KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Climate

Engaged Employer

Climate

Add a Review

Climate Employee Reviews about "great people"

Updated Jan 28, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 26 of over 246 reviews

3.5
69%
Recommend to a Friend
70%
Approve of CEO
Climate Head of Climate Jeremy Williams
Jeremy Williams
25 Ratings

The latest conversations about Tech

Join the conversation on

Tech

1y

a 

Technical Account Manager

Being a woman in tech, I only recently started advocating for myself at work about advancement opportunities. Because of this I wanted to ask this question to my male counterparts. When you have 1:1's with your direct reports and talk about career growth / aspirations what is your managers’ response typically? I’d like to gauge how my experience (negative) differs from others. For instance are you met with blockades, enthusiasm, dread, etc?

446

62 Comments

Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "The people are great.(in 39 reviews)
  • "Great benefits for full time employees(in 21 reviews)
  • "Great work/life balance(in 14 reviews)
  • "Great office in a good location (3rd and market).(in 9 reviews)
  • "There was free food every day which came from actual restaurants around the Bay Area.(in 7 reviews)
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Climate and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?

Reviews about "great people"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Lots of Change, but overall good company

    Jul 28, 2015 - District Sales Associate in Omaha, NE
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Monsanto backing is a huge plus in this industry. Great flexibility and great people to work with.

    Cons

    There are has been a lot of transition in the last year and not a lot of transparency.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Best Place I Have Ever Worked

    Apr 10, 2014 - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The best thing about working here is the people. They do a great job hiring people with the right skills and the right personality. This really is a collaborative environment, where working with people is essential. There is a lot of knowledge sharing and coaching for new hires. The engineers are some of the best that I have worked with. I have been trying to get some of my former colleagues to join me here. The mission of the company is inspiring. I have worked on making ecommerce sites better so people could shop more and spend more money. Here, we are trying to help farmers protect their profits and to generate the best crop field they can. Makes you want to develop the best product possible. Leadership is solid and visionary. Lots of changes in the past year, and its very exciting. They treat us well by providing time for sprintbatticals, and knowing when its time to celebrate our achievements. The office is great place to work, with a lot of perks like free lunch, dinner, and all the snacks you need. The weekly massages are great for relaxing, and the views are amazing.

    Cons

    Like most technology companies, there are aggressive timelines, so there can be some late nights. Healthcare benefits could be better (cheaper).

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 2.0
    Current Contractor, less than 1 year

    Company in Flux

    Jan 3, 2022 - Senior Software Engineer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great people and team members.

    Cons

    The company is being consumed from the inside out by flesh eating bacteria known as mediocrity as they align themselves with their parent company to use not so sharp tools and languages that serve to impede progress and dumb down the organization. It's sad to witness it, but it probably makes sense as they can no longer attract top talent.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  4. 3.0
    Former Employee

    Overall good

    Sep 30, 2015 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great people working towards a great goal to feed the world. I had the chance to work with some of the most open on honest people in my career and learned a great deal from them.

    Cons

    Like most places I have worked there are communication issues and department feuds. The product itself struggles to live up to the promise.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Great place to work and build your career in many fields of employment.

    Jul 23, 2014 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great group of people working on ambitious goals of changing modern agriculture practices and ag insurance both domestically and internationally. In turn, we want to directly impact and stabilize the global food resources and agronomy practices. It is great to be part of a team working on large scale challenges and as our corporate DNA states, 'finding the possible in the impossible.'

    Cons

    With the amount of projects we are working on the products continually evolve creating new problems and challenges to overcome. Sometimes we solve one only to create another. For problem solvers like myself, I love it. For others it can be a real struggle.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  6. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Getting worse

    Feb 8, 2015 - Anonymous Employee in Seattle, WA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I work in the Seattle office. The people are great. Very smart engineers and scientists wanting to make a difference. People eat lunch together family-style and hang out. People work from home when they have to and are committed to making the company successful. However ...

    Cons

    The company is now distributed across San Francisco, Seattle, St. Louis, Chicago, Peoria, Iowa ... and the company culture is becoming a mishmash of the worst of every one of these places. In terms of speed, it is not an agile Silicon Valley company anymore. More like how fast Monsanto develops software. Things that used to take one day now take 2 weeks. On the other hand, you don't have the quality management that worked its way up the ranks either (unlike the management at Monsanto, Solum, Precision Planting, etc. -- because they all have deep roots in the industry). Instead, you have lots of 25-year olds who have never been on a farm designing products, running divisions and mucking things up. The employees are entitled (like San Francisco) but paid in low-risk stock that pays something even if the company loses money hand over fist (like St. Louis).

    Continue reading
    14 people found this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Great place to work

    Apr 12, 2022 - Manager - Data Science in Seattle, WA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great people and a great mission.

    Cons

    Could use more leadership with tech experience.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Startup Environment & Gaining Scale

    Sep 10, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    At the intersection of data, science, analytics, operations,... and great people!

    Cons

    Need to foster more cross-functional moves.

    7 people found this review helpful
  9. 4.0
    Former Intern, less than 1 year

    Product Management Intern

    Jan 28, 2021 - Product Management 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great people and helpful coworkers

    Cons

    Organization is lacking, structure of company is off

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Current Contractor, less than 1 year

    Forward thinking company and great people

    May 3, 2016 - Anonymous Contractor in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Climate is a great company with people who work hard and care about the business. Wonderful startup atmosphere and innovative thinking. Also - David Friedberg is no longer the CEO. I think Mike Stern is going to make positive changes and is invested in Climate

    Cons

    There have been some growing pains with the company since the acquisition by Monsanto. Definitely a small identity crisis from going from a true startup to an established company, but isn't that to be expected? HR is on their way to cultivating that.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 26 Reviews

Work at Climate? Share Your Experiences

or

Climate Photos

+ Add Photo
Climate photo of: Ag isn't slowing down and neither are we. Farm Managers Josh Dukeman and Adam Baily, practicing responsible #SocialDistancing, are #StillFarming on our Climate Research Farm for our 2020 research tria
Climate photo of: Our recent, annual Climate Team Seattle curling event at Granite Curling Club in Seattle
Climate photo of: Our Science on a Sphere allows us to visualize global data sets. (Star Wars fans rejoice, it also displays the Death Star.)
Climate photo of: Happy Pride 2019, from The Climate Corporation!
Climate photo of: SF Mayor, Ed Lee, stopped by for a tour and Q
Climate photo of: TBT Flashback: Our Seattle Interns enjoy some team building on the water!
Climate photo of: Happy Valentine's Day from Climate!
See All Photos

Affiliated Companies

Bayer Corporation