Clinical Pathology Laboratories Reviews | Glassdoor

Clinical Pathology Laboratories Reviews

Updated Feb 23, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
2.9
41%
Recommend to a Friend
59%
Approve of CEO
Clinical Pathology Laboratories President David Schultz (no image)
David Schultz
59 Ratings
Pros
  • "Pay is decent but you’ll get the lowest raise possible and it will be months after you’re supposed to get it(in 7 reviews)

  • "Interesting clinical cases, overall fun work environment(in 6 reviews)

Cons
  • "Hourly wages aren't competitive to the other major labs on the same scale as CPL(in 8 reviews)

  • "Stressful, busy, too much work and not enough people, incompetent upper management, no room for growth(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great place to grow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Clinical Pathology Laboratories part-time

    Pros

    Supportive people, smart pathologists to learn from

    Cons

    Culture is more like your typical office, nothing wrong with that just no over the top perks

    Clinical Pathology Laboratories2018-08-24
  2. "CPL"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Medical Technologist in Austin, TX

    I have been working at Clinical Pathology Laboratories full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good to get experience working with high volume and different departments

    Cons

    Little to no training you have to figure it out on your own Have been known to fire people over ego Overworked and no appreciation

    Clinical Pathology Laboratories2020-02-23
  3. "Eh it was whatever"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Continuous Improvement Engineer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Clinical Pathology Laboratories full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Learning and exposure. Experience gained.

    Cons

    Better management and actual experienced new hires

    Continue reading
    Clinical Pathology Laboratories2020-01-22
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Data entry department was awful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Clinical Pathology Laboratories

    Pros

    Decent night differential pay Willing to train Weekends off but if you work nights on a Friday you're sleeping all day Saturday so technically not

    Cons

    After training you have to stay past your schedule shift time if the work is not complete Very little room for errors-one misspelling is an automatic write up Repetitive work that feels mindless I didn't feel like I was doing anything efficient, just typing for 8 hours The supervisor doesn't bother getting to know employees, I felt like I was on thin ice the entire time and working with robots Overall not a great atmosphere at all. There's a reason theres a high turnover rate.

    Continue reading
    Clinical Pathology Laboratories2019-11-15
  5. "Working for CPL has allowed for me to learn and gain experience in medical testing industry."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Clinical Pathology Laboratories full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Decent employee benefits offered to all employees.

    Cons

    Pay is not on par with companies that provide the same or similar services.

    Continue reading
    Clinical Pathology Laboratories2019-10-12
  6. "No loyalty to employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Phlebotomist in San Antonio, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Clinical Pathology Laboratories full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    No pros exist at this company.

    Cons

    This company will expect you to put 101% into performing well. As soon as they realize they are compensating the employee for what they are worth, they will lay you off. They would choose to keep the less experienced employees, pay them less and get rid of the employees with excellent patient care and skills. They promote the employees who have no business being in management positions. The management were hourly employees whom had several complaints about them from clients due to lack of knowledge or skill or speaking to people in a unprofessional manner.

    Continue reading
    Clinical Pathology Laboratories2019-11-05
  7. "Could be better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Phlebotomist in Dallas, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Clinical Pathology Laboratories full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    A great group of people. Client services is on top if their game. My supervisor is wonderful and caring. Definitely goes out of her way for her employees also very flexible with employees.

    Cons

    Here are the negatives. Benefits are not cheap by any means, literally unaffordable. Hourly wages aren't competitive to the other major labs on the same scale as CPL. Trying to get a transfer is impossible. I've been waiting over 3 years to be transferred. So I'll be leaving CPL due to this reason. I'm too far from home to keep driving at the rate of pay they give out. And their raises aren't that good either. And they hire new employees at a better pay rate than the ones that have been there the longest. It's true. Turn over rate is high also

    Continue reading
    Clinical Pathology Laboratories2019-10-07
  8. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Phlebotomist in Wichita Falls, TX

    I have been working at Clinical Pathology Laboratories full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Everyone is super helpful and great to work with.

    Cons

    Depending on site, a lot of down time.

    Clinical Pathology Laboratories2019-08-27
  9. "Pretty great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cerified Phlebotomist in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Clinical Pathology Laboratories full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    They will match your pay and great benefits

    Cons

    Only one day of orientation

    Clinical Pathology Laboratories2019-08-13
  10. "Medical Courier"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Courier in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Clinical Pathology Laboratories full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    M-F schedule Drive around town, see different places Ok benefits

    Cons

    Incompetent management - no sense of common sense and are shocked when an avoidable problem occurs due to absurd new policies as of recent Annual raises don’t match the work you put in. About 25-35 cents per year. Management uses fear to “get work done”. Write ups are given out like candies however they seem very inconsistent in that. Do something minor and it’s a write, make a larger mistake and it’s a slap on the wrist. I could go on, the point is this is not the ramblings of a disgruntled employee. Unless you NEED this job in particular STAY AWAY! When I first started id have given this company a 4 star rating easily. It’s gone downhill unfortunately with no end in sight. Nothing but low morals and despair await you.

    Continue reading
    Clinical Pathology Laboratories2019-08-09
Found 189 reviews