Clovis Oncology Reviews

Updated Mar 16, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.2
39%
Recommend to a Friend
55%
Approve of CEO
Clovis Oncology President & CEO Patrick J. Mahaffy (no image)
Patrick J. Mahaffy
15 Ratings
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Amazing company with a bright future

    Mar 16, 2021 - Key Account Manager in Saint Louis, MO
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Best in class product with Rubraca. Very transparent upper management; best company for work/life balance.

    Cons

    Career development pathway isn’t in place

    1 person found this review helpful
  2. 1.0
    Current Employee

    One hit wonder with a me too drug that is not going anywhere

    Feb 12, 2021 - Clinical Operations Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    High salary to start but minimal raises and super hard to get promoted because of stagnation within upper ranks Used to be flexible before covid Lots of opportunities to get your hands on a lot of different things because there isn't enough support staff so you will get to do everything

    Cons

    Middle Management Heavy and top heavy - too many glorified titles and too much management and not enough hands on deck to actually do the work or run the trials. IF everyone is a manager or clinical trial leader than actually no one is because everyone is top level. Cliquey atmosphere amongst the "Clovis Lifers" ie people who started here 10+ years ago and never will leave because they are tied via golden handcuffs. You won't ever get promoted to top level because this crew all has their feet tied in cement cinder blocks and aren't going anywhere. Be prepared to roll your sleeves up and do everything, always be asked to do more, when your team leaves for greener pastures because they are overworked and underpaid, you won't be granted budget to replace them. Everyone else will be asked to collectively pick up the slack. Lots of turnover lately as superstar people from operations have gotten head hunted to other big pharma cos

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
  3. 2.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Insane Cash Burn, Giant Debt, Poor Sales

    Dec 2, 2020 - Medical Affairs in Boulder, CO
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - smart, hardworking coworkers - supportive of employees - flexible wfh even before COVID - good benefits - midsized pharma means you get to do a lot of different things and exposure to make an impact

    Cons

    - It's embarrassing to work at a company with such huge spending and a drug approved for 2 types of cancer and the stock is still in the doghouse - CEO and execs take huge salaries and spend lavishly on multiple swanky offices that aren't even filled yet we just keep financing this on more and more debt and further diluting the stock - before COVID way too much employee travel for no reason, VPs flying everywhere for international conferences and meetings for no purpose other than they wanted free company funded trips - future funding for research just seems to be based on further diluting the stock and taking out more and more debt until the company is bankrupt - company doesn't actually make any drugs, just buys secondhand drugs and hopes for a miracle. So far this isn't working, even though we have two approvals we are consistently beat out by by bigger competitors - Paying absorbent rent for offices we don't even use and before COVID they were basically empty anyways - Promised us there would be no layoffs and the next week started doing layoffs - already told there won't be any raises or promotions next year

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  4. 2.0
    Former Employee

    Mixed Feelings

    Sep 2, 2020 - Receptionist/Administrative Assistant 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The benefits are like none other I have ever seen, I felt incredibly supported in that way. Some of the highlights are unlimited PTO, amazing health coverage (even massages are partially reimbursed), the whole week between Christmas and New Years the office takes as a paid holiday.

    Cons

    Beware of working here, some of the managers (but not all) are notoriously difficult to work with and it is the main reason why I had to leave this company. While the benefits are amazing, my manager made my life miserable for no deserved reason and they were a constant thorn in my side from the beginning. In the end it was appalling how I was being treated and I have never experienced harassment quite like that before. This manager has worked at the company for years, other people have left company because of them, and HR has somehow let it slide this entire time, I don't get it. There are some other bad managers in the company too that create a toxic work environment. It really depends on the department you are working for where I would recommend working at this company.

    3 people found this review helpful
  5. 2.0
    Former Employee

    Awful Layoff

    Dec 6, 2020 - Territory Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good product, good pay but not very personal

    Cons

    Laid off with no heads up and kept employees that we in the bottom half of the numbers - no communication from direct managers

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  6. 3.0
    Former Employee

    Company too highly leveraged

    Dec 1, 2020 - National Account Manager in Harrisburg, PA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Company tired hard to create a positive work environment

    Cons

    Company too highly leveraged and not earning enough money. Cash burn too high to support needed resources

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  7. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Great company

    Oct 21, 2020 - Medical Science Liaison in Tampa, FL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Benefits, flexibility, culture, small company, opportunities

    Cons

    Not many opportunities for advancement

    1 person found this review helpful
  8. 3.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Company looks like it won't survive

    Nov 16, 2020 - Territory Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great culture & pay is above average to try to keep people.

    Cons

    Uncertainty of product line... always behind on data & indications

    3 people found this review helpful
  9. 3.0
    Former Employee

    Great product, but rocky future

    Nov 6, 2020 - Territory Manager in Baltimore, MD
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great people with passion for patients

    Cons

    Leadership seems to be detached from what field employees need

    1 person found this review helpful
  10. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Sales

    Oct 24, 2020 - Sales Associate in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    There really wasn't anything good

    Cons

    Leadership does not know what they are doing

    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 26 Reviews

Popular Careers with Clovis Oncology Job Seekers

Medical Science Liaison
Learn About the Job
JobsSalariesInterviews
Senior Director, Project Leadership
Learn About the Job
Pharmaceutical Sales Representative
Learn About the Job

Work at Clovis Oncology? Share Your Experiences

Clovis Oncology logo
or