Clayton Homes Reviews | Glassdoor

Clayton Homes Reviews

Updated Mar 28, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.5
70%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
Clayton Homes President and CEO; President, Financial Services and Manufacturing Kevin T. Clayton (no image)
Kevin T. Clayton
139 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Excellent experience (Corporate Office)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Maryville, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Clayton Homes part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great facility, very friendly coworkers, and supervisors will usually be open to new ideas and improvements. The corporate office offers a great on-site cafeteria and a fantastic gym, too.

    Cons

    I was only working in a part-time department, but it did seem that from my starting point that there were few ways to grow within a department. It seems that, in order to move up in the company, you need to jump around a lot. Some of the skill requirements for posted jobs we a bit unreasonable.

    Continue reading
    Clayton Homes2015-07-28
  2. "Registered housing sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Licensed Housing Specialist in Raleigh, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Clayton Homes for more than a year

    Pros

    Weekly pay uncapped commission with lots of room for growth

    Cons

    None that i can think of

    Clayton Homes2015-07-15
  3. "labor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Laborer in Jacksonville, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Clayton Homes full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I learner how to put up sheetrock and drywall plus finish mud. And painted dicks wings in Callahan.

    Cons

    My boss was a mean dude like j lived with him and it got to out off hand so I moved.

    Continue reading
    Clayton Homes2015-04-13
  4. "Outstanding Company you'll never want to leave!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Clayton Homes full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Not only does the company invest in their employers, they have a great wellness department and gym, basketball and volleyball, a great greenway jogging trail, and healthy greenway cafeteria!. They manage to maintain outstanding sales and has great backing as a Berkshire Hathaway company.

    Cons

    Need new positions and more innovative employees to help lead the wonderful talent they have. Quicker growth opportunity.

    Continue reading
    Clayton Homes2015-02-21
  5. "I love this job!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Home Sales Consultant in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Clayton Homes

    Pros

    The money is great! Commissions are amazing. Free cruises and other trips! Quarterly bonuses! Amazing management!

    Cons

    Nothing! I make bank! I'm happy!

    Continue reading
    Clayton Homes2015-02-12
  6. "I have been able to earn a nice income with a family oriented company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Home Consultant in Morgantown, WV
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Clayton Homes full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Company and manager are very family oriented and therefor flexible with scheduling when a family emergency or event comes up. Pay structure is nice, salary plus commission. They are closed major Holidays which shows they care about their employees.

    Cons

    Still retail and sometimes includes working longer hours and some holidays. A lot of time and work invested before you see commission on a sale.

    Clayton Homes2014-11-18
  7. "Bankruptcy Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Clayton Homes full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    People are wonderful to work for

    Cons

    I can't think of one.

    Clayton Homes2014-07-22
  8. "Good Company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Consultant in Tucson, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Clayton Homes full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great team - flexible with family life, Berkshire Hathaway company.

    Cons

    Slow traffic, few quality leads, lending is tight

    Continue reading
    Clayton Homes2014-06-25
  9. "Great company with a family atmosphere."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing Development Program 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Clayton Homes full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Clayton Homes is the leader in the Manufactured Housing Industry. If you are seeking a job in that industry Clayton is the company to be with.

    Cons

    The major downside to working with Clayton Homes is the industry itself. It was hit hard in the early 2000's by a housing crunch and has been slow to rebound.

    Continue reading
    Clayton Homes2013-10-16
  10. "Employer of Choice in the Housing Industry"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Retail Recruiting Manager in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Clayton Homes

    Pros

    Clayton's approach to business and our commitment to our associates is one in the same - an unwavering commitment to do things the right way. Sales Professionals have the ability to experience career growth through increased personal income and the opportunity to take on sales leadership roles.

    Cons

    Working in a retail environment the hours can be difficult for some individuals to commit to but the need to be available to show homes and assist prospects on Saturday is a must.

    Continue reading
    Clayton Homes2012-01-11
    Previous
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • Next
Viewing 41 - 50 of 234 Reviews