Cleary Gottlieb "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor

Cleary Gottlieb Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Jun 2, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 176 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
72%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
Cleary Gottlieb CEO Mark Leddy
Mark Leddy
45 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great atmosphere, the lawyers are very respectful, opportunities to grow(in 15 reviews)

  • "A very profitable wall street law firm that has a large team of highly professional workforce(in 12 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Very fair to employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Client Reporting Analyst in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Cleary Gottlieb full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    For professional staff, work-life balance is very manageable and strong performance is recognized and appreciated by management

    Cons

    Partners can be demanding and deadlines are sometimes unreasonable

    Cleary Gottlieb2019-03-20
  2. "Biglaw Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cleary Gottlieb full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Sophisticated work, good pay, great colleagues.

    Cons

    Lack of work/life balance, 24/7 availability expectations.

    Cleary Gottlieb2019-04-02
  3. "DC Associate Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate in Washington, DC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Cleary Gottlieb full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    People were generally friendly and a pleasure to work with. Good place to start your career if you're looking for something short-term that will look good on your resume . Partners are willing to give young lawyers a high level of responsibility and autonomy if they prove themselves capable of handling it.

    Cons

    Work/life balance was not good and partners don't seem to care. There is little diversity in the type of work that this office handles, which makes it difficult to get new experiences as a young attorney. It's also easy to get pigeon-holed into a type of work that you don't want to specialize in . This can also limit one's exit options if the type of work you do is not viewed...

    Show More
    Cleary Gottlieb2018-03-19
  4. "Interesting Work/Great Colleagues"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Associate 

      I have been working at Cleary Gottlieb full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Cleary has interesting/challenging work and great colleagues

      Cons

      Long hours and poor work/life balance

      Cleary Gottlieb2017-04-25
    • "As good as it gets as far as big law goes"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Associate in New York, NY
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Cleary Gottlieb full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      I am a lawyer at the firm. Pleasant colleagues (mostly) to work with, good administrative support, exposure to headline transactions and valuable learning experience. Good view from the office. Market-level compensation.

      Cons

      No work/life balance (although it'd be naive to expect it at a NY big law); lack of transparency regarding promotion; up or out; expected to be available 24/7.

      Cleary Gottlieb2017-04-18
    • Helpful (1)

      "Great firm"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Associate in New York, NY
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Cleary Gottlieb full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Great work environment. Everyone is very supportive and invested in other people's growth. The firm has adequate measures to encourage mentorship. They value work-life balance.

      Cons

      As with any firm, sometimes you work long hours.

      Advice to Management

      Keep up the good work!

      Cleary Gottlieb2016-10-22
    • "The best sweatshop law firm"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends

      I worked at Cleary Gottlieb full-time

      Pros

      If you're going to work at a top-tier corporate law firm, Cleary is probably the best place you can choose to work. When it comes to actual substantive work, top-tier law firms all do the same stuff and you'll work roughly the same hours. What differentiates them is the people. And the people are Cleary are some of the most intelligent, interesting and kind people I've ever met. Makes it much easier to work all the...

      Show More

      Cons

      It's a sweatshop like all the rest and you won't have much work-life balance. But that's the reality of working at a top-tier corporate law firm.

      Advice to Management

      Make it easier for women to take a long-term break when they have children. Perhaps even establish a formal, longer, track to partnership for people who might want 1-5 years to have children (and actually see them when they're young and require lots of attention).

      Cleary Gottlieb2016-09-29
    • Helpful (1)

      "Staff perspective- Standard for a Big Law firm"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Cleary Gottlieb for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Salary. There are a few nice people to work with. Location.

      Cons

      Expects staff to buy into the mentality that it's a privilege to work there. Law firm culture in general is not conducive of a flexible or enjoyable work environment. Very poor work life balance.

      Advice to Management

      Be more flexible and acknowledge that work life balance is more of a priority for staff.

      Cleary Gottlieb2016-08-17
    • Helpful (2)

      "Non - legal staff"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Applications Specialist/Software Tester in Lanham, MD
      Doesn't Recommend

      I worked at Cleary Gottlieb full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Benefits, and work life balance is excellent! The pay is very good but that's a con in a way because you get complacent and comfortable.

      Cons

      It was great at first. I was there 7 years working in IT. I out grew the position and Io wanted to learn more. That was disapproved so I went back to school for my Masters and two weeks after I graduated. I was laid off. with a bunch of folks who were 45 or older under reconstruction. With that being said, I would not recommend this firm as a IT member. Morale doesn't exist and the environment is filled with employees...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Treat your staff fairly regardless of there age.

      Cleary Gottlieb2016-06-09
    • Helpful (3)

      "Litigation Paralegal"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Litigation Paralegal in Washington, DC
      Doesn't Recommend
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Cleary Gottlieb full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      High Profile Cases, better than average pay, some of the big law perks trickle down to the paralegals

      Cons

      No work life balance. Associates are the only commodity of value. Paralegals are just smart, ambitious college grads that they run into the ground and replace.

      Advice to Management

      Care for your employees and you wouldn't have so much burnout, resentment, and turnover

      Cleary Gottlieb2016-02-23
    Found 176 reviews