Clintons Reviews | Glassdoor

Clintons Reviews

Updated Aug 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 172 reviews

2.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
11%
Recommend to a Friend
15%
Approve of CEO
Dominique Schurman
65 Ratings
Pros
  • "decent pay, good staff discount, good hours(in 28 reviews)

  • "Was the 40% discount but they stopped the discount being used on Yankee candles so wasn’t much of a benefit(in 23 reviews)

Cons
  • "Long hours, no work / family balance(in 13 reviews)

  • "The store managers also believe all the BS head office peddles to them and actually think that upper management are doing a splendid job(in 12 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Legal Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Legal Intern in New York, NY
    Recommends

    I worked at Clintons for less than a year

    Pros

    They throw a ton of work at you. it really helps you to learn a lot about the many agreements that are apart of this entertainment industry.

    Cons

    Because you are thrown a lot of work- it can be overwhelming if you are not up for the challenge. But this was not a con for me. It is something for other people to think about though.

    Clintons2015-09-19
  2. "Great place to work and develop"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Guernsey, WY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Clintons

    Pros

    Great place to work and the business truly puts the customers at the heart and soul of everything they do. All field leaders are engaged, passionate and very understanding with peoples training needs and offer a great support network to help you achieve your business and company goals.

    Cons

    None as of yet as all feedback is respected and welcome to come up with a solution.

    Clintons2015-05-28
  3. "Average"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Clintons full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Lovely staff and fun environment.

    Cons

    Occasional heavy work load

    Clintons2019-08-15
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Fantastic"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Huddersfield, England

    I worked at Clintons part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Friendly team (feels like a family) flexible hours

    Cons

    Outdated till system Trying to remember the new weekly deals

    Clintons2019-07-10
  5. "Demanding"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Supervisor 

    I have been working at Clintons part-time

    Pros

    Great people to work with and follow a great in-store culture.

    Cons

    Very demanding role - often with only having two people working at a time. You may feel overwhelmed.

    Clintons2019-06-21
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Not worth the pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant in Canterbury, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Clintons part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Never busy and nice customers

    Cons

    Impossible targets to beat, have to sell and intimidate customers at the till to buy add ons and paid under £5 an hour if under 18 years old which is disgusting

    Advice to Management

    Pay us better and we will do a better job

    Clintons2019-06-26
  7. "Ok place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - TELESALES Representative in Watford, East of England, England
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Clintons full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Ok staff, good pay weekly pay

    Cons

    Long days, bad management though

    Clintons2019-06-05
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Basic Pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Assistant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Clintons part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - 40% Discount across all items - Easy work - Easy opening times

    Cons

    - Made to offer each customer pens/joining the scheme, abuse/negatives if you didn;t hit 'targets' - Rude AM's when they visited - Poor managerial structure in the shop I was in

    Clintons2019-06-17
  9. "Great job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Supervisor 
    Recommends

    I worked at Clintons full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Customer facing, good hours, fulfilling and good amount of responsibility.

    Cons

    Depends on the team you are working with, very strict with hours

    Clintons2019-05-29
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Brill"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Supervisor 
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Clintons full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    People are nice to work for

    Cons

    Constant upsells, not enough staff at tills

    Clintons2019-06-26
Found 172 reviews