Orange Park, FL

    I worked at Clay County School District part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    . I worked with great staff from front office to custodians. I understand the process to be a sub has changed since I first started but at the time it was easy to get started Most of the time I knew ahead of time when I was going to sub. I

    Cons

    Occasionally I did not havel esson plans if a teacher had an emergency, but I figured it out.

    Clay County School District2015-12-31
  2. "Clay County Teacher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Teacher 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Clay County School District full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Quality school district; good administrators

    Cons

    Low FL teacher salary; no upward mobility in education

    Clay County School District2019-05-08
  3. "Teaching CAN be amazing!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Teacher 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Clay County School District full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I work with some AMAZING teachers.

    Cons

    The biggest challenges are with the profession, not necessarily the district.

    Clay County School District2019-04-25
  4. "Don't do it......"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Teacher 

    I have been working at Clay County School District full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    It was fun in the beginning.

    Cons

    Things only got worse each year.

    Clay County School District2019-02-14
  5. "Teacher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Special Education Teacher in Orange Park, FL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Clay County School District full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The Hours are from 8-3:30, you get most holidays, and summer vacation. You only have to do two evening events (open house or a family night).

    Cons

    Teaching jobs are demanding and stressful. There is constant trainings and professional development. You must pay money to certify and recertification.

    Clay County School District2017-02-26
  6. "Regular education teacher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Elementary Education Teacher in Jacksonville, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Clay County School District full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Not as urban, smaller district. New superintendent is getting up to speed. Wants the district return to former high ranking status. He has already made great strides with repairing morale. He is cleaning house at county office to be rid of wasteful spending and ineffective employees.

    Cons

    Money. Curriculum needs revamping. As usual you spend $ out of pocket for classroom. Administration strengths vary and are very inconsistent.

    Advice to Management

    Choose your school carefully. Demographics vary and staff often are not supported by their administration

    Clay County School District2017-02-12
  7. "Okay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Teacher in Green Cove Springs, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Clay County School District full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good hours, administration is pleasant, PLCs are during contracted hours.

    Cons

    Step increases are not recognized, either no annual raises or very small (this year we get about a 1.2% raise... last year it was maybe 1%... the 2 years prior, no raises).

    Clay County School District2017-01-19
  8. "ESE"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    ESE Teacher in Middleburg, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Clay County School District for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Small district, great administration, and new superintdent

    Cons

    No pay increase, not much ESE support to teachers

    Advice to Management

    Communicate to teachers

    Clay County School District2016-12-28
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Heading downhill."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Teacher 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Clay County School District full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Highly rated district with no failing or turnaround schools. Salary slightly better than Duval.

    Cons

    Job expectations and requirements cannot be met during paid hours. Overtime (unpaid) expected. Certain professional development is required but not relevant to many positions. Standards and evaluation benchmarks are constantly changing. Pay is stagnant with insurance costs increasing. Current Superintendent is a politition with NO education background; current Board and Superintendent are hostile to teachers'... association. Morale of teachers continues to decrease. Class sizes are growing as administration tries to get around class size requirements rather than comply with them. Current trend us to dictate the smallest details rather than allow teachers to use their professional judgement to do their jobss. It's even worse for support employees who are given no respect by the district and treated as expensive.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Listen to the teachers; don't treat us as the enemy. Stop providing the least you can (salaries, facilities, supplies, etc.) and work to give your employees a great environment where they feel valued and are compensated generously. Stop allowing politics to dictate school policy.

    Clay County School District2015-10-18
  10. "Teacher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Teacher, Elementary School in Orange Park, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Clay County School District full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Steady income, health care, pension, vacation time.

    Cons

    Inconsistent policies and practices.

    Clay County School District2015-08-05
Found 19 reviews