Clear Rate Communications Reviews | Glassdoor

Clear Rate Communications Reviews

Updated 3 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.8
46%
Recommend to a Friend
54%
Approve of CEO
Clear Rate Communications CEO Thane Namy (no image)
Thane Namy
19 Ratings
  1. "Great company if you want to make a difference and be a part of something special."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Development 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Clear Rate Communications full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    My time at Clear Rate was very positive. The owner is a great guy and runs a great company. He cares for his employees and understands that developing and promoting internal talent is a long term winning strategy. This was apparent to me during my time there since I came from a completely different industry, yet the owner was patient and made sure I learned the business in a way that not only allowed me to help the... company move forward, but paved the way for my long term career success. I left Clear Rate only because of personal circumstances not related to the company, and look very fondly at the time I spent there, the people I worked with and the amount I learned. It was a great place for someone like me with an entrepreneurial spirit, hunger to learn and a drive to make a difference. I was able to do just that during my time at Clear Rate and the things I learned there have helped me tremendously in the jobs that followed. I am forever grateful for my time spent at this Clear Rate.

    Show More

    Cons

    Slight adjustment for me coming from a large corporate job, to a privately held company.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what your doing. It seems to be working!

    Clear Rate Communications2019-06-18
  2. "Not good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Account Executive 

    I have been working at Clear Rate Communications full-time

    Pros

    Hours are not flexible enough

    Cons

    Cannot work from Home when needed

    Clear Rate Communications2019-09-03
  3. Helpful (5)

    "Don't think the bad reviews are disgruntled employees... its all too true"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Clear Rate Communications full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Bagels on Friday... bagels on Friday... that's about it.

    Cons

    Everything else... Micromanaged Always being watched, Zero trust Depressing The worst place to work A black hole of time They will never change. Career Opportunities - 0 Comp & Benefits - 1 out of 10, only because their 401k is actually a decent match Work-Life - 0 - must be here at 8 and if you leave a minute before 5, you're in trouble and have to use PTO. Senior Management - 0 - absolute worst... "manager" "boss" whatever word you want to use. Culture & Values - 0 - Dont Exist - literally I've read the reviews on here. All of the positive ones are from management except for one of them. That guy isn't going anywhere as he's the only one with a damn clue about what the network looks like and they would be lost without him. I don't want to beat a dead horse as every other negative review here is pretty spot on. This is absolutely the worst place I have ever worked. All the positive reviews have been written by management or a family member of management. The company cares about one thing... how much money are you putting in their wallets? Even if you do save them some money or make them some extra money, it isn't worth the time or headache. Bonuses are an absolute joke there. Used to do them quarterly and then they moved them to tri-annually stating the bonus pool is the same, yet my bonuses stayed the same despite an increase in my productivity. I wish I could share more, but again, I would be beating a dead horse. If this is the only way to pay your bills, take the job. If you can go work at McDonald's, please take that job.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    So damn slow to change. What happened to the engagement survey from 2 years ago? I don't know that I have seen one thing change in that company after the paltry results came in on that. Boasting about the company's profits at the holiday party doesn't mean anything when you pay your employees nothing. If anyone there made a decent wage, you would probably be operating at half your net. Get off your high horse. Zero... Culture, Zero Values. We even tried to instill values at one time, and management basically said values arent important and we aren't going to have any.

    Show More
    Clear Rate Communications2019-08-09
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Great Place To Build a Career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - HPBX Specialist in Troy, MI
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Clear Rate Communications full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It is a great place to build a career. I worked very hard and my hard work was rewarded. The negative reviews are from people who do not want to overcome challenges in life to become successful people. There are some challenges at the company but that is where you have an opportunity to shine and gain valuable skills. I worked there for 2 years and was entrusted with many amazing projects. I would have stayed... but left because I needed an immediate raise and promotion to engineer because of how expensive life is these days. They would have rewarded me in due time; I was advised of that by the CEO but couldn't wait. The company has huge opportunities to grow. All the negative reviews from sales people is because they didn't realize they had an opportunity to become filthy rich by selling industry leading technology solutions.

    Show More

    Cons

    Management can be very strict.

    Clear Rate Communications2019-06-02
  5. Helpful (4)

    "Call center might as well be a sweat shop"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Clear Rate Communications full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    No premium health care, matched 401k, free bagels was neat.

    Cons

    Strap in...micromanaged to hell. Felt like high school needing a hall pass to use the bathroom. Had to ask permission to use the bathroom outside of your break time. Which was met with scrutiny. Mandatory company outings (even if you have a baby on the way) Inconsistent salary model.(people with no experience getting hired in making more than those who had years of experience) “Above and beyond” reviews were a... joke. You show all you did to bring value to the company and you got a puny bonus. Strict dress code. No facial hair, visible tattoos, etc. No personalization of desks. You’re gonna look at those blank cube walls and you’re gonna like it. Raise were handled like crap(late and no retro pay) Model for growth was non existent. Was fed up with the BS. Had accepted a job offer from another company, Sam caught wind and tried to “negotiate” to meet the other company’s offer. Talked to me like I was an idiot. And tried to use retro pay that was owed to me as matching the salary from the other company. *this company is bankrupt morally, conning the elderly into higher phone bills*

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Pointless it falls on def ears

    Clear Rate Communications2019-06-11
  6. Helpful (6)

    "Hired for sales, but was mislead."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Clear Rate Communications

    Pros

    What I am about to share for cons is NOT an uncommon opinion. Most (present and past) share this opinion.

