Clevertech "remote work" Reviews | Glassdoor

Clevertech Employee Reviews about "remote work"

Updated Oct 30, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
76%
Recommend to a Friend
75%
Approve of CEO
Clevertech Founder Kuty Shalev (no image)
Kuty Shalev
71 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "this is not a con of CT itself, but of the remote work style(in 18 reviews)

  • "No benefits usual for non-remote companies, like medical insurance (for USA), gym, cafeteria or corporate parties(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "remote work"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (11)

    "Great Company, Top Talent, Fantastic Remote-First Employer, Challenging Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Tech Lead 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Clevertech full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I have worked remotely for over 15 years. Clevertech does this style of work better than any company I've worked with in the past. Clevertech is a great place to work for many reasons: Remote! (if that is your thing) Management trusts their employees. Management is engaged with the employees Management invests in their employees. Management is genuinely interested in their employees' happiness. Very competitive salaries. Good benefits package. Fairly flexible schedule ... within reason. You are part of a high-talent team. Interesting projects. Work with top talent from around the world.

    Cons

    Remote work is not for everybody. Generally, you need to be a self-starter, good with remote communication tools, fairly organized, and occasionally available to work odd hours due to the worldwide team structure. These aren't really what I consider cons, but you need to make sure working remotely fits your MO.

    Continue reading
    Clevertech2019-01-01
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Freelance agency style"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Full Stack Developer 
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Clevertech full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - remote work - quality projects with interesting tech - great for people accustomed to freelancing: no need to seek out clients - competent and experienced folks on staff if you can find them on slack

    Cons

    - teams work in silos - basically working as temps, little connection to overall organization - need to set up a business for the business to business relationship - you won't feel like an employee; more like you're working for an agency

    Continue reading
    Clevertech2019-10-30
  3. Helpful (18)

    "If you want to get pay what you are not worth, this is the place to be"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Javascript Engineer in Remote, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Clevertech full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Work remote and that's about it

    Cons

    A lot of work, a lot of stress, bad benefits, bad pay. Their developers aren't starts liek they think they are.

    Clevertech2019-02-15
  4. Helpful (5)

    "Unique sense of team!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Talent Acquisition Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Clevertech full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Work from wherever you want, with the freedom to work how you want. - Incredibly responsive management team (I've never seen a team move so quickly on feedback from staff). - Not the lonely island remote work vibe, every person on the team actually wants to be a part of a team and puts in the effort to create that environment with enthusiasm. - Management actually values your opinions and ideas - Plenty of opportunity for professional AND personal growth.

    Cons

    - If you struggle with time management, it may not be the place for you. The company puts a lot of trust in those they hire, therefore, you need to be someone that can manage their responsibilities without constant oversight.

    Continue reading
    Clevertech2018-10-16
  5. Helpful (7)

    "Truly a wonderful place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Android Developer in South Florida, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Clevertech full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The list of 'Pros' is endless. As a single parent, in a city with horrific traffic, I truly appreciate the ability to work remotely. The culture is great, my colleagues are top-notch.

    Cons

    Working remotely does remove many of the socialization aspects of being onsite yet, Clevertech does a great deal to combat this through having a great culture. Additionally, if you need supervision or consider your somewhat dependent then you may struggle with being responsible for your time and output but, as a part of Clevertech you have access to a very large network of experts than can lend a hand.

    Continue reading
    Clevertech2018-09-12
  6. Helpful (56)

    "Do Not Recommend"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Clevertech full-time

    Pros

    The benefits of remote work are unbeatable

    Cons

    -It is not a coincidence that most reviews are consistently about negative experiences with the CEO -Employees are encouraged to positively review the company and up-vote other positive reviews. Unsure if they are given any incentive to do so.

    Clevertech2018-09-15

    Clevertech Response

    September 18, 2018Founder

    Thanks for your feedback. We certainly ask for glassdoor reviews from all our people and very careful to ask for a review without influence. We believe its important for us to hear and respond to constructive feedback and have both anonymous and direct feedback tools. I'm glad to hear that the remote work is a real benefit to you.

