Clifford Chance Intern Reviews | Glassdoor

Clifford Chance Intern Reviews

Updated Dec 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.0
80%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Clifford Chance Managing Partner Matthew Layton
Matthew Layton
1 Rating
  1. "overall great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Intern - Intern 

    I worked at Clifford Chance for less than a year

    Pros

    great office atmosphere, high profile cases, caring colleagues and mentorship

    Cons

    nothing really... colleagues with very different cultural backgrounds

    Clifford Chance2019-12-18
  2. "Good Intern experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Corporate Finance Intern in Barcelona

    I worked at Clifford Chance for less than a year

    Pros

    Top tier Lawfirm experience, good team, learning experience, workload was fair, good pay

    Cons

    Do not normally hire many of their interns at least in the Spain offices.

    Clifford Chance2019-10-01
  3. "Good atmosphere, significant workload"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Intern in Paris
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Clifford Chance for less than a year

    Pros

    Good atmosphere, intersting and dynamic work

    Cons

    Unpredictable workload and long hours

    Clifford Chance2018-11-23
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Project Finance Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Intern in Paris
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Clifford Chance for less than a year

    Pros

    Great team spirit, mentorship, exciting deals, highly talented and skilled colleagues and workers

    Cons

    Sometimes heavy corporate structure, big firm

    Clifford Chance2018-09-11
  5. "Intern in the Paris office"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Intern in Paris
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Clifford Chance for less than a year

    Pros

    People are great and the company is doing some fantastic work across the world.

    Cons

    There is a hierarchy issue at Clifford Chance. It's a very vertical firm, and I think this results in the firm not being as efficient as it could be.

    Clifford Chance2017-11-20
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to learn"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Intern in Milan
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Clifford Chance for less than a year

    Pros

    Positive and stimulating working environment. Top class colleagues and senior staff eager to spend time to train younger employees.

    Cons

    Hard work, recommended only for truly motivated people

    Clifford Chance2017-08-31
  7. "Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Intern in Paris
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Clifford Chance for less than a year

    Pros

    Great cases and clients, and involved partners.

    Cons

    Less team work than expected. Not enough involvement of interns on interesting work.

    Clifford Chance2017-06-13
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Great experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Intern in Frankfurt am Main
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Clifford Chance

    Pros

    Surrounded by intelligent, motivated fellow interns and colleagues.

    Cons

    You must be quite senior before you are allowed to individualize your office's furniture, seating arrangement etc

    Clifford Chance2016-10-27
  9. "Knowledge Management Internship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Intern in Paris
    Recommends

    I worked at Clifford Chance

    Pros

    great working environment - diverse practices - lawyers are very accessible and very much willing to integrate interns in their research processes - very manageable workload.

    Cons

    Non Flexible work hours - administrative work is a very important part of the intern job - workload is not very regular.

    Advice to Management

    I haven't spent enough time there to be able to judge.

    Clifford Chance2016-02-10
  10. "IT & Knowledge department"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Intern in Milan
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Clifford Chance for less than a year

    Pros

    Friendly environment, full of interesting people who actually care about what you think and do. Top notch work: even as an intern you get to know complex transactions and litigation on a wide range of subjects, from contract law to bankruptcy and employment.

    Cons

    Hours can be long and sometimes people tend to forget teamwork to compete with each other. Too much specialization for trainees from day one.

    Advice to Management

    Improve work-life balance. Improve information sharing among departments and build a real one-team feeling.

    Clifford Chance2015-09-27
Found 11 reviews