Cleary Gottlieb Reviews | Glassdoor

Cleary Gottlieb Reviews

Updated Jun 25, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 181 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
72%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
Cleary Gottlieb CEO Mark Leddy
Mark Leddy
46 Ratings
  1. "Great Opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cleary Gottlieb full-time

    Pros

    Paralegals get exposure to interesting cases and get to learn a lot about the legal world before entering law school. Friendly office culture

    Cons

    Long hours and work can be repetitive

    Cleary Gottlieb2017-08-30
  2. "Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Cleary Gottlieb full-time

      Pros

      Prestige, pay, quality of work

      Cons

      The big law environment can be a challenging one

      Advice to Management

      Create clearer and better goals for yourselves and employees

      Cleary Gottlieb2017-09-07
    • "Great experience."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Paralegal in New York, NY
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Cleary Gottlieb full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Cleary has a relaxed yet professional corporate culture. For a large top tier firm, there is surprisingly no stuffy attitude.

      Cons

      There is a growing trend at the firm towards a more traditional outlook regarding the interactions between senior and junior associates.

      Cleary Gottlieb2017-08-04
    • Helpful (1)

      "Okay Job"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I worked at Cleary Gottlieb full-time

        Pros

        People were nice to deal with.

        Cons

        Atmosphere lacking in positivity overall.

        Cleary Gottlieb2017-08-07
      • "Cleary Gottlieb - Litigation Paralegal"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
          Approves of CEO

          I have been working at Cleary Gottlieb full-time

          Pros

          Great benefits and a good team.

          Cons

          Tough hours and some lawyers are difficult to deal with.

          Cleary Gottlieb2017-06-11
        • Helpful (1)

          "N/A"

          StarStarStarStarStar
            Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

            I have been working at Cleary Gottlieb full-time

            Pros

            Good benefits, Great life-work balance, great team, year-round events

            Cons

            Salary, ability to stand out, not much room for growth

            Cleary Gottlieb2017-06-07
          • Helpful (2)

            "Corporate Paralegal disenchanted with law."

            StarStarStarStarStar
            • Work/Life Balance
            • Culture & Values
            • Career Opportunities
            • Compensation and Benefits
            • Senior Management
            Former Employee - Corporate Paralegal in New York, NY
            Positive Outlook

            I worked at Cleary Gottlieb full-time for less than a year

            Pros

            Smart Lawyers. Very fast paced. Lots of opportunity for overtime. Perks are great (subsidized cafeteria, cars home, lots of PTO). Paralegals are very close with each other.

            Cons

            Work is mind-numbingly boring. Disconnect from the paralegals and deal teams. Little to no opportunity for advancement. Base pay is low.

            Cleary Gottlieb2017-06-02
          • Helpful (2)

            "Former Associate"

            StarStarStarStarStar
            • Work/Life Balance
            • Culture & Values
            • Career Opportunities
            • Compensation and Benefits
            • Senior Management
            Former Employee - Associate in New York, NY
            Doesn't Recommend
            Negative Outlook
            Disapproves of CEO

            I worked at Cleary Gottlieb

            Pros

            Nice pay and benefits, prestigious law firm, big clients

            Cons

            Very intrusive colleagues. First year associate do basically paralegal work

            Advice to Management

            Involve first year associates more and give them meaningful work

            Cleary Gottlieb2017-05-30
          • Helpful (4)

            "Still recovering from the professional RAPE"

            StarStarStarStarStar
            • Work/Life Balance
            • Culture & Values
            • Career Opportunities
            • Compensation and Benefits
            • Senior Management
            Former Employee - Administrative Employee in New York, NY
            Doesn't Recommend
            Neutral Outlook
            Approves of CEO

            I worked at Cleary Gottlieb full-time for more than 10 years

            Pros

            Some of the most interesting people and the partners , associates, clients were amazing. Great benefits. You are exposed to many different cultures

            Cons

            I worked this firm for 10+ years. I have read the other reviews and I agree with a lot of what they said. It is a culture of seductive incentives with a trap house attachment. When I first started with the firm there was such an optimistic atmosphere and you wanted to give your all. Then as time went on you realized​ that you have been professionally molested, by an insufficintly untrained manager that had no idea...

            Show More

            Advice to Management

            Don't just nod your head when a staff member has concerns, follow up ,give productive advise that will benefit all . Nurture your great employees and know when it is time let go of the people who are literally sucking the life out of you staffs morale and ability to produce effectively.

            Cleary Gottlieb2017-05-23
          • "Interesting Work/Great Colleagues"

            StarStarStarStarStar
              Current Employee - Associate 

              I have been working at Cleary Gottlieb full-time for less than a year

              Pros

              Cleary has interesting/challenging work and great colleagues

              Cons

              Long hours and poor work/life balance

              Cleary Gottlieb2017-04-25
            Found 181 reviews