Cleary Gottlieb Reviews | Glassdoor

Cleary Gottlieb Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 175 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
72%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
Cleary Gottlieb CEO Mark Leddy
Mark Leddy
45 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great atmosphere, the lawyers are very respectful, opportunities to grow(in 15 reviews)

  • "A very profitable wall street law firm that has a large team of highly professional workforce(in 12 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Very fair to employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Client Reporting Analyst in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Cleary Gottlieb full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    For professional staff, work-life balance is very manageable and strong performance is recognized and appreciated by management

    Cons

    Partners can be demanding and deadlines are sometimes unreasonable

    Cleary Gottlieb2019-03-20
  2. "Biglaw Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cleary Gottlieb full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Sophisticated work, good pay, great colleagues.

    Cons

    Lack of work/life balance, 24/7 availability expectations.

    Cleary Gottlieb2019-04-02
  3. "Great environment if you don't mind the politics"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Designer in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Cleary Gottlieb full-time for more than 20 years

    Pros

    Great environment; employees are diverse and eventually feel like family; team mentality from the attorneys

    Cons

    Admin staff can be a bit political and cliquish; not much room for advancement from within if you are not an attorney.

    Cleary Gottlieb2019-02-27
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Assistant Managing Clerk"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Managing Clerk in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Cleary Gottlieb full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Perfect position for someone coming right out of college. Great benefits. Fantastic on the resume. Lots of time for a personal life as you rarely have to work overtime.

    Cons

    It can be a bit repetitive at times but overall it's hard to beat for a first full time job.

    Advice to Management

    Help your employees grow and develop.

    Cleary Gottlieb2018-11-28
  5. "Great Place to be An Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cleary Gottlieb full-time

    Pros

    Flexibility; Culture; Lock Step Compensation;

    Cons

    None (other than general cons for the big law practice industry)

    Cleary Gottlieb2018-09-05
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Great firm"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Cleary Gottlieb full-time

    Pros

    They treat employees well. Lots of perks. Good community.

    Cons

    Demanding attorneys and environment, but this is to be expected.

    Cleary Gottlieb2018-08-30
  7. "current associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Cleary Gottlieb full-time

      Pros

      Diverse, friendly, quirky, great exit opportunities. I met some of my best friends in the world here. This is also a great firm if you have any interest in working in an international office.

      Cons

      Unclear how promotions work here. Seen quite a few people get burned. I think if you're looking for a clearer path to partnership you should look elsewhere.

      Cleary Gottlieb2018-08-23
    • "Litigation Paralegal"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Cleary Gottlieb full-time

      Pros

      great PTO, nice offices, nice cafeteria

      Cons

      Long hours, over-worked lawyers, stressful environment

      Cleary Gottlieb2018-08-22
    • Helpful (1)

      "Associate"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Associate 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Cleary Gottlieb full-time for more than 4 years

      Pros

      Interesting work, smart colleagues, challenging

      Cons

      Lack of transparency, inconsistent commitment to pro bono and associate development

      Cleary Gottlieb2018-07-05
    • Helpful (1)

      "Awesome experience"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - International Lawyer in New York, NY
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Cleary Gottlieb full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      The ambience is really good

      Cons

      So much working hours sometimes

      Advice to Management

      Take a better look at teaming up

      Cleary Gottlieb2018-06-13
    Found 175 reviews