KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

Clean Harbors

Engaged Employer

Clean Harbors

Add a Review

Clean Harbors Employee Reviews about "clean harbors"

Updated Nov 4, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 60 of over 1,468 reviews

3.3
52%
Recommend to a Friend
67%
Approve of CEO
Clean Harbors Chairman, President, and CEO Alan S. McKim
Alan S. McKim
744 Ratings

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "Good benefits and safety measures(in 84 reviews)
  • "great people and they have supervisor that care about there employers(in 82 reviews)
  • "the pay was good but nothing else was worth the problems(in 80 reviews)
  • "Good training and integration programs of their business model and paper flow for companies they have purchased.(in 36 reviews)
  • "Great management and safety is ALWAY first!(in 26 reviews)
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Clean Harbors and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?

Reviews about "clean harbors"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Not a Freight Sales Company

    Feb 8, 2021 - Freight Sales Representative in Norwell, MA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Flexibility to work from home.

    Cons

    Direct boss to focused on the core business for Clean Harbors. Freight sales is just a hobby. • No Systems- runs the freight backhaul business out of Microsoft Teams. • Wants to be paid like a trucking company, but doesn't want to act like a trucking company. • Core business changes to frequently to execute what is being sold. • To many long standing relationships to create change. • Not enough Equipment. • Drivers run the show. • This isn’t a typical freight broker sales role or a Trucking company sales role role.. • Expected to work 7 days a week. • Unrealistic revenue goals • No monthly, quarterly, or yearly reviews regarding performance.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Clean Harbors Response

    Clean Harbors Response

    Thank you for sharing this feedback. We will review with the team.

  2. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 10 years

    Company doesn’t care about employees

    May 11, 2019 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Safety Kleen continues to be a great brand despite Clean Harbors involvement.

    Cons

    Management doesn’t understand the company business. Poor benefits. Low pay. Management that isn’t helpful. No true growth strategy outside of acquisitions. CEO is antiquated and may have been good at running a company with 1,000 people but not 15,000. Continues to put the wrong people in higher positions and they all continue to be out of touch with what’s going on.

    Continue reading
    5 people found this review helpful
  3. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Management

    Jul 5, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    One of the largest environmental management companies in North America with tons of resources! Great place to start your environmental career and get great training from the most experienced folks in the industry. Various locations all across the company to choose from.

    Cons

    None that aren't prevalent in any company out there. Management is always working hard at continuously improving and making Clean Harbors the 'go to' environmental company to work for.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great Position....but want TOO MUCH from workers!

    Jan 12, 2014 - Driver 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I love my job as a driver! Once I'm out the office in a truck it's like FREEDOM! The Medical Benefits are very good since we been on with Clean Harbors.

    Cons

    I'm just a driver and get NO Commission..which is fine, because money doesn't mean much to me as long as I ENJOY my position. BUT Management puts DRIVERS on routes meant for SSRs which is not too fair...just let the driver drive(or transport) and not have to do any services. I like to HELP OUT when needed BUT if I'm doing a service that has me working OT, that means time AWAY FROM MY FAMILY! And I think that's the issue OVERALL with this company...They want to pull in as much money as they can using ANY resource even drivers that aren't suppose to be doing that job/service. The SUMMER TIME is the most busy time for this company...which means more HOURS at Work(10-14 hours a day). And if it's near the end of the month and the branch needs to meet their QUOTA, prepare for alot of OT. The Management says.."We care about Family", can't care too much if they want you to WORK on Saturdays..at times even 3 Saturdays in a row! BTW..if the monthly Quota overall is coming up short and you wanna go on Vacation..expect a NO! Example: You wanna take 3 days off for vacation, they only give you 1...and that's all you get because reaching the Quota(money goal) is MORE IMPORTANT than any FAMILY time you will spend....right Safety Kleen? You think this is only happening at my branch? It's not...I can tell you that

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  5. 2.0
    Current Employee, more than 10 years

    Need a wake up call

    Oct 7, 2012 - Can't Say, Management IS Relentlessly Retaliatory 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Company purchasing more and more companies so the fact will be Clean Harbors will be here for a long time. Company is Stock Orientated and if as long as Jim Cramer continues to endorse and invite Mr. McKim on the show it raises the awareness of the company which in turn keeps customers and revenue coming through the front door. They will always be looking for employees so if you are in need of a job, chances are good they will hire you.

    Cons

    As stated in the pros (purchasing more and more), the larger the company gets means the less control of assets. This company was great to work for in the 80s/90s because management could handle 1200 employees. Now since we are over 6000 employees, they micro management everything but the harder they fight to gain control, the worse it gets. The annual reduction of employees to save money causes a ripple throughout the entire organization. Clean Harbors have 100s of Directors or higher, this is a huge problem. Most executives have no clue about the job they are managing therefore that division is clueless. No core values, the language towards employees is nasty. Employee UNFRIENDLY Company to say the least and whether you are an employee of 23yrs like me or 23 days, you will be talked down to and you will be strictly a number. It is not a career move to come to Clean Harbors; it is a job awaiting another opportunity. We have lost VPs, Directors, and Managers to other company’s including competitors. Take their money, learn as much as you can, and then move to a company that actually values their employees. Only time this company gives you a raise is when they are planning on raising your cost of benefits. 2012 our benefits increased about 30% FYI.

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Former Intern

    Financial Accounting Intern

    Jan 4, 2017 - Anonymous Intern 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Clean Harbors offered a team oriented workplace. Everyone was willing to help everyone else. At the same time, there was a sense of autonomy in my work. I set my own goals and tried my best to reach them day by day.

    Cons

    As an intern, I wasn't given too much direction and the level of autonomy might have been too high. However, if I ever needed something to do, there was always someone who was happy to give me a task.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Employees are under-valued.

    Feb 2, 2014 - Web Developer in Norwell, MA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Clean Harbors is a great place to learn the correct way to develop software. They have great processes in place and follow agile/scrum practices. They use the latest software and tools, and there is definitely enough software projects to keep one interested.

    Cons

    There are many downsides to working at Clean Harbors, but the first has to be how poorly employees are treated. There is no sense of community or teamwork. From day one, I did not feel like I was welcome there and I was just another worker. The culture is one of work, work, work with little to no payoff. There is no separation between the CEO and the IT Department. He literally has the say in every project - even though he's running a multi-billion dollar company. Doesn't he have anything better to do? He is the textbook definition of a micro-manager, which ends up rolling down hill, so all the other managers are also micro-managers for fear of losing his or her job. The IT department seems to be driven by fear. It's impossible to move up in the company and the salaries are pretty low compared to some other jobs of the same type. The company states that the reason for this is that we don't have to drive into Boston to go to work, so that is the justification to paying us lower than median salaries. The annual reviews are a joke and they always make false promises about raises and promotions. I could not recommend anyone working here unless they were desperate for work and enjoyed being mistreated and having the feeling that you are just another disposable entity. Turnover was extremely high, with multiple employees in the IT department leaving every month or so since I started there.

    Continue reading
    8 people found this review helpful