Clifford Chance "work environment" Reviews | Glassdoor

Clifford Chance Reviews

Updated Jan 13, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
70%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
Clifford Chance Managing Partner Matthew Layton
Matthew Layton
62 Ratings
  1. "Top Notch Cross-Border Transactions"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Clifford Chance full-time

    Pros

    U.S. lawyers who want exposure to the most sophisticated cross-border transactions should seriously consider Clifford Chance.

    Cons

    Especially given the time zone differences inherent in cross-border work, the job is 24/7/365.

    Clifford Chance2017-08-20
  2. "Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Clifford Chance full-time

    Pros

    Ownership, independence, work life balance compared to other big law firms.

    Cons

    Not enough women at higher levels.

    Advice to Management

    Focus more on women's issues and diversify.

    Clifford Chance2017-08-15
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Associate in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Clifford Chance for less than a year

    Pros

    Nice people and very nice office

    Cons

    work hours and some groups seem busier than others.

    Advice to Management

    Nothing - it is difficult to be a subsidiary of the British mother ship.

    Clifford Chance2017-07-12
  4. "Fine"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Clifford Chance full-time

    Pros

    Corporate work. This site is making me do this to see something on it, I think it's silly

    Cons

    I didn't get kept on after my D.C. Which was annoying but hey! Thanks for all the work. Good friends etc

    Clifford Chance2017-06-20
  5. "Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Clifford Chance full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Interesting work in a cross-border context

    Cons

    Dim prospects for partnership for U.S. associates London office calls the shots for the entire firm Overreliance on financial services clients

    Advice to Management

    Diversify client base beyond financial services firms

    Clifford Chance2017-06-08
  6. "it manger"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
     

    I worked at Clifford Chance

    Pros

    its a great job give nice vavactions benifits

    Cons

    nice to employess and also great with daycare

    Clifford Chance2017-04-07
  7. "Great Firm"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Clifford Chance full-time

    Pros

    Very good firm. Challenging work and fast paced. Offers good opportunities to grow and expand knowledge for those who are qualified, motivated and interested.

    Cons

    Competitive environment with politics that can be counter productive. Some could be more interested in advancing personal agendas or feeding egos than the actual work they are there to do.

    Advice to Management

    There are aspects of the culture that are great and others that are really undesirable. Management must work on this at all levels and across all groups.

    Clifford Chance2017-04-15
  8. "Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Clifford Chance full-time

    Pros

    International opportunities, open-minded colleagues, and subsidized cafeteria.

    Cons

    Interior offices don't have windows.

    Clifford Chance2017-02-26
  9. "I work full time for this company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Clifford Chance full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    High-profile transactions.Great teamwork and workplace.

    Cons

    Long hours (which should be as expected)

    Clifford Chance2017-01-29
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     

    I worked at Clifford Chance

    Pros

    Great company to work for with smart/nice attorneys.

    Cons

    Need more training opportunities for managers.

    Clifford Chance2016-03-29
Found 237 reviews