ClearSlide "hard working" Reviews | Glassdoor

ClearSlide Employee Reviews about "hard working"

Updated Mar 4, 2017

To filter reviews, or .

3.3
59%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
ClearSlide CEO Patrick Nichols (no image)
Patrick Nichols
3 Ratings
Pros
  • "The people and team I work with are intelligent, hard-working, driven individuals(in 15 reviews)

  • "HQ office in San Francisco is a cool space(in 10 reviews)

Cons
  • "Unless you count the inept, hard to work with and inexperienced "sales enablement" which no one does(in 7 reviews)

  • "The sales team is starting to see their reps with actual experience leave for other companies now that they're figuring out they're all way underpaid(in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "hard working"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (7)

    "Tenacious employees thrive, worth the challenge"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ClearSlide full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I love a good challenge, and have definitely found myself in a position where the daily problem-solving and constant strategizing on ways to fine tune and improve my performance are highly fulfilling. I've been here for about 6-8 months and already seen quite a bit of change, but the growth I have experienced through this time of transition is well worth the effort. Bottom line: you get out of it what you're willing to put into it. ClearSlide is for employees who seek to improve their skills through hard work and determination. If you're looking to breeze by, it might not be a fit for you. Friendly helpful coworkers and a leadership I feel confident standing behind and moving full force into the future with.

    Show More

    Cons

    Some long hours (I don't mind it, but I know that can wear on some people). Not much to complain about here...at my first company you couldn't even drink water out of the tap so maybe I'm just conditioned to appreciate how blessed this environment is.

    Advice to Management

    Keep the newfound transparency going. The recent transition I feel has helped up to break down the barriers between departments and promote teamwork. Seeing the vision from the top down has helped to build that unity and I can sense a more positive vibe as a result.

    ClearSlide2015-09-24
  2. Helpful (18)

    "You will not find a truer review on Clearslide"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at ClearSlide full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    For the most part a good, smart group of people throughout different teams. Surely, a hard working crew. The views and location are stellar, no doubt about it. Kitchen and snacks are fine, but not uncommon for the startup world. The product is improving on a monthly cadence (long overdue). Not great at anything in particular, but decent all around. Beginning to open up more about targets and numbers, which for some reason was kept under wraps for years. Profitable company.

    Show More

    Cons

    VERY tough to meet your sales quota unless you're an SMB rep. In which case your in-bound lead flow is only matched by the singles pouring down at Cheetah's in Vegas during NBA All-Star weekend. Almost by default this team will always make quota. Sales development has been taken apart and lead generation doesn't exist, good luck on ye' mate! AE's will 100% outbound and get nothing from Demand Generation/Marketing. Again, unless you're SMB sales, which would not exist if E-Commerce were in play. Expect work to be HARD and be your own demand gen. engine if you're thinking about joining. "Rock star" sales reps come to clearslide thinking they'll do great because they've done great in past sales jobs, then the wake up call happens. They're usually gone within a few months. Most of the reps are checked out looking for a more positive culture, guidance and some help, any help, with lead generation and more than 0 SDR's. Favoritism is prevalent and it's obvious to everyone. Comp plans & pay outs have been misleading and demoralizing as of late. They tell you it'll be better in the long run. *holding breath* If you're looking for training and career development for sales and services, don't look here. No investment is made for that. Unless you count the inept, hard to work with and inexperienced "sales enablement" which no one does. 'Churn and burn baby' is the mantra for sales here. If you come to clearslide with more expectation than you've read here, come back to this review after 90 days and don't say it wasn't a warning. Sales at Clearslide is not for the faint of heart. Period.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    If you build it, they will come. Focus on the product and people. Do a better job of instilling confidence in your customer facing teams. Build and invest around the good ones, let go of the bad ones. Kick around the idea of having a Town-Hall meeting and let people be honest about the state of affairs and how it affects there work.

    ClearSlide2017-03-04
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. Helpful (9)

    ""Most people don't run far enough on their first wind to find out if they've got a second." - William James"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at ClearSlide full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I've been at Clearslide for 2 1/2 years full-time and I took the job because I read one of these reviews. The review said "If you're looking for a place that is going to be hard work and rewarding at the same time .... join." It is still true to this day. Just like any job or career that is worth having you go through challenges. ClearSlide has gone through a lot of those but for the better. This is a place that no matter what department you work in you're part of something and what you do day in and day out gets everyone one step closer to making this company a great success. If you're looking to work at a place where you're going to be tested, have to work hard, and push yourself until you catch your second wind then this is the place for you. If you want to just clock in and clock out you should look for a bigger company.

