Clayton Homes Reviews | Glassdoor

Clayton Homes Reviews

Updated Mar 28, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.5
71%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
Clayton Homes President and CEO; President, Financial Services and Manufacturing Kevin T. Clayton (no image)
Kevin T. Clayton
139 Ratings
  1. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources Manager in Maryville, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Clayton Homes full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great culture with continued growth and dedication to our team members. We strive to provide the best experience possible to all of our internal and external customers.

    Cons

    I have been here for 18 years and have not experienced a down side to this company. We were able to still remain profitable thru the housing crash of 2008 and continue to grow in all areas. We are dedicated to building happiness, one home at a time.

    Continue reading
    Clayton Homes2017-11-07
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Kodak, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Clayton Homes full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Chance to help people become homeowners. Financing options are great. Atmosphere is great.

    Cons

    None to speak of. I have much respect for Clayton Homes. They care.

    Clayton Homes2017-10-14
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Clayton Homes full-time

    Pros

    Great company to work for

    Cons

    Work/life balance is tough to manage.

    Continue reading
    Clayton Homes2017-08-25
  4. Helpful (1)

    "TMX Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Wakarusa, IN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Clayton Homes full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Autonomy, fun atmosphere, servant leadership

    Cons

    Can think of none at this time

    Continue reading
    Clayton Homes2017-05-05
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Love the company / love the people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Computer Analyst II in Maryville, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Clayton Homes full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Family Oriented - great benefits - great opportunities - great values I have been with Clayton for two years and was a contractor for them before that. I work at Corporate in Maryville, TN as a Computer Analyst. Just like any company there is some office politics but all in all, I feel the company genuinely care about its employees. I have had several different managers in the past two+ years and with the training that they all go through I have never had a horrible one. I have never had a problem with letting the manager know if I have a work related issue. We have always been able to work through them. I also feel that Clayton believes in what they do. I do believe that they want to see customers in homes and does not leave the customer after the purchase is over. The benefits are great, their benefits rate up there as one of the better ones that I have had, even in this day and age.

    Cons

    There is office politics with every job and this isn't any different. Although, I am not usually affected by the politics, I know they go on. 90 days before benefits kick in, this includes PTO. I understand this is common but it is the first time I have ever had to deal with it.

    Clayton Homes2017-05-04
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Clayton Homes full-time

    Pros

    Possibility to really make some money. Good incentive trips.

    Cons

    Long hours, had to clean and move a lot of furniture between houses.

    Clayton Homes2017-04-27
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Clayton Homes full-time

    Pros

    The company is what you make it. It is a great company owned by Warren Buffett who takes care his employees. As long as the salesman are selling homes your job security is good.

    Cons

    The hardest part of the job is just trying to get a customer to visit a home center when they are unsure if what we offer is the right fit

    Continue reading
    Clayton Homes2017-04-13
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Great company with great benefits and a fair salary."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Materials Manager in Hillsboro, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Clayton Homes full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Clayton Homes has an excellent benefit plan that covers medical, dental and vision. As well as retirement with employer match.

    Cons

    Due to the nature of manufactured housing, sometimes one finds oneself working 12+ hours a day, 6 days a week.

    Clayton Homes2017-02-25
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Clayton Homes

    Pros

    Good hours. Sales commissions are nice after you grow your personal business.

    Cons

    High pressure sales/no upward mobility unless in retail management.

    Clayton Homes2016-12-22
  10. "Over Expectation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative Assistant in Lumberton, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Clayton Homes full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Unique diverse company. Compensation well above city data average for a small town.

    Cons

    Not permitted to conceal carry. (As if that's a big deal though, lol)

    Clayton Homes2016-11-17
Found 234 reviews