    Cons

    The office environment is toxic at best. The fairness of the owners (family) was as obvious as their dictatorship. They do not care about the employees. They simply care about their financials and how they are growing their (presumed) pot of gold. They sit behind a fish tank glass wall and watch your every move. “Sales” in their minds, isn’t about the face to face building relationships. It’s about making a minimum... of 100 dials a day very day, regardless. They have no clue what it is like to run a real telecommunications provider in the B2B world. They have NEVER had a successful outside sales organization, simply because of their unrealistic expectations, but force feed you that “when they ran successful sales departments before, they made 100 calls a day”....well, let’s do the math. The vast majority of their revenue comes from the residential market. They do not have a base of business clients to speak of, and think they are a world class organization like their competitors, and NO-ONE has succeeded in B2B there. There are plenty of options out there. DON’T make this one of them! Compete against them and show them what it is like to win business and succeed in a POSITIVE, FUN and EXCITING telecommunications company! You are better than what they need!

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    1. Trust your employees - ALL OF THEM! 2. Get to know your employees - ALL OF THEM 3. Invest in your employees - ALL OF THEM 4. Stop thinking you are superior to your employees - ALL OF THEM!

    Clear Rate Communications2019-05-14
  7. Helpful (9)

    "Don't waste your time here!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Clear Rate Communications full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great location Decent office If you do decide to accept the job, it can be used as a stepping stone to move into a more mature telecommunications company! (123Net, RocketFiber, ManagedWay, TelNet)

    Cons

    - Pay is bare minimum. Why stay at Clear Rate when any company will pay almost double your salary? Some folks are making less than 35k salary and are expected to work overtime. What a joke! - Due to low pay and lack of growth opportunities, the good employees are gone within a year. - Eating at your desk is forbidden! Sam (CFO) will walk around and punish those that are snacking on the clock. - Non existent... training (if you're new it's likely that the more senior employees already quit so tough luck)

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Honestly you're better off selling the company to those that know how to properly run a ISP/Telco. It's Clear that Sam & Thane are clueless...

    Clear Rate Communications2019-04-26
  8. Helpful (9)

    "Worst Company Ever"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Executive in Troy, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Clear Rate Communications full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Friday Morning Bagels. Some people were very nice.

    Cons

    Micromanagement. Puritanical, toxic vibe. They believe that sales people should sit at their desk and make 100 cold calls a day. At the Christmas Party (which was nice) all the awards went to managers and/or team leads not staff or individual contributors. No eating at your desk. No sticky notes. You cannot take over an hour for lunch.

    Advice to Management

    Come out from behind the glass and talk to your staff. Understand what they need to do their jobs better.

    Clear Rate Communications2019-04-02
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Great Company To Work For"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Executive Assistant in Troy, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Clear Rate Communications full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I have worked at Clear Rate for 10 years. In addition to a very generous benefit package and 401(k) contribution and discretionary match, on your 10-year anniversary they send you and your significant other on a trip of your choice. My husband and I just returned from an amazing trip to Europe, which included two nights in Venice and an 8 day Mediterranean Cruise. Clear Rate is a growing company that promotes... from within so employees that show their skills and eagerness to learn can take their career path in any direction. Management is passionate about the business, taking care of their employees and have a strong focus on providing great customer service. As with any business, nothing is perfect but what an employer learns along the way and the changes they implement makes the difference whether a company is considered mediocre or great to work for. I’ve seen many changes over the last 10 years that show managements’ continued passion and dedication to their employees its customers and the business.

    Show More

    Cons

    I have none at this time.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to listen to employees on what they need for a successful home/work life. With both parents working, flexibility of work schedule seems to be extremely important. Although this is not practical for all positions in the company, it is for many.

    Clear Rate Communications2018-11-27
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Full Time Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Clear Rate Communications full-time

    Pros

    Clear Rate is a growing company ...so jump in at entry level, show your talents and skills, be open to learning more, and your career path can go wherever you you want. The company is in a beautifully appointed building central to shopping (hello Somerset Mall), daycare, restaurants, etc. The cafeteria, "game room", gym and outside walking area surpass any office amenity. Clear Rate offers great benefits that... companies today do not offer. This all translates into more money for you. For me, it shows that this company cares for it's staff. A company that invests in its employees by adding benefits is an option that this organization chooses not to ignore.

    Show More

    Cons

    This is so trite, however, it's something to be mentioned because I hear it often. The dress code is too stringent for today's times. I understand that we need to look professional, however being ultra controlling about specific types of clothing and facial hair seems antiquated.

    Advice to Management

    You've done a terrific job hiring smart, qualified employees who are innovative and may actually have more experience and insight in their expert field... just listen, and allow them to lead.

    Clear Rate Communications2018-11-05
Found 27 reviews