CliqStudios Reviews | Glassdoor

CliqStudios Reviews

Updated Jun 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 27 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
64%
Recommend to a Friend
51%
Approve of CEO
CliqStudios CEO Andy Juang (no image)
Andy Juang
10 Ratings
  1. "Designer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at CliqStudios full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    If you want to pursue a career in design I promise you won’t find a better company to work for. We get to make our own hours and can adjust our schedules for doctor apts, emergencies, or anything without having to use personal time as long as we get to 40 for the week. On top of having a great flexible schedule, our leads are generated for us so there is absolutely no cold calling. Besides having a great work life balance, the work environment is awesome and I work with some amazing co workers which we can collaborate ideas off each other. My last “pro” would be how easy and stress free it is to sell cabinets. We really have a great product and the chances of cabinets coming in damaged is slim. I used to have such bad anxiety working at Home Depot because so many projects ended disastrously because of damages and how long it took for a resolution. We make our own cabinets and can get new cabinets processed within 4 hours, it really is incredible.

    Cons

    My biggest issue would be that there is no work from home option (just for a lucky few that get to “pilot” the program). With today’s society, work from home is more common than ever and it would be nice to work 2-3 days a week at home. Also, we have been promised a new commission structure which is like a carrot dangling from a string. I would really appreciate a simpler and more rewarding commission structure. If you are looking at bad reviews below it is because some people can’t adapt and adjust to change. We are constantly growing and improving and if you aren’t interested in a fast pace environment we aren’t the company for you. You can’t improve if you don’t try new things, and the years I’ve been here we sure have learned lessons the hard way but always fix and improve mistakes.

    Continue reading
    CliqStudios2018-05-24

    CliqStudios Response

    June 7, 2018HR Business Partner

    Thank you for taking the time to review CliqStudios and for sharing your experience! As you point out, our “work from home” option is currently in its pilot phase. We are hopeful we’ll be able to extend this option to additional designers in the near future and potentially hire remote designers working in states where CliqStudios doesn’t have a studio. As we implement new tools and technology, we’re confident we’ll be able to offer an even nicer environment to our Designers.

    Continue reading
  2. "Growing Company with the usual growth benefits and problems"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cliqstudios in Edina, MN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at CliqStudios full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Opportunity to advance, friendly place

    Cons

    The industry doesn't pay well for a stressful sales role - women's work, the usual male biased stuff

    Continue reading
    CliqStudios2019-06-15
  3. "Good/fun but would like bigger salary that’s not competitive."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Designer in Edina, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CliqStudios full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Fido Friday’s and good food.

    Cons

    Not making sales goals and not making enough money to pay bills.

    Continue reading
    CliqStudios2018-10-24
  4. "DO NOT WORK HERE"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Designer in Minneapolis, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at CliqStudios full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    insurance and benefits are competitive

    Cons

    base salary plus commission is unrealistic

    Continue reading
    CliqStudios2018-11-05

    CliqStudios Response

    November 6, 2018HR Business Partner

    Although we understand CliqStudios’ fast-paced work environment isn’t for everyone, we do believe most Designers enjoy working at CliqStudios and find here what they couldn’t find elsewhere: accommodating work schedules, the possibility to partner with (and learn from) a team of expert designers, nation-wide customer leads, and the excitement to work for a fast-growing company disrupting an industry. We have over 100 designers on staff in 5 different design studios and we offer competitive incentives as well as career paths. Check what our Designers have to say about us at: https://youtu.be/XwW1sS3Jytw

    Continue reading
  5. "Do Not Fall For It."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at CliqStudios full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Creative colleagues (that are unfortunately under the same tyranny as you’ll find yourself).

    Cons

    Management fails to follow through on anything: a goal that is a constantly moving target and incentives that never materialize.

    CliqStudios2018-08-23
  6. "Low stress but lots of changes."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Designer in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CliqStudios full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Run your own book of business

    Cons

    Leads have gotten worse and potential earnings decreased.

    CliqStudios2018-06-22
  7. "Great work environment and good people surround you.!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Order Picker in Connersville, IN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at CliqStudios full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Its not an out of town job the pay is great, and the work isn't too strenuous!!

    Cons

    It gets extremely hot during the summer time!!

    Continue reading
    CliqStudios2018-06-02
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Happy Designer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Designer in Saint Louis, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CliqStudios full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Office environment, weekends off, flex time, benefits. I get to design. Repeating for those currently at a big box. I get to design. I don't do plumbing, hardware, collect carts, or anything else. I get to interact with customers and design their kitchen. Yes it is salary plus commission and there is sales pressure but it isn't ridiculous. Goals so far appear to be goals. Numbers to aspire to. I've noticed most don't reach their goal consistently every month but keep their jobs. Expectation seems to be 75% - 80% of goal. I've only been here 8 months though. Everyone seems on the same team. Management is responsive.

    Cons

    Sales pressure. It's there every day all day. It has to be though. We are a cabinet manufacturer and have to sell our product to stay in business. Most employees would prefer more salary and less commission however to get through the slow sales times. The business can be very seasonal. Standard commission based cons.

    Continue reading
    CliqStudios2018-05-22
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Not a professional work environment at all."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at CliqStudios full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Weekends and holidays off, decent medical insurance

    Cons

    Where do i start? Hires accomplished designers by making "off the table" promises with no intentions of keeping them. I recommend getting all offers and promises in writing. Very high pressure sales environment. This is not the place if you want to create great designs, this is more about offering a basic design for a quick turnover. Cliqstudios strategy for selling kitchens is to scare customers into thinking that the 40% off sale will be ending soon when in fact the 40% off is given at every sell. This is a form of misleading advertising since the 40% off price is in fact the regular price while their advertised "regular" price is never charged. If you take this job DO NOT ever under any circumstances question management or provide negative feedback or you will quickly have a target on your back.

    Continue reading
    CliqStudios2018-01-23

    CliqStudios Response

    April 24, 2018HR Business Partner

    Sorry to hear you were given misleading information during your employment with CliqStudios. We try our best to be transparent and we conscientiously screen designers to ensure they will do well in our fast-pace, eCommerce, environment. Like most sales organizations, we regularly have promotional incentive that our Designers can use to entice their customers. Although these might be recurring, they aren’t on-going. Our Designers receive a base salary as well as commission on their sales. A lot of them enjoy managing projects at a fast since it impacts their compensation. Several items are taken into consideration as Designers engage with new customers: What is the size of their remodeling project? How much work have they already accomplished? What is their timeline? Etc. This initial information helps them prioritize their work to ensure they can efficiently manage their entire book of business. They might decide to spend less time creating an initial design (since there will likely be revisions) to spend it on a final revision. Their goal remains to put the customer first and to deliver quality designs. A poorly designed kitchen that was sold will quickly become a Customer Service nightmare.

    Continue reading
  10. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Designer in Hopkins, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CliqStudios full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great work environment, flexible hours, benefits and 401k option. Leads come to you Management listens to what you want/need Growing company

    Cons

    Growing company Management is overworked and needs support Need more cabinet accessories options and colors The factory needs to improve a ton

    CliqStudios2017-12-14
Found 27 reviews