KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

Clearlink

Engaged Employer

Clearlink

Add a Review

Clearlink Employee Reviews about "coaches"

Updated Nov 2, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 26 of over 731 reviews

3.3
44%
Recommend to a Friend
53%
Approve of CEO
Clearlink CEO James Clarke
James Clarke
21 Ratings

The latest conversations about Advertising

Join the conversation on
Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Clearlink and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?

Reviews about "coaches"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 2.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Some pros, but soooo many more cons

    Oct 19, 2017 - Sales Representative in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    This place is awesome to work at to build basic sales skills you can use to apply for other places. -They will hire virtually anyone with any customer service skills to fill training classes (also a con) -Great place if you're in school since they're flexible. -They give away a lot of swag and have cool parties. -The people on the phone and coaches are awesome (People in upper management not so much). -Offers virtually same benefits as any other call center - You only need to adhere to 80% of your shift

    Cons

    Ever since I started working here over 3 years ago, and it gets worse and worse. Even as a top performer. -Let me start off by saying that having an average of only 6 months as the amount of time people have worked here should be a huge red flag. Its an unemployment factory. There are months where they will lose more people than they hire. -As to what makes it worse and worse is before Sykes bought Clearlink they cut everyone's commisons from up to 10% down to 7% max to make them seem more profitable. That was a big hurt to people's lively hood and resulted in multiple high performing reps leaving for other sales jobs. -They don't care how long you've worked here, not at all. No matter how much they tell you they do, senior reps leave without any sort offer to get them to stay -It doesn't matter how killer of a week you had the week before it's always what are you doing for us this very second. -The vacation system is a joke. You can only plan days off 2 weeks in advance and the maximum time off you can take is based off company needs. So for example there's only 30 hours of time off available on a day you need off (because we're understaffed or forecasted to be busy) for let's say a vacation you planned months ago but people who showed up to work before you OR logged into the system at home right at midnight and signed up for time off that day... well guess what sorry, have to find someone to cover it or take a write up. -Zero sick days here to use in case you get sick, only "personal days" you can use them when ever you want, but only for one day and you get a very limited amount, less than 8 a year. Again, bite the bullet and take a write up, doesn't matter if you have a doctor note. -They have people called "employee advisor" who are supposed to let the clueless upper management know why moral is so low and what they can do to make it better... six months later, no changes... - honestly there's so much more but I'm tired of writing... not like anything will change.

    Continue reading
    11 people found this review helpful

    Clearlink Response

    Employee Relations Manager

    Thank you for your analysis of our organization. We’ve read through your entire statement and made notes of your concerns. Those notes will be passed on to our leadership team and reviewed by the appropriate parties. We pride ourselves on building strong relationships - with our partners, with the community, but most of all with our employees. We're sorry you feel that your experience did not reflect that. Sincere thanks for being a part of the Clearlink organization. Best of luck to you in your future endeavors.

  2. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Awesome culture, mediocre pay, iffy mngmt

    May 29, 2013 - Corporate Staff in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Awesome culture, fun people & parties. Open communication,

    Cons

    Seems like the sales team go through people and the coaches get changed around all the time. Corporate staff (minus marketing) all have pretty secure jobs if you aren't an idiot. HR has no idea what they are doing at times as far as growth goes.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Terrible Company

    Mar 18, 2020 - Licensed Agent 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The pros no longer exist since the last CEO and Coaches left or were fired.

    Cons

    This company knew months ahed of time that they were shutting us down and said nothing. I cant begin to even tell you how messed it is that I gave my all to a company that treated me as if I stole something and so they locked me out of the system and fired me. But no there was stealing I was a top agent they gave no warning. They dont care about their employees and they have no idea what they are doing as a business. They forced us to push fake roadside to people and not explain it fully to them.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  4. 4.0
    Former Employee

    Phone Sales

    Jun 25, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great Opportunity to learn how to sell with amazing coaches to guide you on a daily basis

    Cons

    You've only got so many breaks and the time allotted is stressful when trying to get ready for the next round of calls.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    You get what you put in.

    Mar 24, 2018 - Sales Coach in Orem, UT
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    This is literally the easiest money you will ever make; the customers are calling YOU to SET UP! There are very specific guidelines in place as far as attendance, quality assurance, and pay. Coaches and Managers care about their teams on a very deep level, and want everyone to succeed.

    Cons

    Communication from the top down is not the greatest; it can sometimes feel like the company's focus for the month or quarter changes at the drop of a hat.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Hands down the best company I have been privileged to be apart of.

    Aug 23, 2016 - Insurance Sales Agent in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great work atmosphere. You will be surrounded by people that quickly become family. The pay is there. They pay for your licence if your going to be a PNC Agent. Dedicated Management and Coaches. This isn't just a job this is a Career!! Great benefits. You will never find a Culture as great as Clearlink!!!

    Cons

    You need to be used to change. It may be a fun environment but it is still a place of business and with that comes lots of change if you can handle that then this is the place for you!

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  7. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Former Sales Rep on AT&T

    Oct 10, 2017 - Salesman in Orem, UT
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Cool new office. And nice free drinks.

