Clinique Reviews

Updated Jun 7, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
4.0
81%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
Clinique President & CEO       Fabrizio Freda
Fabrizio Freda
123 Ratings
Pros
  • "Free products and good discount(in 33 reviews)

  • "Great Training and personal Development(in 24 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "They say you'll get a certain % of sales goals but if you make your sales goal which didn't happen offer as targets are too high(in 16 reviews)

  • "Lack of coherent strategy, long hours, disorganized and weak leadership(in 12 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Gender

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Clinique and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee

      *The review is strictly about Clinique and not the store that it is inside of.

      May 7, 2021 - Retail Sales Associate 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      It's a great skin care line, that has a following of customers of over fourty years. It practically sales itself. Clinique provides over six hundred dollars in free cosmetics to it's sales associates each year. And our Clinique executive and coordinaters at my location are the best support team.

      Cons

      You work varied hours each week. And most of it will be weekends and closing shifts.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great but Stressful

      Jun 7, 2021 - Senior Designer in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good company perks. Nice co-workers.

      Cons

      Need bigger teams to help support each other and balance the workload.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Current Employee

      It's a privilege to work on this iconic global skincare brand.

      Apr 28, 2021 - Executive Director Editorial Content in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      All teams have a lot of integrity and the brand stays true to its core heritage of being rooted in dermatological expertise and making highly efficacious skincare accessible to everyone.

      Cons

      As the #1 skincare brand in the world, it is a large organization and requires a lot of perseverance, patience, and relationship building to make progress and get teams aligned on goals and priorities.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Response to "mental health" review

      Feb 5, 2021 - Director in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I worked in a director-level role at Clinique from 2017 - 2019. Another reviewer specifically called out the copy department as the reason for their mental health deterioration and, while I am not minimizing their feelings, I can state that this was not my experience. The global copy department ( and the creative dept at large) was the reason why I remained at Clinique for so long -- despite a disconnect from other departments and a lack of creative opportunity, senior-level EDs provided a space where I could grow and feel appreciated while challenged. My best work happened because of their support and since leaving, the opportunities I've found came from my time there. Although ultimately it wasn't the best fit, the experience was invaluable.

      Cons

      I know some of these things have improved since I left, but broadly as a company there was a misuse of time management and a lack of communication.

      2 people found this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Good perks!

      Feb 1, 2021 - Beauty Advisor in Frederick, MD
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great perks. It was mandatory to go to educational seminars which were so fun. This gave you the chance to get to know your team members and even other team members from other districts. You also got to take home lots of goodie bags including all of the new products that were newly launched or about to be launched. I received base pay plus commision which is always nice. I also had a great discount on all of the products and every few months I got gratis (free amount of money to buy Clinique products) usually I would get around 300$ at a time to spend which was awesome. Clinique really ensures you know everything about the products you are selling and I thrive on expertise.

      Cons

      Sometimes reaching sales goals can be difficult especially when online shopping has such a large presence now. You have to get more creative and work harder to get the commision than beauty advisors used to.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great place

      May 3, 2021 - Cosmetics Counter Manager in Silver Spring, MD
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Fee gifts, discounts, benefits, vacation

      Cons

      On your feet all day

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Amazing

      Apr 17, 2021 - Cosmetics Counter Manager in Birmingham, AL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great training, product perks, and lovely coworkers!

      Cons

      Products being discontinued that people love

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Former Employee

      Great company

      Apr 12, 2021 - Freelancer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Education gratis travel coworkers management

      Cons

      Hours, lack of work in off season

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Creative Job where you get to play with makeup

      Mar 31, 2021 - Beauty Consultant in Peoria, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Free samples, discounts on products

      Cons

      Boring during hours when store is not busy

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great Company to work for

      Apr 8, 2021 - Creative Project Manager in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good job recognition, great parent company

      Cons

      High stress, high intensity work environment

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 396 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Clinique Job Seekers

    Counter Manager
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Clinique Account Coordinator
    Learn About the Job
    Assistant Global Marketing Manager
    Learn About the Job
    Regional Education Executive
    Learn About the Job

    Work at Clinique? Share Your Experiences

    or