KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Clif Bar

Is this your company?

Clif Bar

Add a Review

Clif Bar Reviews

Updated Nov 19, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 165 of over 191 reviews

3.6
61%
Recommend to a Friend
66%
Approve of CEO
Clif Bar CEO Sally Grimes
Sally Grimes
31 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great Place to Work, Great Benefits, Amazing Culture(in 17 reviews)

  • "Great Culture, Great Work Life Balance(in 16 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Slow to make decisions, innovation seems to be slowing, salaries low(in 7 reviews)

  • "Respect, communication, opportunities for advancement are small(in 3 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Clif Bar and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Values-driven and family-friendly workplace

      Nov 15, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in Emeryville, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Before joining the company I was worried about some of the recent negative Glassdoor reviews, but I am so glad I decided to join the company. The people at Clif are some of the kindest people I have ever met, and I continue to be impressed by how much the company focuses on our wellbeing. The benefits are top-notch (I am still learning about all the perks the company offers) and are especially great for people looking to start a family or who already have children. From what I've seen so far, the new leadership team is taking a strategic approach to growing the business while staying true to the values that make Clif so special.

      Cons

      Because of the pandemic and change in leadership, there seems to have been some change fatigue. The hardest part of the changes are over, the future vision and strategy are clear, and now we are entering a phase of growth. It's an exciting time to be a part of the company!

      1 person found this review helpful
    2. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Rounding the Corner - Opportunities Ahead

      Nov 19, 2021 - Director 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Clif Bar has come through enormous amounts of change in the past 18 months and is poised to leap frog forward. Our new leadership team of top notch CPG executives, a highly experienced board of directors, and a combination of new and old Clifsters are aligning to move forward together. No doubt, it's been a hard year+ with shifts from COVID, new strategies and an organizational restructure but all of it was necessary to set the company up for the future. Personally I am energized by what is ahead as much as I am proud of where we've come from. Our 5 Aspirations and the amazing people that work here continue to be at the center. I believe our contributions will only get stronger.

      Cons

      Experiencing growing pains as new team members and new executives onboard. Finding our way forward with remote and hybrid work is a challenge but not one unique to Clif.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Heartbreakers - and for what?

      Nov 13, 2021 - Account Executive 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Benefits, coworkers who care about you personally, good hours

      Cons

      As a young, ambitious, LOYAL employee who started within the adjustment of the pandemic, I was looking for direction and chance to grow and better myself as someone new to the workforce. Didn’t even get an end of the year review in 2020. Since we didn’t see raises and bonuses with covid they nixed the process entirely (?) and I had to fight to get any type of formal review, where I could tell where I shined and went above and beyond my job description. This is still something that upsets me as I was part of the layoff - which absolutely gutted me. I mean what a mess. If we had had any sort of formal processes in place, the person who let me go (3 level above me and missing from the day-to-day work) would have understood that for everyone under him, I was being propped up to lead in the next 10 years. Fun fact- my boss didn’t even know I was let go until I told him, lol the disrespect. Honestly now that I have more experience under my belt, I’m glad I’m not still there. The culture was very wholesome but getting good work done takes hard work - not something that we did a lot at Clif lol. Well, I did, but many people weren’t. You could take off “less than half a day” without taking PTO, so people took advantage. You would never schedule a meeting before 10 because that’s just “too early for Clifsters”. And those hour company meetings every Thursday? I’m sorry, but a waste of time - especially since the new board joined it felt inauthentic and sad. My family and friends eat KIND bars now, sorry, not sorry. You broke my heart.

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Former Employee

      Overall a Good Place to Work

      Nov 3, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Incentives, family-oriented, inclusive, benefits, work environment

      Cons

      boring, long work days, repetitive

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Great Company W - With Values You Can Support

      Nov 1, 2021 - Program Wellness Manager in Emeryville, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great company lead by strong company values that are good for the company, employees and the environment.

      Cons

      Going thru growing pains currently

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Former Employee

      Company of Change

      Oct 21, 2021 - Senior Account Manager in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Private, 5 aspirations, Good Culture, Organic, Gives Back, Benefits

      Cons

      Corporate, Untruthful Leadership, Salaries, employee valuation, ability to listen to consumers.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Good Intentions, Faulty Execution

      Nov 2, 2021 - Senior Manager in Emeryville, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Company Values, great co-workers and supportive maternity leave plan, strong new executive team. Company has the potential to be a leader in the category again if it will let experts it hired do their jobs

      Cons

      Little diversity in middle management. Salary, career growth plans, decision making. Senior leadership spends too much time managing up to get promoted leaving their people underneath to work incredibly hard for little recognition

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 8 years

      CLIF Bar

      Oct 4, 2021 - General Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      CLIF truly cares about its employees and is building a legacy brand.

      Cons

      Human Resources does not understand large-scale complexities.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Great to good

      Aug 5, 2021 - Sales 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Clif had some great benefits (generous time off, opportunity to travel, free product) and a great culture focused on doing good and improving the world.

      Cons

      COVID caused a significant challenge to the business which coincided with a new CEO / board and reorg. This also resulted in a hiring freeze which lasted almost a year and a half, and ultimately drove me to leave in search of new opportunities. There was a lot of swirl and changing strategies during the pandemic which made it hard to rally around and look to the future.

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Amazing

      Jul 26, 2021 - Marketing Manager in Emeryville, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great Leadership and environment. The people at clif are truly one of a kind.

      Cons

      Leadership is slow to react to trends and recognize when something is more than a trend.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 165 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Clif Bar Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Clif Bar? Share Your Experiences

    or