CloserIQ Reviews

Updated Jan 9, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
4.3
82%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
CloserIQ CEO Jordan Wan
Jordan Wan
18 Ratings
  1. 5.0
    Former Employee

    Great place to launch your Recruiting career!

    Jan 9, 2021 - Senior Talent Advisor 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - An awesome team of creative minds! It's an exciting place to work and be a part of to make change, and if you're bought in, it's an amazing ride. -Great training: The team has built out a strong training program and growth plan for all employees, you'll learn sales/tech/recruiting very quickly -You truly get to make an impact at CloserIQ. With hard work, you'll be able to see it pay off across the org, and it was so nice to hear how happy candidates were in their new roles!

    Cons

    Not much to say here, but at any startup, there's going to be ebbs and flows along the way that test management. What I appreciated is that the team focuses on learning from their employees to make changes when necessary, which will continue to take them far.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Average at best

    Oct 21, 2020 - Senior Talent Advisor in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Decent training program - CEO engagement with employees

    Cons

    - Non transparent leadership - Metrics changing constantly - made it very difficult for new employees to advance under the same time frame as the more tenured peers - Over-hiring greatly outpaced revenue generation - highlighted by the immediate layoffs the company was forced to make - Relatively low pay for the hours they expect you to put in - Unable to make money on commission until promoted

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful

    CloserIQ Response

    Founder/CEO

    Hi there, I am so sorry about the experience you had. It is certainly not what we wanted and is very painful for me to read as CEO. I agree we could have handled the 48 hours surrounding the layoffs much better and I appreciate you sharing your perspective so that we may learn and grow from this. For full transparency, I had made the decision on the evening of Monday 3/2 to reduce staff in anticipation of a sharp drop in the US job market. It was the first large scale layoff we have done since starting the company in 2014. The immediacy of the decision to layoff employees was not due to a normal planning mishap but one driven by a cataclysmic event and the need to ensure we had enough in the tank to avoid having to do a second round of layoffs should things be even worse than we projected. On the day of layoffs, your negative experience was caused by my poor leadership. I briefed the management team late Monday night which caused fear, stress, and most of them didn't sleep or eat much in the following 36 hours. This company means so much more than just a job to all of us. The tears came from the heart and meant no disrespect to you but I agree was unprofessional. I failed to adequately prepare our managers for the gut-wrenching news they had to deliver and you deserved better. In re: attainable goals, I am not sure that it is fair to characterize us the way you did. Pre-COVID, for the past few years, many individuals here overachieved their goals and were promoted. This can be observed on our public Linkedin feed and fairly common knowledge internally . Agency recruiting is a sales role and there will definitely be those who fall short of their goals, but I don't think new employees were at a disadvantage. In fact, it's historically been the opposite - new employees have advanced quickly, often within 6-12 months. In re: commission, We intentionally created an above market salary for new recruiters that effectively included guaranteed commissions so they can focus on learning the craft in the first year. That is why they weren't eligible for commissions until they have been promoted. We will consider your feedback for the future and re-evaluate our plan mechanics as I can see the framing of this to be counter-intuitive. In re: hours- our working hours are standard. Some work more with less results and some work less with more results. But we have learned we need to be more proactive on helping employees find work/life balance. Recently, we extended our 4pm ending time on Fridays until end of the year and added a minimum number of vacation days required of each employee. I will continue to monitor this and improve. I encourage you to reach out to me if I can offer any closure and additional support for your career. Most of the individuals who we had to part ways with have landed new jobs. For those who haven't and kept in touch, I have been trying to do everything I can to point them in the right direction. With the scale of the layoff in March, I wasn’t able to keep up with each individual in addition to running the company. It sounds like I could have done more for you and I'd love an opportunity to change that. I appreciate you speaking up and will always be in your corner. Sincerely, Jordan Wan Founder/CEO CloserIQ

  3. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    A great organization, but can improve in some areas

    Dec 21, 2020 - Senior Talent Advisor in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I'm a current employee and have been fairly happy throughout my time here - CIQ is a solid organization with lots of positives. Pre-COVID: I enjoyed going into the office (hated our new HY location) but I had great relationships with my coworkers that made all the difference. Everyone on the team is genuine and cares about what they do. Always willing to help and share what works for them. While recruiting can be considered sales, I've never felt pressured or like too much was being asked of me. Mangers are incredibly supportive and there is a big effort to keep company culture at the forefront. Everyone celebrates wins and it feels like a true family dynamic. I'm never scared to speak up or take days off for fun or personal doc appts. Training is top-notch and CEO is very available. Post-COVID: We all shifted to remote, I do feel like the company has made an effort to keep the same kind of support and transparency. Unlimited paid time off is great and highly encouraged. We recently implemented a shorter Friday (4 pm) and get a $300 stipend to help each quarter with our WFH offices.

    Cons

    -Healthcare is sub-par -Comp is low, and even with promotions, the salary difference is insignificant -My biggest pain point is that people that have been with the org longer (3+ years) are the only ones that seem to be considered for new initiatives. The same few people get recycled and considered for exciting new roles. -WAYYY too many meetings and TBs on the calendar. They clearly are trying to keep the culture alive, but it's overkill. -Could be more diverse

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  4. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Received Offer, and Offer was Rescinded Less Than a Week to Start Date.

