Clayton Homes Reviews

Updated May 24, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 418 of over 440 reviews

3.7
70%
Recommend to a Friend
82%
Approve of CEO
Clayton Homes President and CEO; President, Financial Services and Manufacturing Kevin T. Clayton (no image)
Kevin T. Clayton
240 Ratings

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "Great benefits and amazing extras.(in 40 reviews)
  • "Good pay reimburse for travel relaxing environment(in 33 reviews)
  • "Great people here who are very spirited and into the company's mission.(in 28 reviews)
  • "And the quarterly bonuses are nice.(in 13 reviews)
  • "Money is good(in 10 reviews)
Cons
  • "Bad management.(in 18 reviews)
  • "Many managers throughout the company have remained in their 'leadership' roles over the years based only on their time with the company.(in 17 reviews)
  • "Long hours(in 8 reviews)
  • "The culture is gossip and if you don't suck up to the right people, you do not get promotions.(in 8 reviews)
  • "No training.(in 7 reviews)
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Clayton Homes and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Great

    May 8, 2022 - Cloud Engineer in Knoxville, TN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Have enjoyed all of my time projects and coworkers here

    Cons

    Not really any from my pov

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Great place to work!

    May 24, 2022 - Data Analyst 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I love everything about working with Clayton! The people are great, my team members are easy to work with, and the work life balance is amazing.

    Cons

    coordinating work across business units

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Amazing benefits

    May 19, 2022 - Project Manager in Atlanta, GA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great benefits and good bonus potential

    Cons

    Lack of training, job parameters far exceed initial scope

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 8 years

    Safety

    May 11, 2022 - Safety 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Pay is really good, Team oriented

    Cons

    There is opportunity for communication improvement

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 8 years

    Great place to work

    May 7, 2022 - Senior Software Engineer in Knoxville, TN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Fitness center and great insurance

    Cons

    Slightly lower salaries than what is available nationally

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    Drinking the Kool-aid

    Apr 19, 2022 - Sales Representative 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    They undoubtedly build one of the best manufactured homes on the market. Sales people have no limits on income. My associates and I easily make $200k per year. I e perks, benefits etc. Clayton is owned by Berkshire-Hathaway. You have the resources of a large corporation while retaining the feel of a small family business. Which leads me to cons.....

    Cons

    I read the employee handbook, I attended the training classes, I spoke the words, I signed the papers, I wore the shirt, I drank the Kool-aid. It all said Clayton was a culture of honesty and integrity.. It said if I had a problem I could talk about it. It said anyone who wasn't following the rules would be held accountable. After 2 years on the job I encountered a problem. When I followed the chain of command to address it, nothing was done. The management is incestuous. The brother of so-and-so is married to so-and-so, who's in HR, who's cousin works at the corporate office, etc. My direct manager is a bully, by definition. Look it up. He belittled employees, made crass comments about people weight, appearances, sexual activities etc. He treated people as if he believed he knew everything and everyone else was below him. He told me and others on multiple occasions that "we were nothing before him". I have pages and pages of documented conversations. I spoke to HR on multiple occasions and nothing was done to remedy the situation. You can make lots of money, but you'll get verbally abused and feel miserable every day.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Amazing company to work for. This is a company I would stick with for the long haul!

    Apr 20, 2022 - Human Resources Coordinator 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I would say the benefits, hours, and flexibility within my role

    Cons

    Pay could be better, but that comes with time and experience.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Good company

    Apr 28, 2022 - Builder in Bonham, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great benefits, good entry level pay, great hours.

    Cons

    Can't think of anything off the top of my head

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Great Culture with lots of opportunities.

    Apr 26, 2022 - Project Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Strong collaborative culture, with on par benefits.

    Cons

    Pay is below average against national average

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Current Employee

    great company

    Apr 25, 2022 - Sales Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    lots of potential to make money and great benefits

    Cons

    long work days and weekends

    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 418 Reviews

Clayton Homes Reviews FAQs

Clayton Homes has an overall rating of 3.7 out of 5, based on over 440 reviews left anonymously by employees. 70% of employees would recommend working at Clayton Homes to a friend and 66% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has improved by 1% over the last 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, Clayton Homes employees rate their compensation and benefits as 3.9 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at Clayton Homes. This rating has improved by 3% over the last 12 months.

70% of Clayton Homes employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated Clayton Homes 3.4 out of 5 for work life balance, 3.4 for culture and values and 3.4 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at Clayton Homes to be culture, career development, benefits and the cons to be senior leadership, management.

Popular Careers with Clayton Homes Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Clayton Homes? Share Your Experiences

or