Cloudera Reviews | Glassdoor

Cloudera Reviews

Updated Jan 8, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
63%
Recommend to a Friend
74%
Approve of CEO
Cloudera Chairman and CEO Martin Cole
Martin Cole
16 Ratings
  1. "Excellent and best employer so far"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Cana, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Cloudera full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Excellent and best employer so far

    Cons

    as of the moment none

    Cloudera2019-10-29
  2. Helpful (5)

    "For those who DO see the forest for the trees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cloudera full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Bright Future - Cloudera is uniquely positioned to enable the world's largest enterprises to industrialize machine learning and artificial intelligence. We are enabling them to also break the shackles of public cloud providers by allowing them to switch between clouds when it is financially convenient for these enterprises. If you can understand the impact of these two pillars, you can understand to value Cloudera will drive in the long term. Earning potential - Being in the Cloud space, Cloudera has to pay up, specially in essential functions: Engineering, Field Engineering, Sales. Big enough, without the "big company" feel - Cloudera has around 3,000 employees, but has the potential to feel like a 1,000 employee company. This means you are still able to easily network and create your own career path with enough proactive effort Confidence from top Investors - Carl Icahn believes we are undervalued. So much so that he has bought almost 20% of Cloudera stock. An agreement has been reached that for 2 board members from Icahn, he will maintain his current stake. This is the best of both worlds New product release that is set to disrupt the market - time will tell the end story, but early signs show good promise

    Show More

    Cons

    Not for the faint of heart - The Enterprise AI/ML space is still developing, not anywhere near maturity yet. There is constant change, and one must be willing to buckle up, focus on the mission at hand, and expect the bumps of the ride. Some processes are still being flushed out - Post merger with Hortonworks, the company doubled in size overnight. This inorganic sudden growth in company size meant that there was a delay in a lot of process implementation that a normal company would go through over time. If you're not one to take ownership, you won't make it - don't expect anything being handed on a silver platter. The promotions, the recognition, the "insert anything I believe I'm entitled to" will not simply come your way. Everyone has to prove their worth, build their brand, prove themselves, and earn it. If this doesn't jive with you, you won't jive with the culture.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Going into next year, and with the merger behind us, it's time to focus. "The Merger" is no longer a viable excuse for anyone to not get it together. We've managed to hold it together through that gauntlet, so at this point, anything is possible. Don't underestimate the power of culture, diversity, and empathy. A lot of much needed changes have been happening, now it's time to prove that the choices top leaders have made were the right choices. And if they weren't, course correct and move on, quickly. We all want to believe, a lot of us DO believe, help us continue to do so.

    Show More
    Cloudera2019-10-25
  3. Featured Review
    Helpful (6)

    "Great Company, Great Place to Work, Great Future"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cloudera full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Face paced, execution focused culture with a huge dose of humanity - Intelligent, experienced co-workers, many of whom have long tenures and believe in the tech/long-term prospects of the company - Management and colleagues care about your overall work experience and career progression - Lot's of challenging problems to work when you're trying to make an open source software business with a complex product work at scale Bottom line: people are respectful of your time and life and aren't political. It's a high energy atmosphere where you wake up excited to go to work.

    Show More

    Cons

    - Scaling an open-source software business based on support is difficult. - A merger is highly disruptive so it takes time to get back into execution mode. I would say we've been through the worst of this for 2 months and it's definitely showing. - Dealing with general pessimism from outside analysts and a low stock price isn't for everyone. - Still not a huge organization by some standards so it's not a place to get "lost" in the mix. It's very much all hands on deck.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    This is complex stuff, it's easier for people to feel nervous when they don't fully understand the tech/use cases/value. I think robust education around product (especially CDP) for the rank and file would be helpful. $750M in revenue = massive value creation. I think it's easy for that to get lost on people when the stock price is low.

    Cloudera2019-06-28
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Engineer in Palo Alto, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cloudera full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Hybrid Multi-Cloud, Great Culture, Open Source

    Cons

    Intense competition in cloud in 2018

    Cloudera2019-06-10
  5. Helpful (4)

    "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Solutions Architect 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cloudera full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    People, Learning opportunities, Culture and vision

    Cons

    Post merger adjustment, things will settle down though, product is evolving really well.

    Cloudera2019-06-07
  6. Helpful (9)

    "Anonymous"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Palo Alto, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Cloudera full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Exciting products and nice talented people. Perks good too and you definitely do have a ton of autonomy at this company.

    Cons

    Poor execution for many years in many areas hope they can turn it around with the merger since there products genuinely are good and the people do for the most part work hard.

    Advice to Management

    100% focus will be required to get the Glassdoor reviews back to 4+ stars and the stock price back to $20.

    Cloudera2019-06-03
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Future is bright, with building the future of AI, big data and cloud."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cloudera full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Merger is done, and management did a good job with this hard and complex project, we had even outside advisors to help the project - CDP is finished, and we are serving it to customers... - soon/near future cloudera will be the biggest cloud, AI, big data provider, - management is strict and hard but knowing their job, which we can see inthe numbers and yearly growth... downside they do not ask for much feedback in these days... - I feel with all the manpower and tech knowledge and product, we have the best chance to be the biggest cloud provider in that sector and good feeling to be part of this.

    Show More

    Cons

    - we lost (good) some expert in the merge, but I think it is normal, with some reoriginization there is always a chance that someone will not fit, or just decide they wanna part awayin. In the end this is a new entity/company - but we got a ton of other expertise from Hortonworks, and know how, so this was good and necessary trade.

    Advice to Management

    - just make sure that you keep up the vibe and attitude towards. Also I know you are busy with doing your job, and making live the plan, but it is also important to make a good marketing and have a good name around the company. - I feel sometime that we are doing better job than it can seem from outside, from the shareholders perspective...

    Cloudera2019-05-28
  8. Helpful (4)

    "Favorite job of my career..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Cloudera full-time

    Pros

    Innovation, Transparency, Opportunity, Diversity, Family-Centric

    Cons

    Competitive Market (but they all are)

    Advice to Management

    Stay the Course!

    Cloudera2019-04-11
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Good employee base, nice and technically strong."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Palo Alto, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Cloudera full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good work culture. Lot of projects to work on distributed systems.

    Cons

    share price, doesn't go move up.

    Cloudera2019-04-04
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Was Good is now Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cloudera full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    First and foremost is the culture - Led & enabled by the CEO, it permeates the entire company. It's an incredible feat to pull this off in the midst of a merger of rivals. Never perfect but the synergies of the two (now one) companies are undeniable in the market and with the end-users. The technology is highly complimentary and with great people throughout the organizations, the real speed, purpose, and efficiencies are still to be fully realized. Having the founders so intimately involved with the business is a great sign that Cloudera is still moving in the right direction, innovating, and disrupting markets.

    Show More

    Cons

    There will continue to be bumps over time as the New Cloudera picks up speed and those will need to be addressed quickly. Not every executive decision was great but in all fairness, those seem to be getting resolved quickly. Back office & HR systems will continue to be a challenge. HR leadership is too disconnected leaving exec leadership to pick up the slack - that needs to get resolved so that the CEO and Founders aren't carrying too much of the load.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stay the course and continue to focus on culture. You will need to keep empowering leaders to move out courageously and confidently.; anticipate a lull over the next few months and get ahead of it to keep the momentum. Remote offices are often forgotten - keep them connected. Focus on diversity across the entire company - find young superstars and get them on-board. Fail fast and change course quickly; the nimbleness of Cloudera is a significant competitive advantage.

    Show More
    Cloudera2019-03-21
Found 369 reviews