Clif Bar Reviews | Glassdoor

Clif Bar Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 80 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
69%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
Clif Bar CEO Kevin Cleary
Kevin Cleary
28 Ratings
  1. "Awesome Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Clif Bar full-time

    Pros

    Best thing about Clif is its awesome company culture. It's rare to come across a company so invested in its people and its people reciprocate with equal investment in the company and its success. Really a fantastic place to work.

    Cons

    I haven't come across any major cons working here.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to keep our five aspirations top of mind with every decision we make.

    Clif Bar2017-03-03
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Very diverse, long hours, management seems to show a lot of favoritism and will terminate you if you don't go along."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Production Operator in Indianapolis, IN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Clif Bar full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Descent pay and benefits. Most people seem too work great together even with the terrible language barrier. They give you a lot of t-shirts.

    Cons

    Management is not understanding at all. They use a lot of intimidating tactics to scare the workers, especially the ones with language barriers. 12 hours of work is also hard on family.

    Advice to Management

    Investigate all situations, don't judge people just because you don't like them or somebody else doesn't like them, especially when they do good work. Hire management that is professional in all aspects. Management seems to lack professionalism. None of them follow rules and they are suppose to lead by example. No respect!!!

    Clif Bar2017-04-06
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Just bars"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Clif Bar full-time

    Pros

    Good benefits, family and employee owned

    Cons

    Limited scope of products, lack of diversity of thought

    Clif Bar2017-03-11
  4. "Excellent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Clif Bar full-time

      Pros

      Amazing culture, benefits and people

      Cons

      none... keep doing your thing...

      Clif Bar2017-02-08
    • Helpful (1)

      "Values Driven"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Clif Bar for more than 4 years

      Pros

      People enjoy their work and take time to get to know each other. Feels like a community.

      Cons

      Processes and systems need to keep pace with growth and change of business. But its part of our strategies so it's getting better

      Clif Bar2017-01-08
    • Helpful (4)

      "Great company with some management issues"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Clif Bar full-time

      Pros

      - Amazing People - Great benefits - Ethical company

      Cons

      - Leadership team gets in the way - Lack of empowerment

      Advice to Management

      Trust your employees to make decisions at the appropriate level

      Clif Bar2016-12-21
    • Helpful (2)

      "Clif bar"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Clif Bar full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      Great company to work for

      Cons

      Working graveyard is hard with a family

      Advice to Management

      Work life balance is impossible on graveyard

      Clif Bar2016-12-15
    • "Incredible company!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Clif Bar

      Pros

      Great people, incredible interview process, thorough processes and knowledgeable staff!

      Cons

      None that I can even think of

      Clif Bar2016-10-25
    • Helpful (1)

      "Staying True and Authentic"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Emeryville, CA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Clif Bar full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      I love working at Clif Bar! After years spent in Corporate America it is so refreshing to be here. Is it perfect, no, but it's real. Great people, low bureaucracy, focus on giving back and doing the right thing. You feel proud to work here. And tons of fun events through the year to connect you to the bigger company. Great perks that are embedded in the culture all called out below.

      Cons

      As the company grows, senior leadership needs to find a way to spread out decision making and pull up. Growth opportunities can be challenging given its a smallish company.

      Advice to Management

      Stay true to what makes us special but trust those below you to do the right thing.

      Clif Bar2016-10-21
    • Helpful (5)

      "Be careful"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Maintenance Supervisor in Indianapolis, IN
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook

      I worked at Clif Bar full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      Take as much home as you want.

      Cons

      Upper management really have no clue on how to run a company. Turnover rate started to get high as soon as Conagra left the scene and HR will throw you under the bus any chance they get.

      Advice to Management

      Listen to your people! Not just your yes men.

      Clif Bar2016-10-28
    Found 80 reviews