Clemson University Reviews | Glassdoor

Clemson University Reviews

Updated Oct 11, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 598 reviews

4.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
80%
Recommend to a Friend
82%
Approve of CEO
Clemson University CEO James P. Clements (no image)
James P. Clements
222 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Small town, run by college students(in 21 reviews)

  • "No cons other than I am not a permanent employee(in 18 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "First year"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Resident Assistant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Clemson University part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Really fun and great experience

    Cons

    Communal bathrooms were a bit of a downside

    Continue reading
    Clemson University2019-10-10
  2. "Wonderful experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Student Assistant in Clemson, SC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Clemson University part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazing bosses; learned a lot about leadership and got to participate in and help with really interesting events around campus. This job helped me get to know my professors better, as well.

    Cons

    Sometimes your work day is unpredictable. You could be sitting at your desk all day or making runs around campus.

    Clemson University2019-09-30
  3. "Good University. Going Places!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Research Assistant in Clemson, SC

    I worked at Clemson University full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    University is climbing in rankings very fast.

    Cons

    None that I can think of.

    Continue reading
    Clemson University2019-10-11
  4. "Would work here again"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director in Clemson, SC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Clemson University full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great and inclusive environment. The people were fantastic to work with

    Cons

    The long commute from Greenville, SC. Living in a college town has it own unique qualities

    Clemson University2019-09-24
  5. "Great Place to Attend and Study"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Student in Clemson, SC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Clemson University full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Professors are personable and down to earth, multiple resources available that enable you to succeed.

    Cons

    Beginning to get overpopulated

    Clemson University2019-09-17
  6. "Decent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Graduate Research Assistant in Clemson, SC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Clemson University full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    New buildings and equipment for half of the MSE department

    Cons

    other half has older facilities

    Clemson University2019-09-28
  7. "Research program under Clemson's Youth Learning Institute"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Camp Director in Aiken, SC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Clemson University full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Benefits are a little pricey but good.

    Cons

    University money is hard to come by for programs

    Clemson University2019-09-27
  8. "Clemson Extension Natural Resources Agent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Natural Resources Agent in Florence, SC
    Recommends

    I have been working at Clemson University full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great camaraderie and community to work with. State benefits are good, and they try and make sure everyone has a good work-life balance. You really do get paid to learn, and have the opportunity to further your education on the University's dime while employed. Flexible schedule.

    Cons

    Pay is not great, sometimes you have to work a lot of weekends during busy seasons. Not a lot of guidance when starting.

    Continue reading
    Clemson University2019-09-11
  9. "Loved it! Grew so much as a person"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Resident Assistant in Clemson, SC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Clemson University part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Had an amazing experience as an RA with Clemson Housing & Dining. I grew so much as a person individually and also met so many amazing people along the way.

    Cons

    It takes A LOT of time to do a good job.

    Continue reading
    Clemson University2019-09-10
  10. "Graduate Research Assistant job review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graduate Research Assistant 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Clemson University part-time

    Pros

    Great working environment with many opportunities to work on exciting innovations.

    Cons

    Not so great health insurance options for graduate students

    Clemson University2019-09-04
Found 598 reviews