Clever Reviews | Glassdoor

Clever Reviews

Updated Jul 26, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 38 reviews

4.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
96%
Recommend to a Friend
97%
Approve of CEO
Tyler Bosmeny
26 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Clever is the best place I've worked over 12 years across 5 companies"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Development 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Clever full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Incredibly positive, warm, welcoming culture Great founders who are, among other things, very good at hiring stellar, experienced executives The chance to impact 50% of all US students through a platform with huge reach Smartest, most creative team in K12 edtech Internal mobility and career growth has been good to date Good work/life balance

    Cons

    Unclear exit strategy or timeline Clever is somewhat unique among K12 edtech startups in that it has found a real revenue-generating business, in addition to a huge network; at the same time, it has not yet cracked the next level of revenue growth

    Clever2019-07-27
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Best company culture I've ever seen!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Clever full-time

    Pros

    I truly loved (almost) everything about my time at Clever. The people who make up the company are truly genuine, hardworking, collaborative, and believe in the mission of democratizing access to technology for all students. I would have stayed forever if I had worked in any other role!

    Cons

    My department had some leadership challenges, which meant almost the whole department turned over in a year. I believe that ship has since been righted, but that was the big con for me.

    Clever2019-05-28
  3. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Clever part-time

    Pros

    Loved it, great community to work in.

    Cons

    None, it was all good.

    Clever2019-03-26
  4. Helpful (5)

    "The best edtech company, hands down"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - PM Lead in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Clever full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    + Education is an amazing space to work in, you feel good about everything you work on + Massive scale of impact - over 10% of US K12 students use Clever every day (and growing) + Very thoughtful and intentional culture - everything from the culture tenants to seating arrangements to the order of entrees in the lunch line is thoughtfully done to do best by employees + Everyone who's here is here to help improve education,...

    Show More

    Cons

    - Education isn't a hyper-growth industry, and although Clever is one of the most successful edtech companies ever, it's not doubling in size every 6 months like a scooter rental company. That means you're less likely to skyrocket in title, and you'll spend more time developing expertise in your current role.

    Clever2019-02-20
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Mission driven, people focused, fun and innovative!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Clever full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    + Typical start-up perks -- catered lunch every day, unlimited snacks, open floor plan + Good benefits including a professional development budget, unlimited Amazon learning credits, health & wellness activities, unlimited PTO, and much more + Culture and community is a very important element of Clever's foundation Everyone here is united around a mission of improving the K-12 education experience; but more...

    Show More

    Cons

    - No 401k employee match - Neighborhood is not the best - Room for growth in terms of promotional movement within the company - Very young company, (we're making strides in hiring more experienced leaders)

    Advice to Management

    I'd like to see more women and people of color in the executive positions.

    Clever2019-02-25
  6. Helpful (4)

    "One of the best company cultures and professional development experiences"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Clever full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    the 3 founders haven't sold out foster a great work environment, lots of company events social outreach programs and positive impact in our community fantastic perks and benefits plenty of opportunities to grow at a ed-tech company open PTO A-grade hiring safe rides program management cares about personal development

    Cons

    8th and mission in sf isn't a great block, safety is a concern, but Clever covers that with their safe rides program and a secure building.

    Advice to Management

    I've worked at a couple start-ups in the Bay Area, and Clever is definitely one of the more fun and organized ones out there. As an engineer, documentation and collaboration is key, and Clever does this well. There is a real sense of togetherness, respect and gratitude around Clever. Keep up the good work!

    Clever2019-02-19
  7. "Great culture and mission"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Clever full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    + Helping bring technology to classroom learning is very fulfilling + Working with smart people who are passionate about what they do and want to make things better each day + Camp Clever - three days of professional learning and team bonding in a beautiful outdoor environment + Free lunches, lots of celebrations and recognition of accomplishments + Beautiful office environment + Unlimited vacation time

    Cons

    - Not that flexible on remote working

    Clever2019-02-26
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Best place I've ever worked"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Clever full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -strongest culture of any organization I have worked for. Clever has a culture of learning, innovation, and social connection to education and our mission. -excellent strategic vision as a company - I feel very confident in Clever's future -benefit of working for a company that is in more than 60% of schools gives me the ability to get a macro-level view of education at scale in the US -great executive team and leadership...

    Show More

    Cons

    -like many fast-paced start-ups in the Bay, we could benefit from improving our retention levels of younger employees, and should continue to build strong career pathways in all departments

    Advice to Management

    -Keep up the transparency, rigor, and investment in your people! These efforts have really paid off and made Clever an incredible place to work.

    Clever2019-02-19
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Working to change education in an engaging/fun work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Success Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Clever full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Startup environment - opportunity wherever you seek it to gain new skills and find new ways to add value -Flat org structure with abundant opportunities to take ownership in your role and solve interesting problems -Leadership listens openly to feedback has taken substantive measures to create structures for career growth/support -Working on a product that improves the way public schools operate -Transparent organization...

    Show More

    Cons

    -Some lack of structure in workflows due to pace of work and high level of cross-team collaboration - Some lack of experience due to high growth and young teams (but also means lots of opportunity)

    Advice to Management

    Continue to foster a collaborative environment that values doing the extra credit, asking good tough questions, and keep recognizing valuable work and contributions from individuals regardless of rank.

    Clever2019-02-19
  10. Helpful (2)

    "A Great Place for the Mission Oriented"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Solutions Representative in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Clever full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The people and culture are absolutely fantastic. It's a treat to come to work every day to be surrounded by such smart people. Senior management strongly believes in transparency, which makes expectation setting so much easier. I and others on my team have also been given numerous opportunities to explore other parts of the company which has been super exciting. Overall, it's by far the best place I've worked.

    Cons

    Sometimes things feel a little bit clicky, but as more time has passed in my role, those walls start to come down. 401k doesn't have matching (which is understandable for a start-up). Movement between different level is confusing and I honestly couldn't tell you what I need to do to get a promotion.

    Advice to Management

    Make paths promotions more clear to ICs and keep up the great work!

    Clever2019-02-19
Found 38 reviews