Cleary Gottlieb Reviews | Glassdoor

Cleary Gottlieb Reviews

Updated Jun 2, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 176 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
72%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
Cleary Gottlieb CEO Mark Leddy
Mark Leddy
45 Ratings
  1. Helpful (4)

    "A Law firm that is trending down"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Cleary Gottlieb full-time

    Pros

    Nice environment, challenging work with vision

    Cons

    Admin staff treated poorly overall

    Advice to Management

    Look around, unemployment is down. Appreciate your colleagues.

    Cleary Gottlieb2017-12-14
  2. Helpful (1)

    "A good law firm"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Cleary Gottlieb for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The people at Cleary are amazing.

    Cons

    You'll work a lot. That's typical for life at a big law firm.

    Cleary Gottlieb2017-11-26
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Cleary Gottlieb full-time

    Pros

    Great pay, Interesting and international work and Great colleagues

    Cons

    Long hours, not direct feedback, not very many trained managers/partners/senior attorneys

    Cleary Gottlieb2017-12-09
  4. "Cleary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Cleary Gottlieb full-time

      Pros

      Good pay and people are also good

      Cons

      Hours are long and never off.

      Advice to Management

      Not sure what this would be

      Cleary Gottlieb2017-11-14
    • "Professional Staff"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Cleary Gottlieb full-time

      Pros

      The people and culture. A lot of afterwork events.

      Cons

      none that I can think of.

      Cleary Gottlieb2017-10-08
    • Helpful (4)

      "If you're not an attorney, you are treated like garbage despite your role"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY

      I worked at Cleary Gottlieb for more than a year

      Pros

      Nice work environment among coworkers

      Cons

      As a member of the Accounting/Finance dept, I might as well have been the janitor as no perks are given to anyone besides attorneys

      Advice to Management

      Treat people based on their qualifications despite the fact that they may not be client facing

      Cleary Gottlieb2017-09-27
    • Helpful (2)

      "Getting Better for non-legal staff"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I have been working at Cleary Gottlieb full-time

        Pros

        Management is working hard to improve the quality of life and benefits offered for non-legal staff

        Cons

        Opportunity for advancement is still limited

        Cleary Gottlieb2017-09-13
      • "Great Opportunities"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Cleary Gottlieb full-time

        Pros

        Paralegals get exposure to interesting cases and get to learn a lot about the legal world before entering law school. Friendly office culture

        Cons

        Long hours and work can be repetitive

        Cleary Gottlieb2017-08-30
      • "Associate"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
          Recommends
          Positive Outlook
          No opinion of CEO

          I have been working at Cleary Gottlieb full-time

          Pros

          Prestige, pay, quality of work

          Cons

          The big law environment can be a challenging one

          Advice to Management

          Create clearer and better goals for yourselves and employees

          Cleary Gottlieb2017-09-07
        • "Great experience."

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Former Employee - Paralegal in New York, NY
          Recommends
          Positive Outlook
          No opinion of CEO

          I worked at Cleary Gottlieb full-time for more than 3 years

          Pros

          Cleary has a relaxed yet professional corporate culture. For a large top tier firm, there is surprisingly no stuffy attitude.

          Cons

          There is a growing trend at the firm towards a more traditional outlook regarding the interactions between senior and junior associates.

          Cleary Gottlieb2017-08-04
        Found 176 reviews