Clifford Chance "work environment" Reviews | Glassdoor

Clifford Chance Reviews

Updated Jan 17, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
71%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
Clifford Chance Managing Partner Matthew Layton
Matthew Layton
62 Ratings
  1. Helpful (6)

    "There are very few if any benefits to work for Clifford Chance US if you are in any support services roles."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Clifford Chance

    Pros

    I was able to develop my skills so I can now find a job where they value my contributions.

    Cons

    I work in IT and have seen this firm decimated since the Roger Wells merger with Clifford. Every year for the last seven has seen more and more lay offs. After the AMP abdicated power to a London transplant for a COO things have escalated down hill. The London management team continue to communicate and demonstrate their disdain for the US. London refuses to recognize the talent of any staff member that works outside of London. They only hire Directors who are weak then so their is no open discussion or push-back on their decisions -- I'm not even sure our Director knows the difference between a SAN and a fan. Their style of management benefits the weak and underperforming. On the attorney side they drove off all the rain-makers and have been unable to attract any solid laterals. They bled their talent and the only ones left are those that can't find a job any where else.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Respect and value the contributions of all your employees.

    Clifford Chance2009-07-08
  2. Helpful (2)

    "A mega sized company that doesn't really keep track of all its smaller parts."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Legal Assistant. in Washington, DC
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Clifford Chance

    Pros

    An extremely large company with offices in many countries giving some the opportunity to work in other countries. There are many levels of competency so that individuals in the larger offices can "climb the corporate ladder."

    Cons

    They are too large and have lost track of their support staff and how they can contribute to the overall health and wealth of of the company. While always asking for input, the ideas put forth by the staff never seen to come to fruition.

    Advice to Management

    Remember that the company is only as good as its weakest link. Listen to what the individuals have to say and try and answer their concerns in a complete way.

    Clifford Chance2008-12-23
  3. "Good Training"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Clifford Chance full-time

    Pros

    Collegiate culture and strong support

    Cons

    Not matching the market rate

    Clifford Chance2020-01-18
  4. "Great Quality of Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Clifford Chance full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great quality of work Salary

    Cons

    Work life balance was not always very well balanced.

    Clifford Chance2020-01-13
  5. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Legal Assistant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Clifford Chance part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -Friendly people -great environment

    Cons

    -cant think of any at all

    Clifford Chance2020-01-07
  6. "Billing Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Billing Assistant in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Clifford Chance full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It is a large multinational firm

    Cons

    There is a clear ‘sealing’ in terms of career progression

    Clifford Chance2020-01-10
  7. "Good team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Paralegal 
    Recommends

    I worked at Clifford Chance full-time

    Pros

    Excellent facilities, nice team and away trips

    Cons

    Long hours, no progression for paralegals

    Clifford Chance2019-12-12
  8. "Great workplace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Event Coordinator in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Clifford Chance full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Fantastic opportunities, great colleagues, lovely office

    Cons

    Not much possibility of progression sadly

    Clifford Chance2019-11-21
  9. "Good benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Clifford Chance full-time

    Pros

    Good insurance, dinner and cabs home, loads of social events, very friendly culture

    Cons

    Long hours and pay is lower than other magic circle firms

    Clifford Chance2019-11-19
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Work life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Clifford Chance full-time

    Pros

    Good Environment and good work life balance

    Cons

    No cons good company for working

    Clifford Chance2019-11-16
Found 238 reviews