    Show More

    Cons

    There are constant changes that aren't always handle the best way. The senior management team has learned this and seems to be starting to change the way these changes are communicated.

    Advice to Management

    All changes are hard make sure to continue to be transparent as to why changes are happening and how they get us all closer to achieving the goals of the organization.

    ClearSlide2017-01-17
  5. Helpful (7)

    "All-around positive experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ClearSlide

    Pros

    I’ve worked at ClearSlide for 2+ years and am very happy with the experiences I’ve had. It bums me out when past employees who worked at ClearSlide over 3+ years ago comment on our company and it’s current state. I wasn’t here during their time so I can’t provide an opinion on how things “use to be.” Just like they really shouldn’t give theirs on what’s going on with ClearSlide because frankly, they no longer work here and are out of the loop. Rumors and knowing a “friend of a friend” don’t count as being informed. What I can say and speak to? The people, my team, management and opportunities for growth. The people and team I work with are intelligent, hard-working, driven individuals. They never turn me away when I need help or guidance. I enjoy working with people who are more senior in their careers because I’m constantly learning something new. I never feel as if I can’t speak to them based off of some weird “hierarchy” or set of unspoken rules. They, along with my manager, push me to be better and excel. I’ve been promoted twice at ClearSlide and attribute that in part to the atmosphere and team I get to work with. This also applies to our leadership team. Many employees come to Glass Door to air grievances that could be solved if only they’d express themselves to a manager or a leadership team member. I’ve never had any issue walking into an office and chatting with one of our leaders no matter the topic, good or bad. Having conversations in person work, I encourage everyone to try it more often.

    Show More

    Cons

    It’s true, some days are more difficult than others because things constantly change. But that’s why I work in Tech and at ClearSlide. I get bored easily so the fast paced-ever changing and challenging environment is what I love. It drives me to want to be as successful as possible. The benefits of working at ClearSlide for me outweigh working elsewhere.

    Advice to Management

    Stay the course. Keep encouraging people to strengthen their interpersonal skills with their colleagues. I'm not recommending more meetings, but more one-on-one interactions. We have so many communication tools available to us I think it's easy to get into the habit of relying on them too much. Brief in person chats can sometimes be way more effective.

    ClearSlide2016-07-20
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Customer Success Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at ClearSlide full-time

    Pros

    Great training program, competitive salary, good bonuses for hard work

    Cons

    Boring work, not much room for growth

    ClearSlide2015-12-28
  7. Helpful (11)

    "Glad we made the changes"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at ClearSlide full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It’s a start-up people. Yes, we struggle at times. Yes, we could be more focused. And yes, there were some people impacted recently (but really just a small number around 10%). I had some co-workers and friends depart which is very hard. But that’s what I signed up for. You want to see your hard work pay off and sometimes changes are needed. I love that we’re focused on being profitable and not growth at any cost. I like the new CEO Dustin Grosse a lot - he brings great energy and is inspiring (though sometimes his presentations can be slide heavy). The leaders have great experience from past companies and are committed to seeing the company successful. I have huge respect for the two co-founders who are stepping away from day to day and putting trust in the company. The move up to one floor is already helping bring back some of the mojo that’s been missing. The energy is great. I want to work with other passionate “believers” without getting bogged down. Always hard to predict how things will end but I feel we’re finally positioned to succeed. We have great customers, growing revenue, and money in the bank. Not too shabby.

    Show More

    Cons

    The biggest challenges over the past year have been self-inflicted. Our current systems were built for a small company and can’t keep up sometimes. And we lost some focus on making things easy for our customers. All this can burn people out and take heroic efforts. Things are changing thankfully but I’m hoping changes don’t take too long and that these changes stick. Customers really do love us so we need to get back to basics.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Keep going. It’s tough to make the hard changes but you have the support of the team. We all want the company to succeed. We all know it will take hard work but help us prioritize. ClearSlide is a great company.

    ClearSlide2015-09-04
  8. Helpful (5)

    "Why I work at ClearSlide"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Success in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends

    I have been working at ClearSlide full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Aside from the optimal location, beautiful views, PTO benefits, wide range of clients to work with, and overall tenacity in the office, I work at ClearSlide because I'm surrounded by smart, innovative, hard working and lovable colleagues. I'm genuinely excited to come to work everyday because I know what kind of fun I'm going to have with my peers despite a heavy work load. There's also a constant opportunity to learn at ClearSlide. Whether interpersonal or work related, challenges arise on a consistent basis forcing quick decisions. Learning how to navigate and come out on top without sacrificing my personal initiatives has certainly kept me on my toes.

