Cloud Imperium Games Reviews

Updated May 15, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.5
66%
Recommend to a Friend
50%
Approve of CEO
Cloud Imperium Games Founder Chris Roberts (no image)
Chris Roberts
50 Ratings
Pros
  • "Free snacks and alot of free time(in 6 reviews)

  • "Free snacks and drinks in the kitchen(in 4 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "High tempo development requiring long hours(in 6 reviews)

  • "The international studios, the american(in 5 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Good place to work at.

      Jan 21, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Communication, Trust, Coffee, Snacks & Drinks

      Cons

      Distance, Location, Unhealthy Snacks, Lack of food in area & growth

      4 people found this review helpful
    2. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Excellent people

      Feb 18, 2021 - Software Engineer in Los Angeles, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Fun project with highly intelligent and motivated people.

      Cons

      Upper management is a bit chaotic, and very little upward momentum.

      4 people found this review helpful
    3. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Exciting and fun but not for everyone

      Jan 4, 2021 - Manager in Austin, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      * Attentive management team * Stocked kitchen * Work/Life balance is excellent * Great environment, co-workers feel like family

      Cons

      * The work can be highly repetitive * Interstudio communications can be an issue * Sometimes it feels we don't have the right tools to do our job * Pay is just "decent", sometimes I wonder why I'm still working here * Expectations can be unclear sometimes (probably due to communication issues)

      Continue reading
      7 people found this review helpful
    4. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Career starter

      Nov 19, 2020 - Production Assistant in Los Angeles, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      * Some of the most passionate people to work with. * Starting place for a career in games. * Dogs allowed in office.

      Cons

      * Mismanagement for the project. * Lots of micromanagement. * Unclear expectations of goals for the game. * Lot of feature creep

      Continue reading
      8 people found this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great Experiance

      Oct 21, 2020 - Manager in Austin, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great coworkers and working environment

      Cons

      Drive to the studio can be pretty long

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Cloud Imperium Games Response

      Studio Manager

      Thank you so much for your review! We strive to deliver undeniable quality in everything we do – including employee experience – so we appreciate you letting us know we’re doing good work. We look forward to continuing to raise the bar for our teams!

    6. 3.0
      Former Employee

      Great starting point for your career entertainment

      Aug 19, 2020 - Tech Art 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Benefits, Good Team, Relocation support,

      Cons

      total mismanagement for the project

      8 people found this review helpful
    7. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Cig

      Aug 21, 2018 - Anonymous Employee in Los Angeles, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good cantina, lots of fancy furniture and amenities. We spent a lot of time in the office so it was nice to have these things. Fans often send food. Fantastic opportunities for advancement.

      Cons

      For software devs 1. Low pay imo 2. The crunch is real, constant, and often ends up being purposeless. 3. Management does not actually know what product is being made. I don't mean that in a "they are dumb" sense. Most middle management I worked with are actually effective and fair to employees. I mean that they literally do not know what they are supposed to be having us produce. It makes it hard to work on "your piece" so to speak. 5. Theres a serious braindrain effect here. For Fans 1. Much of what the upper management has said in a 10 for the chair man, presentations etc is not really realistic for the game in my opinion 2. Be nicer to your fellow fans. Their like/dislike of the game by any one fan/detractor will not affect the game's outcome. 3. The team wants to give you a great game, they (as I am gone) need your support more than ever before. 4. Marketing is often created by a separate company. Be aware of this and adjust your expectations accordingly. The new medical ship is a perfect example. The team are handed a ship concept and must create a game around it.

      Continue reading
      19 people found this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Seriously...amazing studio. Unlike anything else out there.

      Oct 1, 2015 - 3D Graphic Artist in Los Angeles, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Passionate workforce. Everyone really wants to see the project work, not just people who are checked out earning some paychecks. It shows in the quality. I have seen some stuff that has blown my mind. Most engagement I have ever seen, it was infectious.

      Cons

      I worked way more hours than I expected because the quality standard was very high. I don't mean that as it was unreasonable for them or they kept tearing my work apart in frivolous ways, though. I just felt like I was working on something special and really obsessed on getting my little contributions perfect. Definitely went without enough sleep sometimes; but that was my choice, not because it was asked of me.

      Continue reading
      32 people found this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Bad Press, Good Company

      Sep 30, 2015 - Associate Producer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Free food and snacks, A community that cares, Company Holidays, Management with a groundbreaking vision, and a fantastic team and staff to work with.

      Cons

      People externally trying to kill the project also a lot of "Late Work Days" but that is to be expected.

      Continue reading
      42 people found this review helpful
    10. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      A good place to work, if challenging.

      Jun 4, 2015 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      +An exciting, ambitious, and very complex game to work on. +For most working here, this is the game they have always wanted to make and always wanted to play. +Co-workers that range from competent to some of the best in the industry, veterans and newbies alike. + Free Snacks & Soda. + Interesting outdoor mall location, with lots of walking distance amenities. + Crowdfunded business model is an unprecedented opportunity to create games as art without being beholden to publishers and shareholders. + Distributed development means a nearly 20 hour development cycle over the many game studios and partners. + Recent changes in management & production has greatly improved morale. + Decent medical benefits. +/- 401(k) not established yet, coming soon.

      Cons

      - An exciting, ambitious, and very complex game to work on. Those challenges can seem daunting at time. - Distributed development means communication delays, and potential miscommunication. - Unclear profit sharing potential.

      29 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 68 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Cloud Imperium Games Job Seekers

    Character Artist
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Cloud Imperium Games? Share Your Experiences

    Cloud Imperium Games logo
    or