    Cons

    Company is a disappointing mess. Employees are treated as 2nd class citizens. Super high turnover results. People can't work for an employer who turns and burns the sales force like these guys are constantly doing. Good agents leave because they can't make a living off of lies and false promises. Disgusted by coaches and sales managers who are sex crazed perverts. Yes, it goes on. Don't pretend otherwise.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful

    Clearlink Response

    Employee Relations Manager

    We appreciate you leaving a review, and it has been shared with our leadership team. At Clearlink, we strive to create meaningful relationships and would like you to hear more about the relationship we formed with you. Email hr@clearlink.com and share your experience with our HR team.

  8. 1.0
    Current Employee

    Employess are used as gasoline to fuel the fire.

    May 11, 2012 - Inside Sales Representative in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good friends that I will miss.

    Cons

    First of all, I worked at this company for just under two years, including nearly 7 months on the 'sales compliance team' which monitored the calls of fraudulent sales reps who lied to customers to get the sale. Most 'coaches' (lower level sales managers) would actually encourage this to keep the numbers high. Clear link boasts something like a 250% turnover rate, (which is supposed to be low for a call center!) But having worked on the department who saw all the people being fired, through 'write ups' (Which they hand out dozens and dozens daily) I can tell you that the turn over rate is closer to 500%. HORRIBLE FOR ANY COMPANY. I personally never lied to the customer, and at one point STILL had the highest conversation rate - making the company many tens of thousands of dollars. They then changed the criteria forcing more and more sales, and higher and higher conversion, including 'cross sales' (selling a product the customer didn't want, or call in for). Employees were not meeting the new matrix, and mass employees were terminated. I can Honestly say this is a company who values the employee ONLY as much as their last sale. They do not care about ethics, or honesty, and will fire the sales reps the moment they do not hit the required cross sales, regardless of how much money they have made the company in the past, even with perfect attendance, and top personal integrity. Don't work for this company, you will be fired at some point, and without warning. despite your years of Loyalty.

    Continue reading
    5 people found this review helpful
  9. 2.0
    Former Employee

    Good company that has lost its way

    May 15, 2019 - Sales Agent, New Hire Trainer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    There definitely are pros. Many of the people are great co-workers who will become your friends, and there are coaches and managers that genuinely care about their reps. Free drinks, coffee, and frequent catering are nice too. The location of the Orem office is excellent, right next to University Mall. Getting paid weekly is awesome, as is the free health insurance.

    Cons

    Sadly, the main cons affect agents, not management. There is far too large of a disparity between how coaches and managers behave at work, and how agents are allowed to behave. Agents truly feel like second-class citizens at Clearlink. So many of the leaders are in their positions because they were in the right place at the right time, and it has created a toxic "boys club" where friends promote their friends, and there is little opportunity to break in if you're not in the club. They don't look outside the company for talent because they can pay internal promotions less money. Because the number of promotions is so few, there is intense competition for those jobs, and management uses that to terrorize potential candidates. Even though there is a ping-pong table for employee's use, promotion candidates are told they shouldn't play because it "looks bad." Why even have a ping-pong table if you shame people for taking a break? In training, the micromanagement was atrocious. The director insisted that everyone on the team replied all to every email that went out. Every email. So every time one small email went out, maybe touching on a small policy change or an event coming up, you'd get 18 emails that all say "on it" or "got it" or "what a great idea!" It felt like complete disingenuous pandering, and it felt like if you didn't respond with a vapid unnecessary response, you were falling out of the director's good graces. It also became a running joke. This same director was the perfect example of someone who was in the right place at the right time- no business acumen, no innovative ideas. Worse than this, she was an obvious gossiper, and those conversations frequently got back around. When I was new as an agent, the opportunities for commissions were exciting and real. I could make $500 a week in commissions regularly; now that would represent the top 5% of the agents of any given team. They have spun commission structures where they try to tell you that you can make more- but you can make more only if you're hitting ridiculous and unrealistic numbers. And the biggest con of all... the call flow. The call flow is this inflexible script where you have to read some things verbatim, and other things you have to mention or pitch on the call. So instead of a dynamic, intelligent, professional sales agent, they've created robots that have to follow the call flow and force products down peoples' throats. It's 2019 for God's sake and they would force agents to pitch home phone lines to people. Say someone has a call where the customer says "I am a conscientious objector to TV- I think it's immoral, and I'm leading a campaign to eradicate TV in the world." The agent is still required to pitch that person TV. So the agent comes off as either disinterested, disrespectful, stupid, or all of the above. Management's response to this is the weakest and most patronizing idea of all time: "we don't know that our TV pitch won't change their mind, so we have to pitch it on every call every time!"

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful

    Clearlink Response

    COO and President of Home Services

    We really appreciate this feedback and your suggestions for improvement. One of our new strategic business initiatives is focused specifically on the employee experience, which includes analyzing things like leadership development and compensation approach to address some of the issues you've mentioned here. I'm confident we're headed in the right direction, but I'd still love to know more about your experience if you're willing to share. Please feel free to reach out to me at Loudandclear@clearlink.com. Thank you. - Adam Mergist

  10. 4.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Amazing pay if you can stay positive

    Oct 1, 2020 - Sales Representative in Orem, UT
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    -Great coaches who take interest in your success -Clear expectations -Great commission opportunities

    Cons

    -Coaches are paid based off your performance (can create stress) -Even though customers call you, they don't want to talk to you. Most calls begin somewhat tense and can easily turn into customers being angry with the process you have to follow to create a new account.

    1 person found this review helpful