    Show More

    Cons

    Systems and Internal processes still in development Accountability

    ClearSlide2015-09-04
  9. Helpful (5)

    "Start-Up Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Success Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ClearSlide full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You will be challenged to step outside of your role, pretty typical of a start up though Great hard working people committed to ClearSlide, even through tough re-orgs and changes Snacks and monthly lunches/breakfasts Casual happy hours and fun team outings/events Continuously learning ways to improve on the Client Services Side (all roles) A lot of potential in this market space Al and Jim are really inspiring and supportive, built a great product

    Show More

    Cons

    A lot of re-orgs, hard to see colleagues who became friends/mentors, have to leave Systems and processes This specific role has changed several times, hard to grasp my role (more than the others) Little notice about major changes

    Advice to Management

    New management, so not to many comments here More transparency into major changes

    ClearSlide2015-09-03
  10. Helpful (8)

    "Happy to be a part of this big team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ClearSlide full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Clear collaboration across all departments - the 'One Team, One Dream' mentality is real - The people we bring on are passionate about the company and its goals but are also genuinely supportive of the growth of each individual team member, too - If you put in hard work, in which ever role you are in, you are loved and acknowledged from your team on up to our CEO. When you win, everyone wins! - Great benefits including fitness subsidies, PTO, and health insurance - I love coming into the office knowing that I'll learn something new whether it is directly related to my role or helps me grow as a person. This is all possible because of the exceptionally bright team I get to be a part of each day

    Show More

    Cons

    Each role has its pain points but what job doesn't? Utilize the ability to meet with your manager in your one-on-one's or visit our execs during office hours to express concerns about your role or if you have an idea or solution that could benefit the company, share it. A few too many people don't feel like they're being heard but maybe it's that they aren't making the moves to voice themselves

    Advice to Management

    Make time for your team. Keep up the promises you made to each person when they first came onboard or strive to maintain their excitement and passion that they came in with -- that's your gold right there.

    ClearSlide2015-05-28
  11. Helpful (3)

    "(Engineer) Clearslide is going through growing pains, but it's still a good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at ClearSlide full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Fairly competitive salary with a generous stock option grant - Work/life balance is very fair. Your hours are not tracked, you can work from home when necessary, and time off is on an honor policy (which has the downside that when you leave, you get no PTO days paid for). Just get your work done and get to your meetings! - Smart, hard-working coworkers, many of whom are very passionate about working here. Our team manager did a great job in being supportive and trying to keep us happy. - They have an awesome IT department. Takes care of everything and goes out of their way to keep the office running. - The company has a cool culture. They have their own little social network to meet other sliders, and have various groups based on interest, like fitness, sports, and volunteering.

    Show More

    Cons

    - The code base and infrastructure is sorely lacking. Most code was hurriedly written by the CEO and fails to incorporate much of the standard technologies in place for things like ORM, Dependency Injection, etc. The databases are poorly designed and there's a huge lack of engineering support for the business intelligence / data teams. - Lack of documentation, in both the code and in a wiki. When I first arrived, there was no documentation for new hires. I had to write my own documentation so future engineers wouldn't be so lost! - I met a couple senior engineers here who made it very apparent they had no interest in helping me succeed. Simple questions were met with three word answers and an aloof expression. Fortunately, most people were not like that and I had no trouble making a couple friends :) - I have almost ten years of experience in building successful software and even leading teams. However I was brought on as a non-senior engineer (why?). More importantly, many of my ideas and suggestions for improvement were met with resistance, scrutiny, and distrust (which, truthfully, got better over time). I found some people simply had no interest in changing the status quo, or had their own ideas about how to do things and simply were uninterested in alternative viewpoints. The takeaway is that regardless of your experience, you'll need to prove yourself to be listened to at Clearslide: I concede that whether or not this is a negative thing is debatable. - The sprint planning and QA flow needs to be reworked. We spent countless hours trying to plan a week and half of work, so QA could spend an entire week testing it. QA seemed overly involved with the whole process, and there needs to be a buffer between QA and Dev to prioritize bugs so Dev isn't constantly switching gears to address small or trivial issues.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Don't be afraid to challenge your engineers, especially those with a proven track record. Continue to improve development: QA is too heavily involved and sprint planning shouldn't take as long as it does.

    ClearSlide2014-09-16
Found 15 reviews