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (40)

    "If you are capable - this is the company for you"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Clevertech full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - All the known advantages of remote work - Senior management is clearly working hard to find and retain quality people. You'll realize after the first week that you are among a real nice and quality group of people - Communication lines (particularly Slack) are open and you can easily interact with your peers and management all the way to the CEO. - A large number of interesting projects with an emphasis on the latest, coolest, technologies. Check out their job postings. - My key observation: the company is about delivering value to its customers. It depends on developers who can create such value working independently, at a steady pace, per project plans. If you can play in this arena as a self motivated developer that can add value , you will be GOLDEN. You will be offered super interesting projects and will find opportunities for career and financial advancement. - I actually like the diversity of the staff. I have worked with people from all over the world, I have learned about many religions (who said you cannot take vacation? ) and found many tour destinations just chatting with colleagues. - You will learn a tremendous amount (this is also a Con if you are not a fast learner)

    Cons

    - If you are not ready to take the personal move into this new service economy, don't. Clevertech is not an old style company with remote employees. - You need to be willing to self motivate and realize that results matter. If all you do is sell the company your hours, you will not fit in. - You are in a competitive industry. Your job security depends on your attractiveness. If you deliver value, you'll stay forever. If not, talk it out, Clevertech is sizable and can find you a more suitable project. But if you cannot find an assignment where you deliver value, you are at risk of being let go.

    Continue reading
    Clevertech2018-02-27
  8. Helpful (64)

    "STAY AWAY!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Clevertech

    Pros

    Working remotely was the only attractive thing about this company. They say "flexible environment," but really not the case considering they need you to work 9-5 EST only.

    Cons

    - The worst one...The CEO will be DOWN YOUR THROAT, watching your every move and stalking your calendar. If you don't respond to pings within a minute, expect a ??? where are you?. He will drain all of your energy from you. I would rather a commute to an office than deal with him.

    Clevertech2018-05-09

    Clevertech Response

    June 5, 2018Founder

    Sorry to hear you did not have the flexibility you expected. Clevertech requires that developers are available for 6 hours overlap with EST time zone. We also respect developer flow and have our own "flow" icon in slack so when a developer is attempting to get in flow the rest of the team knows to only interrupt if it important. Clevertech expect professional behavior from our developers and act professionally ourselves. This means we do not ask for time sheets, or any spy software on developer machines. On the other hand, we do expect that during the work hours we can communicate either on slack or a zoom call.

    Continue reading
  9. "Cool concept, badly executed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Senior Developer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Clevertech for more than a year

    Pros

    You're allowed to work remote. Not too many meetings.

    Cons

    1) The pay is well below market rates. For a company that has almost zero overhead, they don't pay for office space, pay for equipment, or give any benefits, they underpay their employees significantly. 2) They expect their developers to not only act as a developer who implements the work, but to also manage the client themselves. You are both a project manager and a developer. 3) There is an expectation to submit daily updates to both management and the clients. This doesn't follow Agile practices at all. If anything there should be a single daily scrum with the client and that is all.

    Continue reading
    Clevertech2018-01-18

    Clevertech Response

    March 13, 2018Founder

    Sorry to hear that you were dissatisfied with the level of support you expected. Thank you for taking the time to give us your honest feedback! We care deeply about our people and our client and go above and beyond to create satisfaction for both. We are always working to improve and create an exceptional experience with exceptional people. —Your friends at Clevertech

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (9)

    "Client Services"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Clevertech full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I've been working at CleverTech since 2016. I find that this is an excellent place to work that provides me with the flexibility of a remote work environment while maintaining the professionalism of any corporate job. For me the work week is always different with new and exciting challenges ahead. I get the opportunity to engage with people from all over the world on various different projects. Who else can say they have a meeting that features coworkers from so many different places? In addition to the many things I love about working here I find that the company culture also is very rewarding. There are constant things going on to keep everyone engaged, some that come to mind are CleverTalks, a recent secret snowflake (santa) holiday swap, Swag store, Weekly Trivia Quizzes, Newsletters and company wide quarterly meetings. Things move fast here at CleverTech and being able to adapt to that is important. Once you get in the door you see the very white glove approach to clients and their various projects. First class in developers and clients alike.

    Cons

    One of the only cons I find is that because we work remotely you miss out on the camaraderie of seeing your team members day in and day out. Regardless of this "con" the entire company thrives off a remote first environment and I am constantly impressed with the internal people ops team and their efforts to make the world a smaller place.

    Continue reading
    Clevertech2017-01-16

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 32 reviews