Cover image for Clearwater Paper
Logo
See All Photos

Clearwater Paper

Engaged Employer

Clearwater Paper

Add a Review

Clearwater Paper Reviews

Updated Nov 20, 2022

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 144 of over 159 reviews
3.3
49% Recommend to a Friend
67% Approve of CEO

Found 144 of over 159 reviews

3.3
49%
Recommend to a Friend
67%
Approve of CEO
Clearwater Paper President and CEO Arsen Kitch (no image)
Arsen Kitch
35 Ratings

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Clearwater Paper and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Former Employee

    Great Job

    Aug 23, 2022 - Machine Operator 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    4 days off 12 hour shifts

    Cons

    I don’t have any thing to complain about.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    middle-lane

    Nov 20, 2022 - Division Level in Spokane, WA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great pay, opportunity, learning new things, flexibility (in the role), and many great lateral employees.

    Cons

    Major lack of communication, job expectations are way too large for the role, and inconsistencies between leadership. The department culture practice seems like they are out to get you for perceived threats to their position. Lack of appreciation/recognition for contributions and going above and beyond. The expectations are "it's their job, nothing special." It almost even gets to the point where they make you feel like no matter what you do, it is never enough.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. Join the Clearwater Paper team
    See Our Latest Jobs
  4. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Not bad.

    Oct 17, 2022 - Maintenance Supervisor in Shelby, NC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Decent place to work with pretty good benefits, clean environment compared to other industrial sites.

    Cons

    Production and Maintenance do not align and have a lot of struggles that could be avoided if the communication was consistent and clear.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Place to Retire

    Aug 17, 2022 - Line Lead in Shelby, NC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The culture here is like nowhere else any of us have ever worked.We are trained in respect and treating each other right and there is a big push for diversity even though we have always had a lot of folks here from all walks of life. I guess other Clearwater sites haven’t. LOTS of promotion opportunities. Pay is off the charts. You can’t work anywhere in NC or SC for this money and we get four days off in between rotations.Benefits are really good and cheap. Us hard working folks can afford them. 401k is matched and big money on top of the match. You would be crazy not to retire from here. The bums who wrote the other comments were fired for not showing up to work and not being safe. Management helps me with my career and any questions I have even personal ones. They ask our opinion on everything. Tell me another company that does THAT! They pay us extra when we refer people to work here. Everyone I know wants to work here. You have to pass a test. Free Tp and towels that’s my favorite perk. And free coffee and get fed a lot. And did I mention they ask our opinion on everything. Miss Phyllis goes out of her way to help us and so do alot of management. We get a lot of messages about what’s going on.No company is perfect but they do inform us of what’s going on.

    Cons

    12 hour shifts are hard and you have to rotate between days and nights. We voted for it because four days off every week AND getting overtime provides a lot for my family. We went on trips because now we can afford to do that. They are super strict on safety. That’s good but sometimes I feel like they focus on it too much and not on people who abuse.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 4.0
    Former Employee

    Paper handler

    Sep 22, 2022 - Material Handler 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    recession proof industry the pay and benefits are top notch.

    Cons

    rotating from days to nights every month

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Overall

    Aug 9, 2022 - Converting Operator 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Clearwater is a overall great place to work. Lots of days off too.

    Cons

    I don’t have any cons

    1 person found this review helpful
  8. 3.0
    Current Employee

    Concerned Employee

    Sep 15, 2022 - Industrial Electrician Journeyman 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Decent Pay and Benefits. Small community

    Cons

    Management hours working conditions lack of training

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  9. 4.0
    Former Employee

    Good place to work at

    Jul 26, 2022 - Distribution Supervisor 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good job and good pay

    Cons

    None other than the schedule

    1 person found this review helpful
  10. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 8 years

    Good Company

    Jul 1, 2022 - Maintenance Superintendent in Lewiston, ID
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good People, very skilled tradespeople, good mill,

    Cons

    Poor upper management, poor communication

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  11. 3.0
    Current Employee

    Good

    Aug 27, 2022 - Forklift Operator 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    4 days off and swing shift

    Cons

    Management and not enough workers

    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 144 Reviews
</>Embed

Clearwater Paper Reviews FAQs

Clearwater Paper has an overall rating of 3.3 out of 5, based on over 159 reviews left anonymously by employees. 49% of employees would recommend working at Clearwater Paper to a friend and 51% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has improved by 4% over the last 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, Clearwater Paper employees rate their compensation and benefits as 3.8 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at Clearwater Paper. This rating has been stable over the past 12 months.

49% of Clearwater Paper employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated Clearwater Paper 2.8 out of 5 for work life balance, 2.9 for culture and values and 3.0 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at Clearwater Paper to be career development, coworkers, benefits and the cons to be senior leadership, culture, management.

Popular Careers with Clearwater Paper Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Clearwater Paper? Share Your Experiences

Clearwater Paper logo
or

Clearwater Paper Careers

Cover image for Clearwater Paper

We are driven by purpose to make important products that are essential in everyday life. Our products can provide more sustainable...More

  • Our Values
  • Our Commitment
  • Benefits
This is the employer's chance to tell you why you should work for them. The information provided is from their perspective.

Reviews by Job Title

Company Updates

Logo

Clearwater Paper

818 days ago

Paper products are part of the circular economy because they come from renewable resources – from responsibly managed forests to the recyclability of paper-based products. Find out more about the paper industry’s sustainability efforts told by the people—foresters, mill workers and engineers— who are a part of it at https://www.howlifeunfolds.com/paper-makers via Paper and Packaging Board.
Paper Makers [Full Film]
glassdoor.com
See all

Clearwater Paper Photos

+ Add Photo
Clearwater Paper photo of: Truck Lift
Clearwater Paper photo of: Paperboard rolls
Clearwater Paper photo of: Coverting Robot
Clearwater Paper photo of: Las Vegas
Clearwater Paper photo of: Shelby Team
Clearwater Paper photo of: Job postings

Have you worked here?

See All Photos

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

Clearwater Paper Job Seekers Also Viewed

Kimberly-Clark Logo
Kimberly-Clark

4.1

3,704 Reviews
Compare

Glassdoor has 159 Clearwater Paper reviews submitted anonymously by Clearwater Paper employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if Clearwater Paper is right for you.