    Jul 27, 2020 - Talent Advisor 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Friendly people, welcoming presence, warm smiles.

    Cons

    Not transparent with company's bottom line. Laid off a week prior to beginning full time role. Was told that they will help with finding a new job - stopped communicating after a couple weeks.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful

    CloserIQ Response

    Marketing Manager

    Hi there, We are so sorry that we put you in a difficult position. For full transparency we rescinded 3 offers around the beginning of COVID. It was an extremely painful decision but one that was necessary as we had to simultaneously process internal layoffs. I just looked at our internal CRM and don't see any ghosting but we should have better communicated and proactively checked in on you. This is something we'll make sure to address and learn from internally. In the meantime, we'll reach out to you and see what we can do to help now that things are more stable on our end. Thank you for your understanding. - Jordan Wan (CEO)

  5. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Great company with a clearly defined ethos and amazing people

    Mar 16, 2020 - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Amazing Team - Product/service you can believe in with strong reputation - Inspiring & trustworthy CEO - Strong leadership / exec team - Great network - Continual learning - All the freedom and positives that come from being profitable & bootstrapped

    Cons

    - Hard work that often requires early or late hours - All the negatives that come with being bootstrapped

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Eagle-eye view of the tech industry, expect to become an expert

    Feb 5, 2019 - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - I've worked at great places with strong and supportive cultures, and yet CIQ still manages to sweep the rest. You won't find leadership or a culture that cares more about your personal and professional success more than CIQ. - Good work and alignment with culture values will result in upward movement - You'll become an expert in hiring and the tech field. It's like working at a VC, but with the added skill of hiring. - Your network will explode. If you do good by people, you'll develop long-term professional relationships with people across the industry and in high places. - You'll learn...A LOT. New hire training has come a very long way in the past year or so. "Coasters" need not apply. If you're interested in a career, and not just a job, you'll love it here.

    Cons

    - It's definitely a grind. Your work ethic muscle will be exercised. But if you're interested in a career, and not just a job, you'll love it here. - Constant new processes can make it hard to do work - With big company goals come high expectations, and it can often feel like a constant sprint.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Employee

    No better place to learn about Startups and Sales

    Dec 27, 2018 - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    -Everyone in the organization is super accessible. The CEO, the management team, they all spend time with the most senior team members to the new hires. -You learn every single day. One of the core values is +1%, so people are constantly pushing each other to be better. -Everyone becomes an expert in startups and sales pretty fast. -The reputation of the company, amongst clients and candidates, is the best in the industry. Someone who used to work at Betts, as a top performer, said CloserIQ was their most trusted sales recruiting source in NYC. -The team has a lot of fun together. A lot of people hang out together outside of work. -There probably isn't a better place to learn how to write better emails.

    Cons

    -The TA and CA roles are not SaaS sales, but they prepare you for a sales career as well as most orgs. -Training is a mixture of classroom style plus learning as you go, so you need to feel comfortable speaking up. -Things move fast. Management does a pretty good job at change management, but it can be tough to always keep up.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Amazing Firm, Great People, Endless Learning

    Dec 11, 2019 - Senior Talent Advisor in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    There are always new things to learn, and management is very invested in the professional development of everyone at the company!

    Cons

    Certainly a grind, but that's sales and recruiting in general, so nothing out of the ordinary.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Motivated/tight-knight team + transparent/thoughtful managers = Great place to learn about modern tech industry

    Jan 17, 2019 - Manager in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Transparency from the top down, supportive and encouraging culture but with healthy levels of competition, management genuinely cares about your short AND long-term career goals (even if they'll take you outside of CIQ), in-depth on-boarding training, chance to diversify your professional network from both the day-to-day job and events hosted by the company, people who are kind/smart and CARE.

    Cons

    It's a GRIND - plenty of long days and events/company activities outside of the normal work day that can add up depending on seasonality, but a lot of them are also informative and fun. When there are late nights, the company often will pay for dinner and there are multiple people in the office together, so it's not a solo grind.

    Continue reading
    8 people found this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Current Employee

    The best move of my career

    Jan 31, 2019 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I have worked at companies of all sizes and shapes and CloserIQ is by far the most transparent, encouraging and fun environment of them all. This job is way more than a "work hard, play hard" environment. Employees are encouraged to share their opinions daily, managers give weekly one on ones and constructive feedback, and leadership opportunities blossom early in your career. I truly feel like management has my best interest in mind and coming to work each day is a joy.

    Cons

    There are changes all the time, something that comes with any growing company. Also, the job itself is very entrepreneurial and there is little hand holding so if you are looking for someone to tell you what to do each day this isn't for you.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 20 Reviews

Popular Careers with CloserIQ Job Seekers

Account Executive
Learn About the Job
JobsSalariesInterviews
Sales Development Representative
Learn About the Job
Business Development Manager
Learn About the Job
Enterprise Account Executive
Learn About the Job
Business Development Representative
Learn About the Job

Work at CloserIQ? Share Your Experiences

CloserIQ logo
or