Cleary Gottlieb Reviews | Glassdoor

Cleary Gottlieb Reviews

Updated Aug 17, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 204 reviews

4.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
84%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
Cleary Gottlieb CEO Mark Leddy
Mark Leddy
52 Ratings
  1. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Staff Accountant 

    I worked at Cleary Gottlieb full-time

    Pros

    Company perks were pretty good

    Cons

    Company politics were pretty bad

    Cleary Gottlieb2019-08-17
  2. "Loved working here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources Generalist in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cleary Gottlieb full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Excellent management and amazing benefits

    Cons

    Salary not on target in comparison to other companies

    Cleary Gottlieb2019-06-25
  3. "REALLY AMAZING CULTURE"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Legal Assistant in New York, NY

    I have been working at Cleary Gottlieb for more than a year

    Pros

    REALLY AMAZING CULTURE. Really smart people.

    Cons

    WORK/LIFE BALANCE Compensation is low for the amount of hours you put in.

    Advice to Management

    WORK ON WORK/LIFE BALANCE

    Cleary Gottlieb2019-06-12
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Very fair to employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Client Reporting Analyst in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Cleary Gottlieb full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    For professional staff, work-life balance is very manageable and strong performance is recognized and appreciated by management

    Cons

    Partners can be demanding and deadlines are sometimes unreasonable

    Cleary Gottlieb2019-03-20
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Assistant Managing Clerk"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Managing Clerk in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Cleary Gottlieb full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Perfect position for someone coming right out of college. Great benefits. Fantastic on the resume. Lots of time for a personal life as you rarely have to work overtime.

    Cons

    It can be a bit repetitive at times but overall it's hard to beat for a first full time job.

    Advice to Management

    Help your employees grow and develop.

    Cleary Gottlieb2018-11-28
  6. "Business Development and Marketing Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Cleary Gottlieb

    Pros

    Everyone on the BD team and marketing team are very smart and caring people. I never felt like an intern, and they were always open to any questions I might've had. The managers on each side were also great, and let us interact with many partners and other people around the firm. Overall great experience!

    Cons

    My summer experience was great, so there are no cons for me!

    Cleary Gottlieb2018-10-31
  7. "Great Place to be An Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cleary Gottlieb full-time

    Pros

    Flexibility; Culture; Lock Step Compensation;

    Cons

    None (other than general cons for the big law practice industry)

    Cleary Gottlieb2018-09-05
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Great firm"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Cleary Gottlieb full-time

    Pros

    They treat employees well. Lots of perks. Good community.

    Cons

    Demanding attorneys and environment, but this is to be expected.

    Cleary Gottlieb2018-08-30
  9. "current associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Cleary Gottlieb full-time

    Pros

    Diverse, friendly, quirky, great exit opportunities. I met some of my best friends in the world here. This is also a great firm if you have any interest in working in an international office.

    Cons

    Unclear how promotions work here. Seen quite a few people get burned. I think if you're looking for a clearer path to partnership you should look elsewhere.

    Cleary Gottlieb2018-08-23
  10. Helpful (1)

    "A great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Cleary Gottlieb full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    exciting matters, great lawyers, high level training, great experience

    Cons

    time pressure, but that's expected

    Advice to Management

    keep it up!

    Cleary Gottlieb2018-04-24
Found 204 reviews