Clinique Reviews | Glassdoor

Clinique Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 302 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
81%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
Clinique CEO Fabrizio Freda
Fabrizio Freda
98 Ratings
Pros
  • "Samples and gratis- everyone is nice(in 79 reviews)

  • "Their training is amazing its far from boring training they we have encountered plus you receive free products and awesome knowledge(in 28 reviews)

Cons
  • "Unset hours, prepare for pressure, high sales goals, a lot of micro management, I don't know what else to put here(in 15 reviews)

  • "At liberty of the department store you're counter is in, so the management may not have the best relationship with the executives of Clinique(in 13 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Clinique"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Clinique Beauty Advisor 

    I worked at Clinique full-time for more than 9 years

    Pros

    Self improvement, team work, learning, client engament, just over all fun place

    Cons

    Not a con towards the company itself, just retail in general. Holiday hours are treacherous

    Clinique2019-02-13
  2. "Only if you like cosmetics"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Finance 

      I worked at Clinique full-time

      Pros

      International exposure, smart people, decent benefit package, summer hours

      Cons

      Lack of coherent strategy, long hours, disorganized and weak leadership

      Clinique2019-04-28
    • "Into skincare? Clinique is for you"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Consultant in Beaumont, TX
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Clinique part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Super clean and professional workplace. Working in a huge well known department store definitely helps with traffic stopping and sales for the Clinique counter. Plenty of training and educational opportunities so that you can know the products you’re selling. Raise after 3 months if you perform well in sales and then annually raises. (Not sure how much of a raise yet. The clinical setting sets Clinique apart from other...

      Show More

      Cons

      On your feet A LOT. Long hours due to it being a retail setting.

      Advice to Management

      Offer more info on when training classes are held. Inform your consultant of the amount of pay raise they will receive if applicable.

      Clinique2019-04-04
    • "Handful of great people but very political and stuck in their old ways"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Manager in New York, NY
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Clinique full-time for more than 4 years

      Pros

      great discounts on all ELC brands, health benefits, decent PTO, some great team members, well known company and brand so it looks great on your resume

      Cons

      Very disorganized and lack of direction, huge turnover in all departments (almost everyone I know is looking to get out), stressful due to the lack of leadership, no loyalty whatsoever for long term employees. Also, unless you're a director and above you probably won't get promoted until you've slaved away for 2+ years (aka slow to promote for most people). They think they're being "innovative" but they're old school...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Roles with constant turnover, you should look at the common factor. Usually it's the same Directors or VPs that have held the role for way too long and have no experience in people management. There should be an anonymous review of upper management by all team members (not just a one way street). If given the opportunity, I would have liked to provide feedback of how my directors can/could improve as team leaders.

      Clinique2019-03-26
    • "Products I believe in"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Beaverton, OR
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Clinique part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      The products sold themselves and making the sales was easy because I genuinely loved and believed in the products Gratis every 4 months Great coworkers at my location

      Cons

      Encouraged to use shady sales tactics by management in order to make goals

      Advice to Management

      Just because someone has higher sales doesn't mean they're a better employee - they might be manipulating customers into making purchases they shouldn't

      Clinique2019-02-06
    • "Steady Company"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Cosmetics Counter Manager in Portland, OR

      I have been working at Clinique full-time for more than 4 years

      Pros

      Fair commission scale, lots of training

      Cons

      Pressure to Open credit accounts

      Clinique2019-01-16
    • "Cosmetic Counter Manager"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I have been working at Clinique full-time

      Pros

      Provides all training and resources to be successful

      Cons

      Hours are constantly changing and pay is inconsistent

      Clinique2018-11-18
    • Helpful (1)

      "Beauty Consultant"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Beauty Consultant in Tampa, FL
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Clinique part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Love the people. Making people feel great. Education is amazing. Learning about products and skin care is at the elite level. Just wonderful place! You must love makeup !! Skin care. You must take care of yourself. Your skin. It’s imperative.. dream job for a woman that loves to learn. - sell and receive beautiful products

      Cons

      None so far - this is my first week with the company so far is amazing !

      Advice to Management

      So far so good! I’m 100% new! Week 1

      Clinique2018-11-02
    • Helpful (2)

      "An Empty Corporate Job"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Clinique full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      Great benefits, initiatives, salary, product discount, good place to learn to apply outside.

      Cons

      Huge company, very conservative, processes are antiquated, little reward, no culture, there is always "no budget", yet CEO stays in $7K/night villas when traveling.

      Advice to Management

      Work on inclusivity.

      Clinique2018-11-14
    • Helpful (1)

      "Manager"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Account Manager in Limerick, ME
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I have been working at Clinique full-time for more than 4 years

      Pros

      Helping customers every day. Wages, commission & Product allocation every month

      Cons

      No control of ordering our own stock for instore replenishment, money being lost as a result.

      Advice to Management

      Give more control to the account manager to order what stock they need for each spacific Store.

      Clinique2018-10-25
    Found 302 reviews