Cleveland Construction Reviews | Glassdoor

Cleveland Construction Reviews

Updated Sep 6, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

4.1
83%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
Cleveland Construction CEO Richard G. Small (no image)
Richard G. Small
8 Ratings
  1. "GREAT COMPANY"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cleveland Construction full-time

    Pros

    *Great work atmosphere. *Work office outings. *Willing to teach. *Competitive pay. *Understanding *Family oriented

    Cons

    No cons. It's up to you to learn & keep the position hired for.

    Cleveland Construction2018-03-23
  2. "Carpenters apprentice"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Journeyman Carpenter in Westerville, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cleveland Construction for more than 3 years

    Pros

    All about there employees

    Cons

    Traveling lots of time away from home

    Cleveland Construction2018-09-07
  3. "SVP"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Director in Mentor, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Cleveland Construction full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Autonomy, CO-workers, Location, Industry,constant change and challenges

    Cons

    Overtime, Always available, Lack of respect, Decision capabilities within company

    Cleveland Construction2018-05-02
  4. "Good advancement Opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cleveland Construction full-time

    Pros

    It is an industry to have a career not just a job.

    Cons

    There are cons at any place you decide to work.

    Cleveland Construction2018-04-30
  5. "Estimator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Cleveland Construction full-time

    Pros

    Free stuff, friendly coworkers, a lot of downtime.

    Cons

    Poor management, a lot of big heads, no job security (5 or 6 positions were vacated and filled within the first 6 months I was there), job description wasn't correct (estimator is more like a telemarketer), requires a lot of travel with not a lot of compensation (cheap flights, cheap hotels), high stress environment

    Cleveland Construction2018-04-17
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Your Opportunities Are Unlimited"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - PM/Estimating in Columbus, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cleveland Construction full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Richard Small, the original CEO and founder of Cleveland Construction was a person that I am honored to have had the opportunity to meet and call my friend. His vision for the company was no less then he was, GRAND, he wanted Cleveland Construction to become the largest drywall contractor in the United States in a short order. That vision was achieved. He is deeply missed by all who really knew him. I started working in my father's business in New Orleans, Louisiana as a Lather apprentice in 1965. It is here that I learned my trade, how men work and how they worked even harder at not working. I gained management experience working for John Thomson & Son in Miami, New Orleans Plastering Company for the Bolton family, Aetna Drywall in Ft. Lauderdale for Robert Watkins, Design Construct Systems Corporation in New Orleans, Precision Walls in Orlando and Cleveland Construction in Orlando, Cleveland, Charlotte, Cincinnati and now in Columbus. With my 53 years of continuous experience both working in the field and running offices, I can step back and see how most decisions effect owners, management, office staffs and the field. I have been with Cleveland Construction for the past 20 years during which I have held the duties of Office Manager, Project Manager, Estimator and Fireman. Cleveland Construction and Small Brothers (owners) is a great and wonderful company to work for. They and their father have always made me feel more as a friend than an employee. The company has provided the opportunity to learn, grow and experience things that most interior companies cannot afford to provide its workers. Cleveland Construction offers people the opportunity to start wherever their skill allows and provided the tools necessary for you to climb the ladder to your maximum limits. Whatever they may be. The salaries and benefits they offer are in most cases better than most other companies. I have seen some reviews here talking about traveling. Yes, you will travel a lot, as they are a National Interior Contractor and a rapidly growing National General Contractor. Your growth opportunities with Cleveland Construction can only be matched by a few other Large National Contractors. Because of the financial strength and planned future of Cleveland Construction you can start as an apprentice and retire near the top of your field without changing jobs to achieve your goals. ps - Traveling is not a bad thing, it allows you to gain knowledge of how other locations do things which may sometimes be better than how you presently do things. It's called learning and learning can only help your value to the company rise.

    Cons

    To tell the truth, after 20 years there is not really an important issue that I can call a CON. If you are looking for a career - "YOU HAVE FOUND IT" - They can only provide the door. it is up to you to walk through and learn.

    Continue reading
    Cleveland Construction2018-02-22
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Mason, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cleveland Construction full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    I love that the company is paid weekly. It is very family oriented and everyone is treated with respect. The office definitely jokes around but at the same time gets their work done. It's nice to work somewhere where everyone gets along and if there is an issue, there is not beating around the bush; it's straight forward.

    Cons

    Dental insurance is ehh okay

    Continue reading
    Cleveland Construction2018-02-21
  8. "Great Work Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Office Personnel in Cincinnati, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cleveland Construction full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I have worked for the company for more than 5 years, and it is always a positive environment in the office. We build each other up and help each other out. As long as you have a good work ethic, and are motivated there are many positions to grow within the company.

    Cons

    I have none at this time.

    Cleveland Construction2018-02-21
  9. "Project Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Columbus, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cleveland Construction full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Very competitive salary. Good health and dental coverage at very reasonable rates. Decent time-off annually.

    Cons

    Location - Ohio... I guess this could, however, be a pro to some.

    Cleveland Construction2018-02-21
  10. "Excellent Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Office Personnel in Cincinnati, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Cleveland Construction full-time

    Pros

    It is an extremely pleasant work environment with a lot of mutual respect. This makes each work day enjoyable, with generally positive attitudes all around. There is always something new you can learn to improve yourself. Pay is weekly and benefits are great.

    Cons

    None in my personal experience

    Continue reading
    Cleveland Construction2018-02-21
Found 17 reviews