Clevertech Reviews

Updated Apr 30, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
4.2
79%
Recommend to a Friend
82%
Approve of CEO
Clevertech Founder Kuty Shalev (no image)
Kuty Shalev
77 Ratings
Pros
  • "Remote work -- is always a plus to work from whenever you want in the world(in 26 reviews)

  • "Interesting projects with real-world implications(in 15 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Remote work is not for everybody(in 19 reviews)

  • "Every employee is a B2B contractor, so there's no benefits(in 7 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      If you like remote this is the place.

      Apr 30, 2021 - Lead Software Developer in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Remote friendly company with plenty of employee freedom. They include a yearly fund for improving your home office.

      Cons

      Self starters only. If you can't talk to a client and ferret out your own work this isn't for you. No benefits, you'll have to set those up on your own.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      If you're looking for a company that really is a community, this is the place

      Apr 27, 2021 - Business Team 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -A lot of autonomy when it comes to taking control of your work and tools you use -Amazing co-workers, globally dispersed -Direct line to Executives if you need something (no jumping through a million hoops to have a convo with the CEO) -Non-traditional benefits like the $1200/year Personal Development Fund -Lots of surprise and delight moments like company Swag (not just your average pens and notebooks, name brand designer pieces), Clevertech Night Out, and more -Tight knit team with lots of team-building experiences organized by Clevertech to help foster the community here. -Top notch clients, solving impactful things

      Cons

      -It's up to you to set boundaries on your workday. If you're working extra hours, you may need to ask yourself if you're lacking in efficiency somewhere. No one is going to hold your hand and tell you to log off your computer at a certain time -COVID has halted company travel which can be fun to be able to get together in person with your project teams and collaborate. Hopefully this changes soon

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great culture, invests in your development, fast-paced environment

      Apr 28, 2021 - People and Culture in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -flexible work times, fully remote -they invest in your learning and development -fast-paced environment

      Cons

      -they are a company scaling quickly, you need to be willing and comfortable with adapting to change often

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great Culture

      Mar 31, 2021 - Organizational Development Specialist 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Leadership really cares about their people, the development of their teams, and the culture of the company. -100% remote -Flexible/reasonable work hours -Ability to be creative

      Cons

      -Haven't found any cons yet

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Never work here if you have options

      Jul 3, 2020 - Senior Software Engineer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      CT hires highly competent people. Most projects are ambitious and cool. Minimal contact with the owners (they don't even know people's names!)

      Cons

      The worst employer I've ever had - they poise themselves as a company, but only so people don't think of them as a short-term gig consultancy - which is what they are. Projects are severely understaffed, lack DevOps infrastructure to scale, and do not have dedicated design / product / QA staff. Turnover is incredibly high due to low compensation and the lack of insulation between engineers and the client. There's a lot of pivoting (even for an agency), which makes 1 week sprints difficult and burns most employees out. Few last over 6 months. Terrible compensation and no benefits. Blame culture is highly prevalent here and the owners come across as sociopaths. You're a cog in a wheel, without technical oversight. US: CT does corp-to-corp only to avoid liability, meaning you'll have to create your own company and pay more in taxes (~15%). No unemployment insurance which is a big deal because great people are fired ALL the time. International: You practically need 6-8 hours of overlap time, no "flex" like CT may claim. Many of my colleagues started working at 2/3am local time.

      Continue reading
      29 people found this review helpful

      Clevertech Response

      Founder

      Thanks for your feedback. I'm glad to hear that your experience was with competent co-workers and had ambitious projects. Also, its good to hear that you did not experience micro-management by the owners. I'm not sure at what time you worked here, but as of June 30, 2020 Clevertech had approximately 180 developers. Among them over 10 are in the devops role, and we have another 14 in product/qa/design. Turnover is something we keep close tabs on and we have added and continue to add a variety of benefits all themed for the remote-first group we have at Clevertech. These benefits are listed at https://www.clevertech.biz/careers We look to form long term relationships. And over 1/3 of the current staff at Clevertech have been with us at least two years and many over five years. US: We do work corp to corp often and that is a win-win. Liability is very much a non-issue. The benefits, especially for remote workers is the ability to write off business expenses. International: We are quite clear about needing six hours of overlap with the client time zone. This does mean that there are some developers who are in western europe that start at 2pm and work until 10pm. And unlike many 'agencies' we do not require clocking-in or out. Nor do we require filling in time sheets. So many developers find it much easier to take an hour or two to pickup kids, attend a performance or just take a good walk when the sun is just right.

    6. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Good place to work remotely

      Feb 4, 2021 - Senior Javascript Developer in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Remote work, good atmosphere, pleasent directorship!

      Cons

      Sometimes need to work for really bad clients

      3 people found this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Remote First, Interesting Work, Great Culture, Great People, Fast-Paced

      Apr 20, 2020 - Human Resources and Recruiting Specialist in Ithaca, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Clevertech is an amazing company. They are always innovating their process and are unique in the way they approach their work. They care deeply about what they do and the people they do it with. I first found Clevertech through needing a remote job, and I am so glad I did! They value culture and they value being masters at what they do. I did not think it was possible for work to be this engaging, challenging, and fast-paced and I love that! I would highly encourage anyone to apply!

      Cons

      I would say that you need to be someone who enjoys a fast-paced work environment to thrive here, and you also need to be someone who enjoys working hard at what you do. They also typically pay less than other companies who hire a traditional workforce but this is because there are many advantages financially to being remote such as not having to live downtown or pay for a commute, etc.

      4 people found this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Years in, still loving it

      Oct 21, 2019 - Tech Lead in Holyoke, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      * Fully remote-first -- the company is built from the ground up to support remote workers * Lots of special events to reward developers * Lots of training events, especially leadership and skill-sharing * Flexible schedules (varies by project) * Value-driven as opposed to politics driven -- if you're delivering value for the client, you're doing a good job. * Awesome projects -- not simply a WordPress or Drupal mill. Clevertech builds and maintains enterprise-grade web applications from the ground up with expert full-stack developers. * Easy communication channels with management

      Cons

      * Less structure than an in-office sort-of-deal * Less hand-holding. You're expected to know your stuff and to ask lots of questions

      Continue reading
      12 people found this review helpful
    9. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Flexible, but Terribly Managed

      Jun 15, 2020 - Software Engineer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Flexible hours and a diverse team

      Cons

      - You never know when you will be fired (CTO randomly fires people) - Projects are managed poorly - Main CTO does not care, rushes conversations with team members and clients - You are paid as a contractor, but treated like an employee with low benefits - Devops is pretty poor

      Continue reading
      22 people found this review helpful

      Clevertech Response

      Founder

      Thanks for your feedback. We are proud to have satisfied clients and projects with us for many years. I'm sorry to hear that you had a situation where a project did not go the way you expected. I'm glad to hear that the flexible hours and diverse team was beneficial to you.

    10. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Freedom, mastery, and purpose

      May 25, 2020 - Technical Lead 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      CT is a great place to work. Lots of smart people; super low overhead; candid feedback.

      Cons

      Career path fuzzy. Communication with management not the best.

      1 person found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 93 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Clevertech Job Seekers

    Senior Software Engineer
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Senior Java/Spring Developer
    Learn About the Job

    Work at Clevertech? Share Your Experiences

    Clevertech logo
    or