Clif Bar Reviews | Glassdoor

Clif Bar Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 80 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
69%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
Clif Bar CEO Kevin Cleary
Kevin Cleary
28 Ratings
  1. "Love working here!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Clif Bar full-time

    Pros

    - Incredibly Supportive - Managers encourage independence and creativity in decision making - Work Life Balance! - Benefits are great

    Cons

    I do not have any

    Clif Bar2019-05-07
  2. "Great environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Assistant in Boulder, CO
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Clif Bar part-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Pay, hours, flexibility, environment, people

    Cons

    Respect, communication, opportunities for advancement are small

    Clif Bar2019-05-01
  3. "Great Company, lots of potential unrealized"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Clif Bar full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Excellent benefits and great co-workers 5 aspirations business is truly unique Volunteer and wellness opportunities are encouraged People genuinely welcome you and are supportive You can make an actual impact on local communities and planet

    Cons

    Old guard needs a shake up. Little to no growth opportunities Marketing teams are siloed and inefficient Lots of promotions within upper mgmt but not lower roles

    Advice to Management

    Management needs to be subject to review. Way too many top down decisions, listen to your youth and be comfortable empowering them. CLIF HQ can be an echo chamber, build teams and receive insights beyond your walls to really go out on the white road.

    Clif Bar2019-04-06
  4. "Great Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Analyst 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Clif Bar full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Amazing culture and people. Low stress, everyone knows their stuff and is helpful.

    Cons

    Salary can be below average but there is a nice bonus. Too much group think at times and it feels like they only hire "Clif" people.

    Clif Bar2019-03-08
  5. "Most fulfilling place to work and best organization I have ever been a part of"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Systems Analyst in Twin Falls, ID
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Clif Bar full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Top talent on every team, amazing benefits, company culture far exceeds any other job I have had, excellent outlook on society and community

    Cons

    Dynamic manufacturing faculty with 4 shifts makes it difficult to keep a consistent message and morale across the entire Bakery

    Advice to Management

    Create more liaisons on night shifts that drive action related to the people aspiration of our company!

    Clif Bar2019-02-27
  6. "Undisclosed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Indianapolis, IN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Clif Bar full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    The company has great benefits

    Cons

    Long shifts and weekends when you’re on production shift- The right hand often seemed to not know what the left hand was doing- I often thought “who runs this place?” They’ve been a copacker- but recently took over this bakery themselves and it’s messy. I hope it’s just growing pains, but I hope they figure it out soon. High turnover rate.

    Advice to Management

    Engage more with your folks on the production floor - they’re your hands and feet and probably have some pretty valuable input. Don’t let your ego get in the way and brush them off.

    Clif Bar2019-02-06
  7. Helpful (4)

    "Senior Leaderships needs to be subject to reviews"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Undisclosed in Emeryville, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Clif Bar full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    good benefits and nice people

    Cons

    Clif needs to grow up. The senior leadership does not get reviewed so there are many people in positions who are not capable of doing their jobs. I see that people who are actually competent get stuck doing all of the work in their respective departments. It's a huge problem.

    Advice to Management

    You really need to have a two-way review process. It's unbelievable that you allow management to review down but down allow people to review the management. The old guard needs to move on so that Clif can actually innovate and grow.

    Clif Bar2019-01-28
  8. "Dream Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Field Marketing Manager 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Clif Bar full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Founders and CEOs Gary and Kit are absolutely incredible humans who I am so grateful to work for -Clif truly cares about their employees -Clif truly cares about the environment and sustainable business practices -Clif is a family and employee owned company -Clif benefits and incentives are insanely good- Anything health and wellness related they provide stipends for- Gym memberships, commuter bike etc. -Clif employees...

    Show More

    Cons

    -I do not work in the office, but that is just the nature of my specific remote job

    Advice to Management

    -My on-boarding and training was a little less structured than I'm used to so it felt a little unsteady to me, but that could be because I am from very rigid "by the book" large companies. It would have been nice to be in office longer than one day so I could have met more people that I will be working with remotely, but I still felt like I got most of the information I needed in one day. -Keep it up! You are all...

    Show More
    Clif Bar2019-01-24
  9. "Great Co"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Clif Bar full-time

    Pros

    Incredible people and culture who are Passionate about what they do

    Cons

    Hard to navigate and not a lot of room for career growth

    Clif Bar2019-01-09
  10. "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Clif Bar full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great culture, feel empowered and have a lot of opportunity to shape/define the future.

    Cons

    None that I can see!

    Clif Bar2018-12-14
Found 80 reviews